3538i is out

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. ursamtl

    ursamtl Montrealer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hang on...! adi111p, are you saying that ASIO 24/96 multichannel playback works in 3538i? In Eugene's announcement of the release he said:
    no, there is NO true 24/96 support in 3538i!

    (quoted from the bottom of this message)
    There are other statements Eugene made in his reply to the heated debate that dj removed from this thread that also indicate it's not yet available.

    So if you have indeed managed to get it running, how did you do so?
     
  2. adi111p

    adi111p Sound Quality Freak

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I am using ASIO for playback in winamp, and is not time critical to me, so I set the latency to about 21ms and 24/96 8+8.

    The thing is I couldn't use directly KX ASIO, but I had to redirect ASIO from winamp to KX ASIO by using ASIO4ALL driver, which from my tesings it seems that it just corrects ASIO calls to the right format whatever format you use.

    I've tested the 96KHz output by making a loopback from output to line-in and watch the incoming stream on a spectrum analizer program, and by generating a 30khz sin-waveform so I could be sure it outputs to that format, and also checked that wave-out volume is not working for ASIO.

    I use 24/96KHz 4 channels data encoded in 24bit (not 32).
     
  3. ursamtl

    ursamtl Montrealer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I tried the 24/96 8+8 settings in earlier versions of 3538, I got no sound. Are you saying these now work in 3538i?

    Also you don't explicitly say that the spectrum analyser showed 24-bit data coming in. Did it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2005
  4. adi111p

    adi111p Sound Quality Freak

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, now it works, and quite well...

    The spectrum analizer I wasn't using for 24bit display, but to check for 96khz output. I don't think you can detect the 24bit except with your subjective ears...
     
  5. djsolidsnake86

    djsolidsnake86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is possible to solve the bug that at every start of windows i must always re-load my saved options?
     
  6. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Open up the registry editor and navigate to the following key:
    "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run"

    Then look for the string value entry for "kX Mixer".
    Make sure that it's value data is "C:\WINDOWS\system32\kxmixer.exe --startup".
     
  7. ursamtl

    ursamtl Montrealer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody else try "24/96 8+8" in 3838i? If it works, what about 24/48? (this is the one I really want. 96k is a complete waste of hard drive space and processing power unless one is recording music for dogs ;) !
     
  8. djsolidsnake86

    djsolidsnake86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but i must create it in my registry or in all user registry?
     
  9. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If it is missing from there, than my guess is that you have some startup manager running that disabled it (as it is added to the registry by default), or you deleted it somehow. If you are using a startup manager, use it to reenable kxmixer at startup, otherwise just create the key yourself. As for where in the registry: kX uses HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE as I indicated in my previous post.
     
  10. djsolidsnake86

    djsolidsnake86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use tweaknow powerpack 2005
    so how i can create a key?
     
  11. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Open up the registry editor and navigate to:
    "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run"

    From the menu:
    EDIT -> New -> String Value

    For the Name, type in "kX Mixer"

    Double-Click on the value that was just created to modify the data.

    For the data, type in "C:\WINDOWS\system32\kxmixer.exe --startup"
    (assuming "C:\WINDOWS" is your Windows directory).

    Click "OK".

    Thats it...
     
  12. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    BTW: If you want kX Mixer to exit after restoring your saved config, then change the above data to:
    "C:\WINDOWS\system32\kxmixer.exe --startup --once"
     
  13. Tobacco

    Tobacco New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    KX driver 3538i - report

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ----Hardware / Software configuration---------------

    Driver Name:kX Audio Driver (Debug)

    Driver Date: Jul 14 2005 17:03:16

    Driver Version: 5.10.00.3538 - debug

    DB Name:none

    SB0400 10k2 [d400]

    PCI Information:

    Device: 81102 Subsys: 10011102 ChipRev: 0

    Card is '10k2'

    Card has MPU device

    Card model is '5.1'

    Card is Audigy2-compatible

    Card HAS AC97 codec

    Codec name: Unk AC97-codec [83847650]

    3D Extension: SigmaTel 3D Enhancement

    Codec is 2.0 compliant

    Capabilities[6a90] : -headphone out-

    DAC resolutions : -16-bit- -20-bit-

    ADC resolutions : -16-bit- -20-bit-

    Ext Capabilities [605]: -var rate PCM audio- -slot/DAC mappings-

    Port: d400 Irq: 0x5(5)

    Playback buffer: 20a0

    Record buffer: 4000

    Number of AC3 buffers: 4

    Tank memory: 256 kb

    GSIF buffer: 256 samples

    OS version: [2 5 1 Service Pack 2; 2 5 1 Service Pack 2; 156 148]

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Gear:

    MSI KT Mobo, AMD Athlon 64 3000+, SB Audigy2 Value SB0400, Win XP Home SP2.

    Installation:

    Windows does not recognize card, so had to install manually (not related to driver – same with Creative’s drivers – this is amazing, with a new, common card and updated xp!).

    kX with default settings gives sound and works in principle, but no drums in MIDI (as for others).

    Speaker test with default settings (2.1, surround on) > sound in front and rear jack from all speakers in test.

    With 2.1 surround off, sound in front and back only from front L and R and woofer.



    I have recorded 44/24 through ASIO with Cubase SE – works. Band-in-a-Box also seems to work (MIDI - drums do not work).

    I record through line in and find the line in signal on ASIO 4 (mono mic to line in) – seems to work.

    I activate the AC97 in in/out mixer, add some gain in AC97 mixer, and have line in in pulldown.

    I have to set the record monitor in Cubase on to get a signal to record - and hear a very slight delay, no problem.

    The ASIO setup is default 48/16, but I have Cubase set to 48/24 - and Cubase reports 48/24 from the recorded file (?).

    In short, except for the missing MIDI drums, 3538i works for me.

    There might be a problem with the rerouting of earphones to woofer - I get no sound there. But I use the front output for phones, so that is OK.

    /Great stuff

     
  14. djsolidsnake86

    djsolidsnake86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok problem solved
    i have a question for these drivers: is possible to add the sounds effects of creative drivers?
    for this case is possible to do the kx drivers compatible with
    Creative AudioHQ
    Creative Diagnostics
    Creative MiniDisc Center
    Creative Restore Defaults
    Creative Surrond Mixer
    Creative Speaker Setting
    Creative EAX Control Panel
    SoundFont Manager
    Audio Stream Recorder 2
    Creative MediaSource
    or creat a modded version of this creative's program?
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2005
  15. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    any of their non-driver specific programs may work, ie their media player, but nothing like eax, audio hq, or speaker/surround programs
     
  16. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The programs that came with my Audigy 2 zs platinum do not work with out the creative drivers present - not even the cubasis 3sx works.
     
  17. Tobacco

    Tobacco New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my last post I wrote:I have recorded 44/24 through ASIO with Cubase SE .
    Correction: 48/24! :duh: In BandInaBox I have recorded with 44/16 with kX drivers but that is not ASIO, I think.
    Still wonder what to select in Kx ASIO panel - there are several 48/24.
    /T
     
  18. Schwarz

    Schwarz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After installing 3538i drivers on my A2ZS (SB0350) card, I notice Hi-pitch distortions when out 16/44 or 24/44, sound through Wave HQ device. Famous udial.wav test sample has confirmed my observations too. Previous versions (3538h) does'nt have this strange effects. Why sound quality was decreased? (A bit confused)

    Any help or explain are greeted.
     
  19. Doug W

    Doug W Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Can anybody elaborate on this one a bit? I understand that in previous versions, people with multiple cards have used kX along with Asio4All at the same time for certain applications. So I am confused.
     
  20. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    from what i understand, if a program can support multiple ASIO drivers you can use multiple cards from with in that, therefore negating the need to wire the cards together to gain the extra inputs
     

Share This Page

visited