AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta's

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by MIG-31, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,900
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    153
    A new AMD Catalyst version 12.11 beta 7 driver is now available for AMD/ATI graphics cards. The new beta adds CrossFire performance improvements for Call of Duty Black Ops 2, and word is: "This driver introduces significant performance improvements for many games across ALL 28nm AMD Radeon™ HD 7000 Series products: HD 7700, HD7800 and HD7900."
     
    CDsDontBurn likes this.
  2. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,573
    Likes Received:
    2,535
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Although I'm still using a HD 6950, I went ahead and installed this set. Just did complete getting things up and running.

    And, I had to go through "the whole shebang" of renaming the two .dll files (I've mentioned previously) in order to delete them from my system before I could get CCC up and running again after the install.

    Now....on to the games!!!
     
  3. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    138
    well these have been killing me I installed them yesterday rebooted and all seemed well Shut the PC down and that was that

    This morning I boot up and within a min had a frozen PC ... after about 10 reboots all ending in a frozen PC i wondered what had changed ... I rolled back to the 12.10s and have not had a lock up in 4 hours

    Not for me it seems
     
  4. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,573
    Likes Received:
    2,535
    Trophy Points:
    153
    This would be a good time to use the AMD Reporting Form....

    http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3EAC
     
  5. steves6403

    steves6403 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Did the same to me as Mr cairo !
     
  6. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I would but ...

     
  7. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,900
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    153
  8. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    138
  9. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,900
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The link must of diverted back for some reason... It were for the 12.11 beta's when I posted it. :hmm:
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  10. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    138

    No worries its done now :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2012
  11. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also there is now the 12.11 Beta 8 on the AMD website. I run a 6950 and just install over the previous beta and have not had any issue. Windows 8 Pro for my OS
     
  12. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,573
    Likes Received:
    2,535
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The Beta 8 Drivers have been shown to not be using the CAP/Profiles. AMD is working on this issue. So, I'm not recommending that these be used until the issue is resolved.

    I'm also still having problems when trying to install over the top of previous drivers in that CCC won't open. I have to completely uninstall and then delete all traces of the drivers and files before installing clean.

    Presently, with these Beta 8, my Presets don't work due to the aforementioned problem.
     
  13. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    ^^ So, you're still having the DLL file issue even in Win8? :confused:

    Something is definitely wrong somewhere.
     
  14. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I've had the "CCC won't open" issue the last FEW times I've updated Cat drivers, especially in Vista and Win7.

    An easy trick I use to fix it is to just re-install the driver over top of itself using the "custom install" option, but installing everything anyway.

    So far, that has worked for me every time.
     
  15. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,573
    Likes Received:
    2,535
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Who said anything about Windows 8? Not I....only Chaos mentioned he was using it.

    This for me is AMD 12.11 Beta 8 drivers installed on Windows 7 x64. :confused:
     
  16. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Ahhh!!!! My apologies. I thought you had Windows 8 Installed and you were still having that DLL file issue.
     
  17. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,336
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Just to update this , about a week ago I gave these drivers another go and within a minute of installing I had a Lockup so it appears that something about them is not working for me but yesterday I tried the AMD Catalyst 12.11 Beta 11 and 12.11 CAP2 and they appear to be working just fine with near on 30 hours now and no issues.

    sweet :)
     
  18. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    The latest Beta #11 also has improvements for Far Cry 3 in case anybody plays that. I tried the game but couldn't get its mouse controls to act well, so there was not much testing.
     

Share This Page

visited