2400+ OC help

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Duranix, Sep 7, 2005.

  1. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, im starting to feel the pinch of a slow processor, so im going to OC it, but i have a few questions...


    ive got a 2400+, and an Asus A7N8X-X mobo, and ive already OC'ed my 2400+ to 2.31ghz, how much higher can i push it? Ive got a good HSF, and i have a good case fan setup, but i have 1x 512mb stick of DDR333 and 1x 512mb stick of DDR400. I know its a bad idea to mix the ram, but i already have them plugged in... Oh, and my multiplier is unlocked.

    so how high can i push my processor? Certain combinations dont like to work... Making me reset my mobo....


    id like to push it to 2.4ghz -> 2.7 ghz... not much higher though.
     
  2. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off seriously get rid of the stick of DDR333, its hurting your performance much more than its worth. Its limiting your FSB to 166MHz.

    And is it a 2400+ mobile? if so, you might be able to get it to ~2.5GHz, but I doubt much higher than that. But its impossible to say, it might not even do 2.4GHz.
     
  3. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, i can put my FSB much higher than 166. At the moment, its on 201, and my multiplier is 11.5.

    its not a mobile =(

    so should i get rid of my ram and start again? Because its generic ram.... its running at 2.5/5/5/8.....

    would new ram or watercooling be a better option?
     
  4. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you have to be running a memory divider then. Running 1:1 memory ratio is very important with Athlon XP systems.

    If definately get better ram before watercooling.
     
  5. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm.. ive only got A$155...


    and i wanna get a 2gb set...
     
  6. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    seriously, like tulcakeme said, get all DDR400. Athlon XPs love that bandwith w/the 1:1 ratio running. Though, as high as you've been running your chip, i personally do not think that your chip will run any higher than that. But, if you get any more out of it, then your chip roxors :). Just to do some testing as to how far it can go, take out the 333 stick, and run only w/the 400 stick. OC it to it's last stable Hz, and that will tell you how high you can OC that waffer :D.
     
  7. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is A$155 enough to get any good sets? I wanna get 2-2-2-5, and i wanna get 2 gig of it..

    no money =(


    atm i just have 512 mb of DDR333... and it really sucks.

    I also have a 512mb of generic ddr400... so its really crap stuff... all generic.

    I hate it when your parents make you get really crap stuff...


    2.5-5-5-8 really sucks.
     
  8. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    dunno, i'm not familiar w/Australian currency
     
  9. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    american currency is ~30% more than aus currency, so A$1 is about $1.30c
     
  10. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    im not to sure, i could be wrong, but i highly doubt your gonna see 222x with 2 GB on an XP,even with 2T, especially with the board yer runnin having no alpha timings and all those other fun stability settings,(slew rate, drive strength). It seems with mine i have to compensate with a lil extra DIMM volts to keep stability with out being able to adjust the alphas and such, just my experiance.

    if i were u id shoot for a 1 gig kit that will do 2.3.2.x @ 200 FSB, seems reasonable for that board with out expecting too much, and i guarentee youll see a performance gain.

    Good Luck
     
  11. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmmmm **** i got nerfed >.<"
     

Share This Page

visited