9100 bios

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by denis111, Dec 25, 2002.

  1. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I finally broke 7500 3Dmarks with this BIOS: 7557! Yeah... (will try some OC-ing later).
     
  2. BobyJo

    BobyJo New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dennis111::I have the best bios flash to up the Radeon 8500 to a Radeon 9100, that I have seen.
    This file gives you the opportunity to select three different versions of core and memory speeds.
    The highest is 300/300, if you want to try it. PM your email address to me and I will send it to you.

    I began reading this thread on the front page, so you may have the same thing I have. Mine makes a bootable floppy disk, writes all files to the disk. Just follow instructions when programing the files before flash. You may select the 250/250, 275/275, 300/300 whichever you want. We have a Radeon 8500 DDR64 retail boxed 275/275 card origianly. Now we have a Radeon 9100 running at 301.50/301.50 and is stable as a rock. It was stable before, so we lost nothing, and gained a new card. This is a professional file creation. I did not do the making, however I wish I was capable.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2003
  3. CignaXI

    CignaXI New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also flshed my card to a 9100. I didn't notice too much FPS gain but the Image quality inccreased alot. I was using the 7008 before in balanced mode.
     
  4. HsuGotaQ

    HsuGotaQ Hydrogenated Dumbass

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am a bit confused. What is balanced mode?:confused:
     
  5. Dr4go

    Dr4go New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, it worked also for me!!!

    I had got a ATI Radeon 8500 Retail and now I've got an ATI Radeon 9100 Retail. :) ATI becomes always more sympathetic... Or has anyone got another opinion?

    In addition I've done a benchmark before and after the Update of the BIOS...
    Before: 8812
    After: 9217!!! Wooohooooooooo!

    Does anyone got any information about DirectX 9 compatibility? Some rumours I've heard, that with this BIOS the ATI Radeon 8500 is fully DirectX 9 compatible. Can anyone confirm this rumour?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2003
  6. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DX9 - Definitly not.
    You will need HW support for it, not only BIOS update ;)
    Nice too see the score improvement!
     
  7. Dr4go

    Dr4go New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those rumours claimed, that the hardware architecture of the Radeon 8500 is quite the same as the one of the Radeon 9000. This should be also the reason for the functionality of the Radeon 9100 series. So the main difference should be in the BIOS.

    So this rumour is definitely wrong? I think to heard this rumour on Toms Hardware...
     
  8. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RV250 used in 9000 is different than R200.
    R200 used in 8500 is same as R200 used in 9100.

    BIOS is only difference between 9100 and 8500, that's right. But you can't get DX9 HW support with new BIOS. Only 9500/9700 supports it.
     
  9. Dr4go

    Dr4go New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thx for your explanations RIV@NVX! I've thought, that the Radeon 9100 is fully DX9 compatible until now... So that was the reason, because I got confused. :)
     
  10. amuro

    amuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. amuro

    amuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. denis111

    denis111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. stevvie

    stevvie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for that gigabyte bios, it seemed a little better than the saphire on i was using.
     
  14. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best. BIOS. Ever (for 2D, haven't tried 3D yet). Annoying detection of monitor that don't exist is partially gone. And it seems a bit newer than Sapphire's.

    Need to try 3D too, but so far - so good :)
     
  15. Tyrant

    Tyrant New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wish there was a BGA 128mb 9100 bios that would give me and a few others some love. :tears:
     
  16. denis111

    denis111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, i can overcklock memory up to 299 mhz with gigabyte bios without artifacts. And only up to 292 mhz with any other bios
     
  17. =WD=praetorian=

    =WD=praetorian= New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does any1 know where i can get a bios rom file for the ati radeon 9000 pro with 128MB DDR memory?
    see the thing is i flashed it with the wrong rom files now it's saying it's 64 mb ddr instead of 128 mb ddr if at all possible, will a bios rom files from a 9100 pro with 128 mb ddr work:confused:
     
  18. denis111

    denis111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    reading what everybody was saying, i am understanding that the 9100 bios will probably work for the 8500. I am interested in flashing my bios for my radeon 8500pro 128Mb, but i need to find out if it will work or not for my card specifically. if i do happen to get the new bios for my card, will my settings be at a higher setting stock other than 275/275? will the rage3d be of great use for me also? help me out if anybody can with this same issue. i would appreciate it. thanx. if it will help, i have BGA memory.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2003
  20. denis111

    denis111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think trhat GB bios will work on your card. Imho you should find something like "9100 128mb bga"
     

Share This Page

visited