3537c internal 'alpha'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Jan 23, 2004.

  1. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    one more 'internal development release' is out:

    http://kx.maincore.nl/kx3537c.rar

    installation: as usual (for 'internal' releases :))

    the changelog [compared to 3537a,b]:
    Fixed invalid AC97 recording gain visualization<br> -- PLEASE CHECK THAT!
    Added 'Unload all SoundFonts' button<br>
    Added an option to filter EAX calls ('Driver compatibility')<br>
    Updated IO Status window<br>
    kX API: 'hidden' kX DSP objects partially implemented<br>
    Minor kX Setup improvements<br>
    Fixed minor bug with default routings and kX Router applet<br>
    Added support for SB22x model<br>
    Fixed minor bug with 24/96 'Wave HQ' volume<br>
    Added support for (32-0) formats<br>
    S/PDIF sampling rate is now automatically set/reset when AC-3 Passthru is active<br>
    Fixed bug with SPDIF 24/96 recording ('Wave HQ' device)<br>

    [compared to 3536]:
    Fixed bug with invalid 24/96 loopback volume level<br>
    Fixed bug with invalid 24/96 Master volume after reboot<br>
    Improved SPDIF output quality for Audigy2 boards<br>
    Italian, French, Danish and German translations updated<br>
    Fixed bug with AC-3 Passthru on Audigy2-based boards<br>
    Fixed bug with incorrect DOO mode handling for certain boards<br>
    Added support for 48000 and 192000 sampling rates for HQ device<br>
    Support for 44100 is not available at the moment (more research is necessary)<br>
    Added support for 32-bit (32-32) format for Kernel Streaming clients (fake :))<br>
    Default levels for CD-Digital and SPDIF-In set to '-inf'<br>
    Fixed bug with FXMix2 plugin (10k1-compatibility issue)<br>
    Improved RemoteIR support for trayed WinAmp and Foobar<br>
    Improved RPN/NRPN support (fixed certain formulas)<br>
    Fixed bug with kX Mixer handling default device change incorrectly<br>
    Fixed bug with invalid 'kX1/MicIn' and 'kX0/LineIn' to 'AC97 In' mappings (0dB = 100%)<br>

    note: when using 24-bit format, make sure to use '24 alt' or '32bit', since there seems to be a bug in the KMixer component (M$)

    reports welcome

    there is NO HyperThreading / AC-3 for 10k1 support
    AC-3 is on the way, HT will require additional debugging releases

    /Eugene
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    that link seems to be broken for me, "This page cannot be found"

    btw, does filter Eax calls mean in a game with Eax enabled, that the effects are simply ignored?
     
  3. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I've corrected the link

    >> does filter Eax calls...

    you are very attentive -- at least, you are the first to notice this option :)
    yes, 'filter eax calls' is a special feature that simply causes all the EAX calls to be ignored, however, the actual eax properties are still reported to be supported (to the application)
    this should fix some slow-downs in games, since eax engine isn't optimized (and is totally unfunctional at the moment)
    however, this can cause problems with certain games...

    /E
     
  4. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    there one bud with mozilla doesn't support your donwload link bud ;)
     
  5. s3n71nel

    s3n71nel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    analog recording gain slider

    The 'analog recording gain' slider is reversed. Sliding up reduces gain, sliding down increases gain. should be other way around.

    I also noticed that if you set analog recording gain to full (24) , and then hit 'mic boost' (*or look at another kx mixer page) ,that the analog recording gain value suddenly goes to 22. strange.



    ok cya.


    *edit
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  6. thedeath

    thedeath New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Added support for SB22x model" <-- ehh, there wasn't? I'm asking because I've been using KX drivers with a SB0222 for some time now :)
     
  7. s3n71nel

    s3n71nel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AC97 in slider strange behaviour

    on ' ins and outs ' page i just noticed that the 'AC97 in' slider and gain act abnormal.

    - First lower it and then slide it up to 100. (observe noise level with a peak meter on AC97 at prolog)
    - Then mute and unmute the slider.
    - You will see that the level has increased by 12 db ! ? (observed in peak meter)
    - If you slide down a bit then back up to 100, the level will go back down.



    SB0060 kx3537c

    cya.
     
  8. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> SB22x model

    just one more sb22x model :)

    >> ac97 boost

    hmm... so, the numbers are ok, but the direction is wrong -- ok, I will have a closer look :)

    >> ac97 mute/unmute

    yep, a bug -- to be fixed

    /E
     
  9. Game3DFreak

    Game3DFreak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: analog recording gain slider

    i can confirm these problems.
     
  10. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
  11. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    never mind :) hehe
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2004
  12. Slo

    Slo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how to merge those 3536 and 3537c + that .sys file?

    :confused:
     
  13. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    >Easy go to my computer then go to programs file then go to kx drivers then go to 3536 folder then extract all the files from 3537 and system replacement file into 3536 folder then click on setup into the file let it run then installed then restarted :) I hope that helps
     
  14. JCGuomp

    JCGuomp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It worked!!:D :D :D
    now I no longer experience lockups when kX mixer starts during system startup.

    nice work Eugene.:) :)
     
  15. Slo

    Slo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    worked for me too! (HT here) Yiiiippppeeeeee :w00t:

    thanx Eugene!

    P.S.: any1 got probs with SB live on default XP drivers with HT? i get BSOD sometimes when using SB live (CT4832) in DS or MME mode? no probs with Audigy with KX tho (now thats HT/SMP sorted)...what CL drivers to use for CT4832? Liveware 3? (i am keeping one SB live in muh puter with CL drivers cause of EAX in games, as soon as KX gets EAX i am kickin' out CL drivers)
     
  16. eyagos

    eyagos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    svs2 working here with HT enabled on an SB0092. Thanks a lot, and conglaturations. I don't have too much time now to make test with my Audigy2 SB0240, but I'm sure it would work too.

    Btw, looking at the analizer window, I see now only two red lines with foobar playing in DirectSound mode.

    But it sounds GRATE. :taste: :taste:
     
  17. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am just curious how did you fix it? Did you get yourself HT/SMP system or?
     
  18. Vadim_K

    Vadim_K New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At first I've unistalled all KXdrivers with DriverHeaven Cleaner 2.7 Then I've installed 3536, after "continue anyway" system gets HARD FREEZE. Then after RESET, uninstall it with Driver Cleaner again, I went to ...Program Files\KXproject\3536 and replaced all files, from 3537c, and then from 3537c_sys2 after. Then I've runned kxsetup.exe, and install it. O.K. It seems realy works better, no freeze on KXmixer's start up, seems that Cubase SX 2.01 works fine. BUT WHEN I START WINAMP AND PUSH "PLAY" BUTTON, SYSTEM GETS FREEZE AGAIN !!!, AND I need to push RESET AGAIN !!! How it was with previous KXversions !!! It happens often with KX drivers, getting freeze while Winamp start playing. I don't know why...Now I've installed Winamp 5.01, sound goes throw DirectSound Output (KX Wave CT 4832 10k1 [df80] 0/1) with "Allow Hardware Acceleration" enabled. May be this is another problem ?

    Anyway, congratulations ! The head problem for me (HT) is fixed !
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2004
  19. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    >> am just curious how did you fix it? Did you get yourself HT/SMP system or?

    I just finally tried to install SMP/APIC/ACPI kernel [works fine with my uniprocessor motherboard + 1 CPU], but it was rather tricky, since m$ has at least 6 different (and partially incompatible) kernels :)

    after re-configuring Windows, the bug [at least, the first one :)] became too obvious to trap -- in a -one- line of code...

    NOTE: ht/smp support is really 'alpha' -- you may experience lock-ups and reboots. please let me know if you find out any additional details (that is, just telling me 'it rebooted!' is useless). don't forget to turn off the 'automatically reboot' feature (control panel -> system -> advanced)

    NOTE: uniprocessor users -- please check 3537c+new sys thoroughly, too -- since the new HT/SMP-related changed might have affected non-SMP/HT machines as well.. (I hope they haven't...:))

    >> Btw, looking at the analizer window, I see now only two red lines with foobar playing in DirectSound mode

    what device? wave 0/1? that's strange. make sure to check the hardware acceleration. there should be two lines in DSound mode...

    /E
     
  20. Chester01

    Chester01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THANK YOU

    I appreciate this SO much, I have been stuck with the 3534 drivers for quite some time... I really enjoy these new drivers now that they work with SMP. I do have one question though... I have been using D-Scaler as Tv Tuner software, and with these new drivers, it seems that there is something wierd with the Line IN volme control. Like when I change the volume and then change the channel... it seems to jump with the volume. Has anyone else been experiencing this problem? thanks again!
     

Share This Page

visited