AGP Aperture Size comparison

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Asuka, Apr 10, 2003.

  1. Asuka

    Asuka BANNED

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. Sourcer_2002

    Sourcer_2002 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i run mine at 128
     
  3. Matth

    Matth Flash Banner Hater

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,560
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Interesting - with a 32Mb RAM card, the 3DMark2001 test "sweet spot" seems to be 128 - so with 128Mb on the card, it doesn't need to rely on using any ssytem memory for additional texture storage.

    Surprised it held up so well at 16Mb - going below 32 is usually said to disable some AGP features.

    Now here's a paradox for you - my motherboard supports a maximum of 768Mb RAM, but offers AGP aperture up to 2 Gb - when the usual recommendation is often half the system ram.
     
  4. dannyai

    dannyai New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have it at 128, and its the fastest out of all of them, unreal was like 20% faster when i set it to 128 and i've kept it at that ever since
     
  5. ErrorS

    ErrorS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nice.. but even if you get a high score you wont want a high arpeture size unless you have alot of ram. personally i prefer non-stuttering smoothness over high scores
     
  6. ND_BiTE_ME

    ND_BiTE_ME New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have not noticed any difference when I set it to one or the other.:hmm:
     
  7. BadReligionPR

    BadReligionPR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Set to 128 here. Gets crazy in games at 256.
     
  8. cykario

    cykario New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Set to 128 here too.
     
  9. D.D.

    D.D. New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have mine set at 128 mg.

    If i set it to 64, then things get screwy in NFS:HP2 (texture misplacement)
     
  10. BuRnInICE

    BuRnInICE New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for this, I have a 4400 with 128mb and 1gig ddr333 ram I've tried 64 and 128 but have never known which to choose for best results.
     
  11. SQUACHY

    SQUACHY I am GOD and you're all BS

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mines wierd.
    i set it to something (128 or 256)

    and 3dmark keeps saying i still dont have any more than 56mb of additional texture memory (not counting the 32mb of video card ram)

    So i can set something and it doesnt do squat....
     
  12. arjun

    arjun New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you are supposed to set it to 2x your on board memory
     
  13. BadReligionPR

    BadReligionPR New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That was when boards didn't have 128MB of onboard memory.
     
  14. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I run mine at 128 anything less slows me down
     
  15. JTSF

    JTSF New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No matter change that option to me. I run same tests with
    Radeon 8500le 64Mt
    512Mt sdram

    3dmarks varied less than 10marks.

    No word about sluttering or so.
     
  16. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matrox Parhelia users get a major speed boost with the Aperture set to 256 :)
     
  17. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    really? what kind of boosts?
     
  18. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    About 10-30% speed boost in the SPECPERF tests.
    I can personally vouch for 5-15% speed boost running UT2003 :)
     

Share This Page

visited