any BIOS/SOFT mods to make a 9600 AIW 9700 or something

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by eXtermia, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. eXtermia

    eXtermia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just wondering I have seen soft mods for 9500-9700 etc was just wondering if there is an easy way to tell if my 9600 AIW has possible additional hidden capabilities
     
  2. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    im not certain but 9600's is not modifiable in either way so the aiw version won't be either.it's down to 9600's only have 4 pipelines only (no disabled ones) so theres no chance of unlocking the other four.
     
  3. Vampyromaniac

    Vampyromaniac confutatis maledictis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no, 9600 can't be modded
    moved
     
  4. bigirb2002

    bigirb2002 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes theres a softmod. take som soft cash an buy a 9700:D
     
  5. foxmulder

    foxmulder New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mod for Radeon 9600

    Not to sound rude but you are all wrong. There is a mod and overclocking utility for 9600 as I downloaded it and have it myself. I too wanted more speed and grunt from my 9600SE but it always told me that it was LOCKED and could not be changed. I scoured the net and found some tools, so I modded it. It used to run at Core 324.00mhz and Memory 202.50mhz which was a little slow for the games that I was playing. After playing around with it for a little while I eventually got the Core running smoothly at 396.00mhz and Memory at 219.60mhz. That is quite an increase in performance for a graphics card. It was both a speed increase and visual performance.

    The link for the control panel and display driver to unlock the card is:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/softmod/downloads.php

    The ATI Tool for modding and overclocking the card is as follows:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/downloads.php

    NOTE: This mod will not work on a regular ATI driver. You need the modded driver to unlock it before it will work.

    Any more info or instructions just email me.
    fmdswash@tpg.com.au

    Happy overclocking people and good luck.
     
  6. me972

    me972 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    well foxmulder not to sound rude or anything :) thats not exactly what he ment. overclocking crack is not softmod he was asking if there was a way to enable some extra 4 graphics pipe lines.... and thats why ALL the guys told him that he couldn't. cause the 9600's have been built with 4 pipes only.

    this is the meaning of a softmod.. :) sorry about that. :D
     
  7. foxmulder

    foxmulder New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry - Big Misunderstanding

    Sorry boys, it was just me who misunderstood. Sorry. I hold my head down in shame. :(
     

Share This Page

visited