3535b released

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Sep 28, 2003.

  1. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hi there

    3535b is out [development release, experimental]
    ========================================

    [changes]:
    Added support for 24/96 playback and recording for Audigy2-based boards (EXPERIMENTAL)

    Improved power management support
    Improved hardware compatibility with certain audio cards
    Fixed bug with AC97 contoller power management
    Improved SMP / HyperThreading support (EXPERIMENTAL)

    Improved real-time panning quality
    Added option to choose Wave panning method (true pan or balance) - by command-line tool

    Added support for horizontal peak meter
    Added a shortcut for the peak meter to the kX Mixer page
    Improved IO Status window
    Improved 'mute speakers when headphones are plugged-in' option

    Added option to choose the desired speaker spatialization method (by using command-line tool)

    kX DSP window enlarged
    Added real-time update option for kX Editor and kX API (EXPERIMENTAL)
    Updated Filter effects (may be not 100%-compatible with previous)
    Added APS Compressor + with Side Chain input
    Added MX6 (custom mixer) DSP effect (described here: http://www.kxproject.com/mx6_help.php
    Added high-quality headphones positioning effect (HpSp
    Updated XRouting effect to support 8-point spatialization
    Prolog and Epilog effects re-written to support amplification (EXPERIMENTAL
    Improved kX Mixer indication for inputs & outputs (levels measured in dB
    (NOTE: if you have any pre-3535 setting files, the new prolog/epilog
    features won't be available until you upload new prolog/epilog effects
    into the DSP. Resetting settings will upload the new effects automatically
    The SDK License Agreement has been updated<br>

    Danish translation added
    Polish translation updated
    Improved System Tray icon

    ===============
    TODO:
    fix kX Editor's 'Update' function to restore 'output' connections, too
    finally check SMP/HyperThreading and AC97 hibernation issues
    make dB sliders smoother (?)
    ===============

    any feedback welcome
    please read the changelog carefully! :)

    URL: http://kx.maincore.nl/beta/kxdrv3535b-update.exe
    the SDK: http://kx.maincore.nl/beta/kxdrv3535b-sdk.exe

    users who have 3535a installed: please reset settings after upgrade

    /Eugene
     
  2. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I be downloading to test out now bud let you now thanks :):drool: :w00t:
     
  3. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I foung one bugs and no headphone plug in at all only FXMix 2 shows up in DSP Want me take snap of it for you bud send by email? Or you want me installed the headphone plugin?
    Also on FX 1 and 2 one makes front speakers louder right? and FX2 makes back speakers louder right bud?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2003
  4. kode54

    kode54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doppler still seems to be backwards, unless FMOD's 3D sample is using inverted listener velocity, or FMOD itself is doing something funny. Hmm, doesn't happen with software 3D...
     
  5. zystudio338

    zystudio338 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I Install 3535b, use it with SONAR 2.2 record a Violin solo,about 10-20 minutes sonar and winXP is dead:Repeat endlessly a note.
    I using sonar in 'kernel streaming' mode,Audigy 1 ,I Have to reintall 3534 , everything is OK!
     
  6. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> no headphone plug

    it is not present in the default DSP layout
    you need to upload it manually

    have a look here: http://kx.maincore.nl/headphones.gif (a DSP snapshot)
    (settings file (audigy2 ex-compatible): http://kx.maincore.nl/headphones.kx

    note: in this configuration the 'front & rear' option is active; the headphones are connected to the 'front' output, while the speakers are connected to the 'rear' one. headphones level is reduced (you may need to restore it to its default)

    >> Doppler still seems to be backwards, unless FMOD's 3D sample is using inverted listener velocity

    what is the exact sample that causes the problem? (I have FMOD somewhere... I will check this issue then)

    >> winXP is dead

    do you have an SMP/HT machine?

    ====

    has anybody tested the ac97 hibernation bug?

    /Eugene
     
  7. Eminos

    Eminos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes...It seemes to work now with the 3535b ...

    /Eminos
     
  8. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Only bug I detect is there volume like contral on the 3-D part in the router? Everthing else is awesome :) nice and loud hehe :) thanks for that Trimbe stuff
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2003
  9. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I got good news everone I gotton the center speaker working on the 5.1 setup :) Which effect is the thump for the sub woofer during the speaker test?
     
  10. kode54

    kode54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >> what is the exact sample that causes the problem? (I have FMOD somewhere... I will check this issue then)

    Samples\3D\3D.exe, featuring two static 3D sounds and a moving listener.
     
  11. ookzdvd

    ookzdvd New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the volume control over 5.1 (ac3) playback is still broken,
    I still can hear the sound even I've already slide down the volume to 0.

    Thank you.
     
  12. kode54

    kode54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AC3 bypass mode?
     
  13. amol0010

    amol0010 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you fix this bug?

    Eugene, i would like you to have fix the bass bug in the rear and headphone output mode, this is driving me insane,
    And even with the phase DSP registered and connected, it doesnt help, the bass still distorts and lacks any punch at all. The front output delivers much heavier and tighter bass than the rear and the headphone output mode. isnt there a way to get the exact same sound on the rear and heaphone mode output ( the center/subwoofer -> headphone mode), in terms of bass quality.

    Thanks for any reply given at all.
     
  14. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> I think the volume control over 5.1 (ac3) playback is still broken

    I've investigated this problem

    * when in 'ac-3 decoding mode' (software decoding by the driver), the 'volume' control is unavailable since microsoft kernel-level driver doesn't use the volume control for spdif/encoded outputs [microsoft limitation]
    * when in 'ac-3 bypass mode' the volume control is theoretically impossible [since the driver doesn't modify the encoded data]
    * when in 'ac-3 multichannel mode' (the player decodes the data, not the driver): the player is responsible for changing the volume for =all= the channels. according to my tests, most players change only front L/R channels
    this seems to be a bug in these players... (although, Creative drivers might use a kind of a workaround, but they break the specification then...)

    I could probably add an additional option to follow CL-like volume control... ['compatibility option']

    ====

    >> the bass still distorts and lacks any punch at all

    please start a separate topic with this question (or find your previous one)
    post your hardware information
    try to figure out your ac97 / i2s codecs (located on-board)
    -- it seems some of your codecs aren't fully initialized...

    /E
     
  15. ookzdvd

    ookzdvd New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think my problem is the first one, 'ac-3 decoding mode' :(
    You are right the volume control only change the L/R channel only.
    not all the channels.

    Thank you for your explaination and investigation :)
     
  16. ArconX

    ArconX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry to say but the 3535a/b release are not worth the name.

    3535b has even become worse! then 3535a.

    Example:

    3535a was playable with winamp, but locks game's & your pc that tried to run it.

    Now with 3535b:

    Trying to Reset Settings: Lockup the entire pc.
    Playing Winamp3: Errorbox of a missing file.
    Retry playing Winamp3: Lockup the entire pc.
    Playing Games, the same deal.


    3534 works perfectly (and stable) on the same system, the only change that may affect the same system that i see is the Hypertrait changes. All this seem to be related to the "new" & improved SMT/Hypertrait support. Note: I'm running a 3.06 HyperTrait P4.


    Eugene, are you running a PC with hypertrait? Becouse i from what i see, i don't think so. My advice is to remove that hypertrait code until you can personaly test it on a system becouse now it's just something to lock systems (and personaly, i don't see how a improved hypertrait support will help the drivers, sinds all hypertrait cpu's are 2.4Ghz+, and you don't see the impact of the drivers on those speeds) ...

    My system specs are posted in the old 3535a trait in case you need them.
     
  17. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> 3535b has even become worse! then 3535a

    that's why they are 'development releases' :)

    >> are you running a PC with hypertrait

    no, of course :)

    >> until you can personaly test it on a system

    I doubt this will happen soon.. probably, in 2-3 years :)

    >> improved hypertrait support will help the drivers

    some people have reported problems with HT enabled (spinlock issues) -- I simply tried to fix them

    of course, the next 3535c release will contain the original interrupt handling code

    /E
     
  18. calinb

    calinb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Eugene, Yes--that would be a very useful option for those of us with KX-powered HTPCs! (Generic remote controls that can be programmed to control player ap volume would control all channels again!) I asked Gabest if he could fix it in MPC, but he didn't seem very hopeful.

    Can I bribe you?--I just donated to KX :cool:
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2003
  19. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> that would be a very useful option for those of us with KX-powered HTPCs

    :)
    ok, I will add it to my 'todo' list :)
    but I will need to check if it breaks any audio applications...

    /E
     
  20. kode54

    kode54 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You say that front left/right problem with DVD players is a problem with the players. I have found a similar problem with a crossfading output for Foobar2000. It uses IDirectSoundBuffer::SetVolume() to fade streams out on 10ms intervals before closing them. The effect only seems to work on the front left/right channels. No such problem if I force the output to disable hardware mixing, but then the rear channels are barely audible. (I can hear them with my headphones if I max the volume levels in the mixer, from their usual levels of 6 and 8, and I can hear the fading.)
     

Share This Page

visited