Adobe Golive or Dreamweaver

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by HardwareHeaven, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I have the new Dreamweaver MX and I have the new Golive, and I still prefer dreamweaver, probably mainly because of the interface... have adobe just got no hope of catching up ? what do you think? do you use golive and love it?
     
  2. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those both produce HTML right?

    Be a real man and code it by hand ;)
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well Dreamweaver is very, very good at letting you do your own coding, and it really kicks ass.

    I did the news page at the beginning all by hand....then i did it in dreamweaver.
     
  4. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Re:

    I used to, but im now an old lazy man ;)
     
  5. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    I didn't know you were lazy as well :lol:
     
  6. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    We all get lazy when we get old.
     
  7. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to code by hand...

    ...but then I got rid of my pencil & paper and got a computer. :p

    Melikes Dreamweaver3. I used it on my last official paying gig and it was a breeze to produce high-quality results with zero effort or knowledge. Well, 'cept finding a copy to download...but it ain't like that's real hard. (The place I was working at used Macs so they bought the Mac version, I prefer doing most of my work on my own systems. Better atmosphere. [SIZE=xx-small]<*spark* Ffffffffffffftttt......> [/SIZE]

    Photoshop keeps getting me dizzy, adobe makes great programs but sometimes they're a little too power/indepth for the silly shit I use 'em for.
     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well I used Dreamweaver 4 for a while...nice program. Got 6 (MX) now, its even better, and if you don't feel like switching interfaces, they still have the 4 interface in it.
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    as for photoshop....I LOVE IT!
     
  10. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Re:

    ;)
     
  11. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    As long as thats all I get then its OK with me.
    The extra weight and baldness can go away! Ya hear me old age!
     
  12. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love my Photoshop too. You all have 7.0 as well?
     
  13. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well i did most of the graphics on this site with PS6.0
     
  14. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    In my opion since i use Dreamweaver and have used Golive I prefer Dreamweaver By far its just more rich with tools and panels. I use dreamweaver 8 - 10 hours a day and it lets me manage over 200+ websites with less frustration then any other program I have used.
     
  15. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    I haven't actually tried golive how does it differ from dreamweaver!

    I'm making a mental note I must organise my time better whilst working on websites, I only have 4 and seem to spend hours without getting alot done, I suppose when your dealing with other ppls sites once there set up you update content & makeover when required..where as on your own site your always questioning what you've done!
     
  16. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I used PS6 and 7 to do the buttons on this site and some of the main logo, and Flash combined with PS7 and a little illustrator to redesign the logo at the bottom of the site. nothing really complicated, especially when I look at some of the artwork ive designed and sold for other sites and bureaus, companies etc.

    I wouldnt use any other tool apart from photoshop to design my graphics, ive been using and teaching it since 90, nothing compares or comes close. I got cyborg onto it a while ago, he was using other (inferior) tools. took me a while to persuade him, but he got it and wont go back now ;)

    as for hand coding, I dont do alot of that anymore, apart from some tricks I cant do in Dreamweaver :cool:
     
  17. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :)

    Yeah, I gotta admit that I don't think I've ever put a page up that I hadn't checked and edited using good old "notepad" first. Every software package just has to go and add their little commercial to the pages. :rolleyes:

    I've never tried actually setting up dreamweaver to actually upload and manage my website, my skills at such things weren't as good when I was playing around with it so I just used it to produce 'em and uploaded thru FTP. Sounds like a VERY good thing to look into trying if'n I want an easy way to keep the homepage a bit neater. (My page would be updated freaking daily if it was a simple as opening it in dreamweaver and hitting an "update" button to upload it. :D )

    Thanks for the tip.... :D
     
  18. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: :)

    lol for the past week i've had index.asp sat on my desktop..Links go down so quick I've mapped a drive to the webserver for that true drag & drop feel...notepad is just wicked for things like that! Its funny the reaction you get from non techies, when they see you using notepad on a website!
     
  19. PeakPerformance

    PeakPerformance New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to code things by hand and still do. But then again I don't hva to work on 200+ sites :cool: i tired dreamweaver MX and finally the html that it produces isn't full of all the bull. That was normally there so MX gets a 9 from me.
     
  20. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well dreamweaver never adds a little ad in the code, and I love editing a site's code in DW, cause its got line numbers, and color coding, etc.
     

Share This Page

visited