6800GT will only run in agp 4x now

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by Pman, May 3, 2005.

  1. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi. I reformated windows and installed all the drivers and such and when i went to set my video setings i noticed my agp rate was only 4x. I have the 5.10 nforce driver and the latest forceware driver (71.89) and before i reformated it was running 8x. I was using 67.20 drivers before the format. I tried to use NVtweak to change my agp rate but the slider woulnt only go to 4x too. Anyway to fix this? My mobo says im running 8x in the bios so could it only sya its running 4x but truely 8x? and help would be nice. Thanks
     
  2. TJ-

    TJ- New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    download riva tuner for nvidia cards and you can change it in there
     
  3. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, i did that and it only has 4x to select. Can i change it with power user and if i can what do i set it to?
     
  4. TJ-

    TJ- New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can try, i dont use those setings, but if it only says 4x in there, then its set to 4x in the bios... So i dont know why your bios would say 8x if its on 4x
     
  5. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok. It is also like this with 67.20 drivers. I tryed the power settings but nothing happened. I will try the bios. Thanks for the help.
     
  6. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i put it to 4x in the bios im running 2x in riva tuner and when its 8x in the bios i have 4x running in riva. This makes no sence.
     
  7. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Check your BIOS settings and make sure it has 8x Enabled. Changint the AGP Speed in Windows will do squat if the BIOS has it disabled.
     
  8. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What driverset are you using?
     
  9. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea i have 8x enabled in the bios. When 8x is enabled in the bios the nvidia driver says im running 4x and i cannot selet to run 8x in the driver control panel.
     
  10. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im using 71.89 forceware and nforce 5.10 drivers, thoser are the latest right? I have nforce 3 and a bfg tech 6800gt oc card.
     
  11. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have the same brand of card as you except I have the ULTRA. Have you made sure the 6800GT has the power connector plugged into the card?
     
  12. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hehe yea i can see it through the window. would it even run without it in? This has only become a problem after i did the repair reformat thing of windows, befor i did this it said 8x in the nvidia CP. Im thinking of uninstalling the forceware and nforce drivers and running driver cleaner, see if that works.
     
  13. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Here is what I would do...... Remove the drivers from Windows, use drivercleaner to wipe all reg files and then reset all BIOS defaults.

    EDIT: Just a thought, have you installed all the mobo drivers?
     
  14. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You read my mind. I will try that and post back later. Thanks for the help.

    Edit: The mobo drivers are the nforce ones, Chipset, raid, audio and all that good stuff right? Because the cd i got with the mobo only have nforce drivers on it.
     
  15. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still no luck. I even re-installed windows compleatly and all the drivers today with no change. I made sure the power cable is connected right. I took the card out and dusted it off. All the drivers are current and installed. Could it say that its running in 4x mode but really be working in 8x?
     
  16. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just installed the Gart driver and the problem is still here. Any more help would be nice :confused:
     
  17. FR4GGL3

    FR4GGL3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check your dx setup. goto startmenue -> run -> type "dxdiag" (hit enter of course :lol: )
    is everything alright in dxdiag? is everything enabled?

    next check your acceleration level found in the driver section of windows. set it to max acceleration.

    try even running "auto" mode of the agp transferrate in your bios.
    btw: do you have the newest bios for your mobo?
    does another card run @ 8x?
     
  18. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Can you confirm that all motherboard drivers have been installed, in the device manager are there any yellow escalation marks visible?

    Use the driverrs from your motherboard CD not from the net - see if that works.
     
  19. Pman

    Pman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi. I used both the cd drivers and the nforce drivers from the net. I can conferm i have all the mobo drivers installed and everything in dxdiag is ok and enabled. The only other video card i have is busted ( 9600 that oc'd to far ). I will try to run it in auto but i think i did that and is still said 4x in the CP but i will try again. oh and the acceleration is max.
     
  20. itchy5

    itchy5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it has to be mobo AGP drivers
     

Share This Page

visited