Almost every time I go to download something....

Discussion in 'Flame Warzone' started by HawgsHead, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. HawgsHead

    HawgsHead Rest In Peace

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my download includes the friggen yahoo toolbar,or this toolbar or that toolbar.Or AOL shit.I HATE AOL!It's for idiots!!!Lots of bullshit software I dont need or ask for.
     
  2. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is why there is a control panel, to uninstall the shit-ware
     
  3. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Not installing shit-ware at all is even better, that's how I do it - I'm trying to avoid shit-ware at all costs :)
     
  4. drivehard454

    drivehard454 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sucks, I have to do a shit-ware removal every time the wife gets of the thing. I feel your pain!
     
  5. Falstaff

    Falstaff Old Codger

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    20,553
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I will not allow excremental changes to my laptop...
    for I have spoken
     
  6. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes its unavoidable, like when your favorite program bundles pos software or when Yahoo Toolbar is automatically included with IE7.

    Yahoo toolbar is a piece of crap btw.
     
  7. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    The toolbar instalation is optional in most cases. At least I haven't encountered any program with forced toolbar installation yet. The last one I remember is Daemon tools where it was optional...
     
  8. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed, yahoo TB can kiss my ass.
    But I had the option of installing the yahoo toolbar or not when I installed IE7 - maybe because I make it a habit of choosing 'custom' installs ?? So I can pick a choose what and where things get installed.
    I only seen yahoos TB because I was asked to remove it for someone else - otherwise - Ive always been able to avoid installing it... AOL's extra crap when installing their IM being the exception.
     
  9. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did mine through microsoft update so I dunno. All I know is that when I used IE7 it was on there and I would have remembered if it gave me the option.
     
  10. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh - ok - I have auto-updates disabled as well - Id rather get em myself - again, so I can pick a choose. When SP1 came out - it broke many firewalls - so I guess that stuck in my head.
     
  11. riles9262

    riles9262 Driverheaven brewmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yahoooooooo toolbar rules. Fuck all you haters.
     
  12. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't like it, install Linux. Yahoo toolbar won't even work on that :)
     
  13. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True - but thats also true for SO many other apps I (Im sure others too) do find useful tho.
     
  14. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Name one app that you can't find an equivalent or better app for on Linux that's also free :p
     
  15. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,727
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Trophy Points:
    138
    avoid the "next" button auto clicking syndrom the 90% of the population is stuck on doing without even READING what the hell is going on.
     
  16. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Photoshop (the gimp sux btw) & Sonar (& video capture & Office) - Yes I tried the free unix 'equivalents' and found they were not equivalent at all.

    Then theres stability & ease of use - on top of advertised features that dont even put them in the same class IMO.

    Don't get me wrong, Im far from a M$ fanboy - but I tried *nix based on the many comments like yours and found it to not be true. I had no problems installing linux, except for some things like my video capture card, sound card, some other USB devices - and well - 'to live with out' stuff I purchased but not able to use in a 'free' environment was not acceptable for me. The money spent on Win apps I found to be worth it. I use these things for more than hobby btw. So maybe for a hobbiest to deal with the 'little' quirks are ok, its not for me, and equates to lost $$$$ in the long run.

    I DO wish the above was not true, but I wont lie to spite M$ either.
     
  17. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup - I see this ALL the time too - Id say more like 97% tho.
     
  18. >GSXR<mrbusa

    >GSXR<mrbusa MY BIKE vvv

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    48
    This is also the reason for allot of users getting infected with spyware and adware. When they are searching for there daily porn session on there brand new 3000.00 dell they start clicking everything that pops up and install all kinds of crap. I have had to clean and repair my brothers PC, I sold it to him and I won't do that again, so many times I lost track. I have been over there before because they said " it just seems slow for some reason..lol, and they had every toolbar and every search buddy crap known to man installed at one time. I can't talk them out of installing AOL, they say they like the easy access to all that crap.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2007
  19. HawgsHead

    HawgsHead Rest In Peace

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kinda like my 71 year old father in law....knows just enough about a computer to be dangerous.Every time is see his old rig{and I mean OLD!}the task bar has at least 10 things running at start-up.Old folks and computers mix like oil and water.
     
  20. xthecreep

    xthecreep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think,, and realy try to see my picture. Maybe you guys should go and wipe the SHIT-WARE of your faces. Then maybe you would be able to see, that its crap you are complaining about is the reason you get SHIT-REMARKS.
     

Share This Page

visited