Anyone use C# and recommend books?

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Sojourner, Sep 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sojourner

Sojourner New Member

Hello all,

I'm new to C#, and have spent the last few days fiddling with Visual C# Studio Express 2005. I've learned a little programming in the past - took a FORTRAN class last year at college, though procedural medium-level languages and high-level visual languages are obviously very (very) different. I'd like to think I've learned some good practices - our tutor learned to program on PDP-8s, so he's very much like "Remember to deallocate that array space, memory isn't free you know!". I'm liking the explicitness of C#, all the variable types are very clear and unambiguous; I wouldn't be worried about misusing these...

...Ahem. So yes, my question is: Recommend a C# book with lots of example assignments for someone of my level.

2. UberLord

UberLord A Legend in Underwear

O'Reilly has made some good C# books

3. Sojourner

Sojourner New Member

O'RLY?

Sorry. Had to be done.

I went and bought the '...for Dummies' book yesterday. It's quite a gentle introduction to the nuts and bolts of the C# language - not much on how to manipulate Visual Studio yet. I understood the principles of programming languages like this one beforehand, so it's nice to be able to read through at a fair pace and pay full attention to the whys and wherefores rather than trying to understand what's actually going on. It's also cleared up a few general programming topics that I was fuzzy on, like number precision and various conventions for writing clear and legible code.

Transk53 likes this.
  4. lingmaaki

lingmaaki New Member

lot of online materials available.. codeproject.com , chsarp.net-informations.com , java2s.com

ling.

5. MIG-31

MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member