64 bit processing

Discussion in 'Polls' started by HardwareHeaven, Apr 10, 2005.

?

64 bit processing

  1. Will be upgrading to 64bit AMD soon

    161 vote(s)
    31.6%
  2. Will be upgrading to 64bit INTEL soon

    25 vote(s)
    4.9%
  3. Already using it (AMD)

    224 vote(s)
    43.9%
  4. Already using it (INTEL)

    4 vote(s)
    0.8%
  5. Ive no interest in 64 bit processors

    96 vote(s)
    18.8%
  1. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not interested... No money and wel, only when something really interesting it out shall I switch!
     
  2. Pluvious

    Pluvious Elisha = hottie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not for me. I'm not about to re-buy all my stuff yet again. I'm hopeing my rig can last a year or more as it is now. Maybe when its struggling to run games in a few years, I'll consider doing the upgrade. Which to me, means a new mobo, ram, proc and god knows what else. I can wait.
     
  3. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I'm going to be using Athlon 64 by july at the latest... gonna grab all computer parts at the same time and I want to see what ATi's next gen is looking like and what the FX57 is looking like before i make my decision.... possibly even wait for ATi's SLI
     
  4. Spyro124

    Spyro124 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Using it for a while, right as it is now, I just see this as some big marketing scam, allthough it's pretty l33t to say that you have a 64bit system.
     
  5. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    ive been using it since about july, so far i love my A64 3200+. beats the hell ouf of my old p3 667mghz. not to mention i got one hell of a deal on it, which makes me love it all the more.
     
  6. Lok

    Lok New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm keeping my current rig for at least a year, maybe two if I can stretch it so I chose "not interested" as purchasing soon to me means a few weeks/months but not a year.
     
  7. technonerd

    technonerd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Intel 2.8C ghz and it's OC to 3.2 for now. My computer still working great for 2 years with 9700 pro :cool: lucky I didn't buy 3.2, it's a waste of money of you can easily OC 2.8 to 3.2.

    Soon as OS 64-bit come out, will get 64-bit system(with intel or amd, depend which is better for me) include next gen video card :)

    Been saving alots of money for the last two years, so good news for me :taste:

    Also planning to get Toyota Tacoma soon :D
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  8. DarkFoss

    DarkFoss Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I've had mine since December. It's one mean folding machine :D

    Not too much luck with any of 64 bit linux distros yet, although Mandrake 64 rc1 club edition does work pretty well. Tried the 64 bit Live Ubuntu yesterday, no sound with my Audigy2zs and alot of unknown hardware listed needless to say I'm not going to try to install it.

    I am looking forward to the Vidalinux 1.2 due in June as a way to install Gentoo 64. I don't want to change my partitioning or dedicate a whole harddrive to linux just yet, and I'm not comfortable manually setting the harddrive peramaters. The Anaconda installer is just soo much simpler even though I'll wind up with a stage 3 install. I just hope I don't wind up with the dreaded kernel panic, Mandrake is the only distro I've tried that gets grub right every time.
     
  9. Son_of_Thunder

    Son_of_Thunder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    got my 3500+ winnie around the end of january...seems like a popular time to upgrade :D
     
  10. pigdog

    pigdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Made my move back in Febuary. A valentine's gift to myself.

    Hey, it's allowed; I'm single!
     
  11. refraction

    refraction New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    went 64bit just after the processors came out, altho stays on xp32, for some reason ive had no luck installing XP-64, gonna have to have a play with it.
     
  12. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure, there is :)
    On one of mirrors, look for:
    ubuntu-5.04-install-amd64.iso
    ubuntu-5.04-live-amd64.iso
    Kubuntu has 64-bit version as well, named in similar fashion.

    I think that the problem is that if you want to use aditional apps you will need 64-bit versions of most of them. Yet, I'm not sure what are the gains of using 64-bit OS.
     
  13. Chaosophy

    Chaosophy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've had my AMD64 3000 since last march and will probably pick up XP64-bit a month or two after launch once people with more time on their hands than me have had chance to see what it's like.

    Tried a version of it last year (RC1 i think) but had a few problems and no time to really play about with it.

    And then maybe i FINALY get to see the 64-bit version of FarCry!

    FC was the game i got last match to show of my new rig and the fact that i knew a 64bit version was coming was great news, a year later not so. :-(

    and if I ever get around to installing the spare hd that's been sat there for 4 months i might try a 64bit linux install, just for giggles. (but again lack of time)
     
  14. sandvic

    sandvic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm happy with my AMD but I'll move to XP64 when there is actual support for it, 1/3 of the software I use and many games are incompatible so...
     
  15. interspaced

    interspaced New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll probably wait for the next gen cards to come out and the AMD fx-57 and see what that's like. I'm hoping by the end of the summer i will have upgraded.
     
  16. kelticknight

    kelticknight DriverHeaven Knight

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have amd 64fx 4000+ last year,waiting for 64 bit os to be released and surport for it
     
  17. StuBee

    StuBee lurker

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    28
    FX53 for me :)
     
  18. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    most 32bit stuff should work just fine
     
  19. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i wanna get a 64 3500+. i can get them for $300 aus.
     
  20. crapman777

    crapman777 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a amd64 3000, not overly impressed and a p4 equivalent can perform about as fast, however with the extended instructions these processors have some sort of "future proofing" As for programs being incompatible. Well 64 bit processors can still handle 32 bit instructions (i think intel's original itanium was purely 64 bit). The newer 64 bit versions from amd should be interesting.

    I am not dissapointed, but man would i love an athlon fx
     

Share This Page

visited