99% GPU load

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Eagle, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Eagle

    Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    With the upgrade to firefox 4 my gpu's jump up to 99% when watching videos on youtube, etc. Anyone else encountered this, or have a solution for it? :)

    I think this has something to do with java.

    This dosen't happen with Opera or IE9. I'm running the latest catalyst release. 11.3

    Eagle
     
  2. Ishank

    Ishank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's your GPU? This is a strange problem. Are you using beta version or full version?
     
  3. Eagle

    Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Asus ARES. I'm running the latest full version WHQL.

    Eagle
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,667
    Likes Received:
    1,519
    Trophy Points:
    138
    um... all the youtube videos are using either adobe flash or if your on the html5 beta mode...... it uses HTML5 lol..

    nothing involves java, or at least shouldn't.


    as far as gpu load.... i haven't paid attention to what youtube has been using.... but considering how poor flash is.. i'm not surprised if adobe officially releases a flash update that kills computers and eats children.. then calls it a "feature"
     
  5. Ishank

    Ishank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ares!!!!!!!:w00t: May be you can try to uninstall the Firefox and again reinstall it.
     
  6. Eagle

    Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    doh yeah, it could be flash as well. But why dosen't this happen when I'm using IE9 and Opera, only FF4.. :(

    hehe yeah ARES, quite happy with the card it self. :)
     
  7. Ishank

    Ishank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then throw off FF4 from your computer. Use IE9. It's good.
     
  8. Eagle

    Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hehe well. there are certain things that I like with FF that IE9 dosen't have. Like no commercial banners, no script etc. That IE9 dosen't have. :)
     
  9. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I'd blame flash. I used to have the same thing with an old setup. If I disabled flash the problem disappeared.
     
  10. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    This is a bug that's plagued AMD drivers for a few sets and it is on the high priority list of fixes but don't expect it to get fixed quickly as AMD doesn't know what causes it. Disabling hardware acceleration in firefox helps but sometimes I get it regardless.

    http://twitter.com/CatalystCreator/status/53927782459244544
     
  11. Eagle

    Eagle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks will try that OmegaRed. :)
     
  12. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I stick w/ the 10.12a drivers. It is the only release I've seen that are stable without the 99% GPU usage bug.
     

Share This Page

visited