AMD's FX-53

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Driver 7, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. Driver 7

    Driver 7 Discombobulated NVidiot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I was going to go and buy the FX-51, Mobo and ram this weekend but I just read a not to reliable message board about the FX-53 CPU that will run DDR 400 that AMD will be releasing this month. Can anyone confirm this?
     
  2. scobywhru

    scobywhru DriverHeaven Senile Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why not just hold out until the 939 socket comes out and not have to use the registered RAM

    But I have been hearing rumors about the FX-53 for a while but no release dates
     
  3. Driver 7

    Driver 7 Discombobulated NVidiot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Well thats what I had in mind especially since I just paid $700.oo for this stuff. But I did just get a brand new 1gb stick of Coarsair PC2700 ecc regestered given to me by a friend. I have heard regestered is suppost to be good but it dosent sound as KILLER as my PC4000 DDR500 TwinX Does.
     
  4. Sharkims

    Sharkims Seen my brain?

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Registered is actualy slower than non ECC.
     
  5. FluffyChicken

    FluffyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Registered is not the same as ECC ram btw....

    If you have 1GB+ of ram you should really start using registered RAM (but they are only just starting to make Registered/No-ECC available)
    Registered make it much more reliable. ECC is the error checking part (you have it in your L2Cache on AXP and I think Intel have their L1 cache ECC's ?)
     
  6. Driver 7

    Driver 7 Discombobulated NVidiot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    But you can get ecc regestered ram.
     
  7. FluffyChicken

    FluffyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Driver7, sorry I didn't mean you couldn't as that's pretty much all you can buy if you want registered ;)
     
  8. Driver 7

    Driver 7 Discombobulated NVidiot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    oH oK BECAUSE THATS WHAT i GOT.)
     
  9. FluffyChicken

    FluffyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw, check to see if the FX-51 will run DDR400. It will be unofficial as the DDR400, registered-ECC standard hasn't been decided yet (well a couple of weeks ago it wasn't anyway) That's the main reason it doesn't support it. If I come across anything i'll post it.
     
  10. Driver 7

    Driver 7 Discombobulated NVidiot

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I could not wait any longer
    I went and got the 64bit 3200
     
  11. chris285

    chris285 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its good isn't it ;)

    i'm gonna wait for the san diego's myself, gonna be worth it by the sounds of it
     

Share This Page

visited