3550 released - x86 and x64

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. liyang_ws

    liyang_ws New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very good,All normal!thank you
    win7 X86 4G RAM SB 4760
     
  2. peporroncin

    peporroncin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is my actual buffer's configuration:

    1024 KB
    8352 bytes (~8.70 ms)
    65536 bytes
    4 buffers
    256 samples

    I am using Windows 7 rc 7100.

    I yet hear noise :mad::mad:

    Can I change any property for improve the sound??
     
  3. SithBoxer

    SithBoxer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yessss! I <3 you Eugene. Working 100% in Windows 7 32-bit on a SB0220, surround and everything! Is there a paypal or something i can thank you with?

    Sound was tinny and distorted on install (i have a digital speaker set thats uses the SPDIF) but i went into Sound in the Control Panel and switched to SPDIF from the default 'WaveOut 6/7' and all was working (surround and all) and it sounded superb.

    Did some testing with my speakers & a nice headset i have:
    Master mixer, sounds ok, not great, no surround.
    WaveOut 2/3: Distorted sound, a little tinny but lows and mids are a bit more defined than master mixer. No surround.
    WaveOut 4/5: Distorted sound just the same except its outputting to only the 2 rear speakers. No surround.
    WaveOut 6/7: Very tinny, very noticable distortion, lows and mids sound fairly muddy, missing depth to audio. Theres surround but its very quiet.
    SPDIF/AC3 Output: Sounds great, possibly better than it does in XP(suprisingly). Clear and defined lows mids and highs. Full surround.

    Thank you very much for everything Eugene!
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  4. RPGWiZaRD

    RPGWiZaRD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now using 3550 with Windows 7 x64 RC1 with 4GB RAM and working perfect and so far no clicks or whatever noticed!

    This is my recommendation for headphone/stereo setup users:

    Use Wave 4/5, lower volume in windows volume control for Wave 4/5 to 33% to avoid distortion at higher volume and use kX volume slider to set volume as needed. Make sure Surrounder+ have set Surround to "On" and 2.1 profile.

    This will have very nice audio quality (highs and mids and powerful deep bass) and perfectly working 3D positional/surround sound for a stereo setup. And yes like above mentioned, the sound quality is better in Windows 7 than Win XP even, when configured correctly. :)

    Creative should really have a look at kX project, their cards are great but their own drivers sux so much it ain't funny. kX drivers are the perfect example of how IMPORTANT good drivers are!

    EDIT: If some1 have problem with getting it to work PM me and I could send my settings.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  5. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    A nice idea. There is donation info on the kX web page here: kX Project -- kX Fund
     
  6. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    WaveOut 5/6? Is that a typo? It should be 6/7.
     
  7. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, aren't you quite right about SPDIF/AC3? I'm pretty surprised.
     
  8. krylko

    krylko New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your default output is 2/3 instead of Master Mixer, right?
     
  9. krylko

    krylko New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Master mixer is distorted for me, for whatever reason. I don't get metallic sound at system startup. Well, maybe I do, but I've got my Grado's hooked on and I never have them on on startup. It's strange that different people here have very different distortion profiles on different WaveOuts. For reference, I have SB 0243 (Dell's version of Audigy 2 ZS).
     
  10. Chester01

    Chester01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @Astral: I do not know what you need to do/change, everything your doing 'sounds' correct to me... you could try clearing the dsp and loading a very basic configuration, FXbusX into StVol, into k2lt, then try changing the outputs, use a peak meeter to check if you are getting signal into the dsp, also, if you go into the kXmixer and click on the last (lowest) tab on the left, you should see some sort of colored bars, depending on what kind of input to the card you are using (Ks, direct sound, etc)... if you cannot find anything using a peak meter (off of the FXbusX) then look at that to see if the card is receiving a source...
     
  11. zoere

    zoere New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CT4830 4G 内存 缓冲区设置:1024K 2048K 正常发声
    安装设置完毕后 wave out6/7 声音非常小 SPDIF/AC3 output 声音有改善 不过声音还是有点小
    再次感谢kx驱动开发人员

    CT4830 4G memory buffer settings: 1024K 2048K normal voice
    After installation settings wave out6 / 7 voice sounds very small SPDIF/AC3 output has improved, but the sound is still a bit small
    Once again, thank kx-driven development officer
     
  12. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forget what I said about "Master mixer" if you have a Soundblaster Live! 5.1, as I do. Someone pointed out the SPDIF/AC3 output, and sound is better and cleaner than what I've ever seen before.
     
  13. MegaByte

    MegaByte New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way, guys, one interesting thing that seems to allow to control channels is to select each of them as a default device and then increase / decrease volume in them, and then setting SPDIF/AC3 output as default again.

    Why is this happening though? I didn't know Live had this kind of output.
     
  14. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A little bug: under Settings\Driver Compatibility, there is an option "lang settings.compat14 ??". Not sure what should be there, but I'm pretty sure that's not it ;)
     
  15. ajsko29

    ajsko29 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi, I've been using kX drivers on my Audigy Platinum some years ago, but had to choose another drivers when vista came out (I had 4gb of ram).
    Now with Windows 7 I tried them again, and as it used to be, the sound is brilliant :)
    But I have problem with 5.1 speaker configuration. When I choose Master mixer as playback device, only my 2 front speakers work when playing .wav files (even if I set surround on in speaker configuration, neither my subwoofer makes any sound). But when I play AC3 file witch 6 channel sound, all the speakers play as they should.
    If I choose SPDIF/AC3, I get much much better sound, everything works as should, EXCEPT the AC3 files, no matter what I try I always hear rear channel sounds and surround channel in my front speakers (like when I play 2 channel .wav files), so no 6 channel sound.

    Is there any way to get this sorted out? I don't remember exactly how it used to behave on Windows XP when I used kX for the last time.
     
  16. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Driver is working in Windows Server 2008 R2 x64(R2 doesn't have x86). 4GB RAM PC.

    I did little tweak:

    I am using Wave Out 2/3. Master Mixer has clicks as always.
    Sometimes audio stutters, even with SystemResponsiveness tweak.

    I tweaked the buffers a bit, but I am not sure what values to put there.

    now:

    Code:
    512KB
    9600 (10.00ms)
    32768 bytes
    4 buffers
    256 samples
    
    Can you suggest me other values to try?

    Thanks for the driver Eugene.

    The only thing stopping me from going x64 is that there is still not ProFX x64. I have audigy 2 zs and the only way of selecting the external MIC input (Mic2/Line In2) is with ProFX plugin.
     
  17. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is Mic2/Line In2 not available on Prolog for your card?
     
  18. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I am gonna test this right now :)
    Thanks

    PS.
    I have connected Peak to every output of prolog starting with:
    Line1/Mic1
    Line2
    Line3

    No indication of sound coming out of it. :(
    I only can use my microphone with your plugins it seems.

    PS2.
    I found my Line In2/Mic 2 input on prologlt. Its called i2s0_l and i2s0_r. Noise level its very high. Maybe that's related to A2ZS model. I have to investigate more.

    PS3. Looks like basic version of ProFX is included in the x64 driver :D . MX6 is kinda ugly but does the job. Thanks a lot! Goodbye 32bit OSes :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  19. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LoL:)
     
  20. curro1b

    curro1b New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tested SB0220 under windows7 x86, 1Gb. Ram: -- -----, only noise.
    Soundcard detected as SB0229 or SB0228, but it's a SB0220.
    Selected all waveouts, and all analog jack outputs, but no sound.

    Sigmatel STAC97S8T
    EMU10K1-JFF
    PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0002&SUBSYS100A1102&REV_0A

    EDIT: This soundcard was broken.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2009

Share This Page

visited