5.1 in CT4832?

Discussion in '3-D Audio' started by Dan Hibiki, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. Dan Hibiki

    Dan Hibiki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can i get 5.1 sound from dvd's or other ac3 encoded source in this SBLive? i mean, using the digital out and a receiver capable of decoding ac3 (or dts), i will have full surround sound?

    or can i send the center/sub signal to the output of my onboard sound and get analog 5.1? is there any software that can do this? or maybe some trick on the dsp? would it be possible?

    thanks in advance! and sorry for my bad english...
     
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    this is a live 4.0 model?
    if so you'll need to a second soundcard with SPDIF input
     
  3. Dan Hibiki

    Dan Hibiki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, it is a 4.0 model

    it will not work if i plug the digital out into a digital receiver capable of ac3/dts decoding?

    how does i need to setup both cards to work then?
     
  4. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    by sending the last two channels to a second card to convert to analog
     
  5. Dan Hibiki

    Dan Hibiki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm, there is no software capable of doing this through some driver trick or something like that?

    and don't you know if this will work? :confused:
    thanks a lot
     
  6. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    no
    the card is 4.0
    thge spdif output is 2.0
     
  7. Dan Hibiki

    Dan Hibiki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, thanks...

    one last question then:
    the "toggle ac-3 passthrough mode" and/or those ac3 passthrough plugins on the dsp have no use on the live 4.0?
     
  8. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    passthrough doesn't quite work on 10k1 boards yet
     
  9. Dan Hibiki

    Dan Hibiki New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so it is a driver-related problem? can i expect to see this feature on a near future?
     
  10. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    yes its driver related. No release date
     

Share This Page

visited