A n00b in need of some simple advise (regarding tables and gfx)

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Jamboguy, Aug 2, 2003.

1. Jamboguy

Jamboguy New Member

Hi there,

I'm not a web designer but I've tried doing my owns sites and stuff and can do a bit of php and html coding and such like (self taught). My question is this. I've seen many websites with really cool graphics which make websites look less boxy. How does one go about the structure of the tables and so forth with regards to the graphics. Hmm not sure if I've described what I mean properly but here's an example.

For example if you goto this website posted earlier on these forums : http://elvis.rowan.edu/~dgrochow/design8.jpg

How does one create perfect curves and graphics like that to fit onto a webpage? Do you do it in Fireworks/Photoshop and then do slicing or is there another method? Websites I've done in the past are very boxy and boring like this one:

http://www.angelguitars.com

That was my 1st attempt on a website with full php and sql integration.

Advise would be thoroughlly appreciated so I can create much more attractive sites. Cheers.

2. tek

tek New Member

Those smooth curves are made mostly in Photoshop7.0, then CUT into pieces, IN PHOTOSHOP, then saved into a bunch of files, and then taken into a HTML editor and put together via "position absolute" or a similar code.

could I explain it any easier ?

3. Jamboguy

Jamboguy New Member

Ok so I was correct with slices, but what is this 'position absolute' you are talking about. Thanks for your reply btw.

4. Malus

Malus BSD SMASH!

I guess I'm qualified to answer this one. :D For you information, this is just a graphic I have never finished. Needs a lot more work before I slice and implement. I don't even remember posting it on the forums. . . :confused: