5.1 6.1 or 7.1 digital output (coaxial)

Discussion in '3-D Audio' started by ghetto, Jan 23, 2006.

  1. ghetto

    ghetto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    the ONLY way to get multichannel sound out of ANY SPDIF connection is for the soundcard to encode multichannel sound (which it doesn't) or for the source material to be encoded in multichannel

    alternatively you could use tril's recodneXk AC3 encoder (5.1 only however)
     
  3. ghetto

    ghetto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which soundcard should I use if i want stereo to surround upmix?
     
  4. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll assume the Audigy SE is supported by KX...

    with trils redocne you can do this in a few ways with some DSP config..

    I Like Prologica plugin (comes with KX) it decodes DPL from my TV - and up mixes setero to 5 channel - , you would then add a lowpass filter for the LFE output)

    Surrounder plugin is also capable of an upmix - but I like prologicas a little better.

    Then use the redocne to encode to AC3 -

    Another way to UPMIX - is to change winamp to use DIRECTSHOW decoder input plugin for MP3 decoding - which, if FFDSHOW DS filter is installed will use the FFDSHOW - which can decode / up mix to 5.1 - I dont think winamps croddfade functions tho - and is a little buggy when 'tweaking' the ffdshow filter (SRC, crystiality, FIR filter etc)
    But ranks high on the 'neato' and 'tweakable' factor all in all.
     
  5. ghetto

    ghetto New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I only would play games or play DVD's, which soundblaster would then send out the signal in surround? if I skip the mp3 upmix, my new receiver can probably handle it

    on creatives site, it says that audigy se and audigy 4 only sends out spdif in 2.0, would it be in surround with these drivers?
     
  6. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    re-read DJ Sticks first post...

    SPDIF is just a digital streaming metod of sending stereo audio - AC3 (common 5.1 PCM) is a compressed/encoding audio 'trick' that works to send 5.1 channels via a single wire or optical fiber.

    So - if using AC3 passthru - the SPDIF out (while playing a DVD) should be AC3 - 5.1 surround - KX does this also. SBLIVE - AFAIK - AC3 passthru does not work, but redocne does.

    Keep in mind - PASSTHRU - usually only works for DVD playback - as its an ALREADY AC3 ENCODED SPDIF STREAM.
     
  7. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The point to understand is that these cards do not do AC3 encoding, so the only way to get more than 2 channels over SPDIF is using AC3 passthru (with a signal that is allready encoded). This will work fine for surround DVD's, but most games do not output AC3, so you will only get 2 channels from games (when using SPDIF), without the use of some software encoder. As mentioned previously, Tril's AC3 encoder: 'recodneXk' (search the forum for more info), is one option. As the situation is the same for both card models, you should base your decision on other factors (or search for a sound card that does do AC3/Dolby Digital encoding).
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  8. psychok9

    psychok9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I don't understand: "SBLIVE - AFAIK - AC3 passthru does not work, but redocne does."
    With Kxdriver, and sblive i can have 5.1 DD Signal on my coaxial?
     
  9. Max M.

    Max M. h/h member-shmember

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    63
    >With Kxdriver, and sblive i can have 5.1 DD Signal on my coaxial?

    (i assume it's a third answer to your question) - No, you can't
     
  10. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't you use the software encoder? redocnekx? won't that work?
     
  11. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From my understanding redocne ONLY works if the sound card supports 'AC3 Passthru' - My SBLive does not.
     
  12. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The issue is that AC3 passthru does not currently work with 10k1 cards.
    redocnekx will work fine, but without AC3 passthru, there is no point in using it (no way to send the encoded signal to an external decoder).
     
  13. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see thanks for clearing that up, I wasn't sure that's why I asked.
     

Share This Page

visited