Artifacts at stock!!!

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Sandok, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Woah, I just found out that my ASUS X800XT/TVD artifacts at stock speeds! What do I do?! I don't wanna void my warranty either though!!!
     
  2. quakerjtf

    quakerjtf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What program did you use to determine this, or were they bad enough to notice?
     
  3. SexPistoL

    SexPistoL New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey sandok,
    have you checked the following;
    1. the card is seated correctly and not been disturbed
    2. the heatsink is seated correctly
    3. the fan is working correctly properly
     
  4. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    take some screenies to show us how bad they are. that is a bad card though. exchange or RMA should be done.
     
  5. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Might also be driver relate, so I would suggest trying a different set.

    As CDs mentioned though, that sounds like a bad card, and an RMA might be the only option to you.
     
  6. Zorg

    Zorg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have exactly the same problem with my 9600 Pro! Fortunately only in 640x480 3D mode. For me it's a driver issue since forcing AA makes the problem disappear (for me). However, we all know Ati give a sh*t fixing drivers for older cards.

     
  7. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    As far as I know, all radeons down to the 7x00 series are supported by the Catalyst drivers right? And why would you run a game at such a low resolution?
     
  8. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, I used ATI Tool to determine if I had artifacts or not...

    I've never noticed it ever yet in game...

    And here are the temps.

    2005-07-02 23:12:43 Temperature: GPU: 83.3°C GPU environment: 61.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:44 Temperature: GPU: 82.9°C GPU environment: 62.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:45 Temperature: GPU: 82.9°C GPU environment: 62.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:46 Temperature: GPU: 83.0°C GPU environment: 62.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:46 Artifacts detected after 05:13.92. 3 pixels don't match.
    2005-07-02 23:12:47 Last message repeated 134 times.
    2005-07-02 23:12:47 Temperature: GPU: 82.8°C GPU environment: 62.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:47 Artifacts detected after 05:14.45. 3 pixels don't match.
    2005-07-02 23:12:48 Last message repeated 115 times.
    2005-07-02 23:12:48 Temperature: GPU: 82.8°C GPU environment: 61.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:49 Temperature: GPU: 82.9°C GPU environment: 61.0°C
    2005-07-02 23:12:50 Temperature: GPU: 83.0°C GPU environment: 62.0°C

    I've checked if it's well bolted on and it is and the thing is, I read reviews that the card in question is very bad at cooling (actually worse than the stock cooler..) so there... It's nothing bad but the temps are high and I wanna take them dwon without haveing to install the a 3rd party cooler (like an ATI Silencer)
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2005
  9. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'd be returning that card straight away!
     
  10. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2005
  11. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    123
    83C? WTF? At idle you should be around 40C, and load at most 50-60C. But 83C?

    The one thing I've noticed sometimes is that the shim ATI uses around the GPU to help keep it from being crushed by the heatsink/fan can actually be HIGHER than the GPU itself. When this happens there is improper contact being made between the heatsink and GPU.. sometimes none. To overcome this problem they slap a crap load of thermal paste to even it out. One way to find out if this is the case is to clean off the original paste, and place a small amount on the shim and GPU. Place the heatsink back on, then remove it, and take a look at the marks the paste leaves on the heatsink. If there is none in the centre then your not making contact with the GPU. How to fix that though is a rather complex matter, and it is just better to RMA the card.

    Of mention, if the card isn't properly handling the incoming power being fed to it, or that one of the resistors/capacitors have failed then the card could be receiving too much voltage, and in a sense it is being overclocked. Again, the only way to fix this is to RMA the card as sooner or later the card will fail.

    I know that's not what you wanted to hear, but you may need to RMA it.. especially if you plan to keep that card for a while.

    Edit: BTW - Default clock rate should be 500GPU/500RAM for the X800XT. What has me puzzled is that Asus uses almost the identical cooler for their card that ATI does, so I'm wondering why such as huge temp increase? Even with overclocking it should get that high (60C at most during load).
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2005
  12. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Transistor wise, it seems fine... But you know what? When I touched the cooler, it wasn't that warm at all... Seriously, it was slightly warm to the touch and suprised me since the core was at 60 at that moment... I think I'll try and see if I can get this working otherwise, RMA.. :(
     
  13. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    if the cooler isn't making enough contact with the GPU and/or RAMDACs, a quick and easy way to test it is by squeezing the cooler and video board together for a minute or so. If the temps go down, then there isn't enough contact between the two.
     
  14. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay that didn't change anything :(

    Some good news! If the fan goes all the way to 100%, then the GPU goes from 83 to 68 but damn it's loud :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2005
  15. Zorg

    Zorg New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hiya,
    There are still 3D games out there with a fixed 640x480 resolution like:
    Rosso Rabit
    Santa Clause ..again and some other.
    U just can't set any resolution here.

    Same for Futurmark Benchmarks where a few tests switch into this lower resolution like the CPU Tests (3DMark03/05). These tests look plain horrible on my video card with artifacts as large as my wallet. This was my very first Ati experience and I am not impressed by such a customer service performance.
     
  16. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, tomorrow I'm buying a ATI Silencer 4 and installing it but I'll keep this cooler just in case I ever need it ;) Hopefully, that'll be the end of my probs. If I still get problems, it's most probably a vid card error and I WILL rma it... God damn it!
     
  17. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    UPDATE:

    Okay, I've been searching all over the internet and it just seems that this cooler is total bullocks. On 100% fan, the temps are very acceptable but if it stays dynamic, it's just too damn puny and doesn't cool.

    So a 3rd party cooler is in demand. I got two choices. The ATI Silencer 4 or the Zalman Cu VGA cooler. So, both cool well from what I've read but is it true that the Silencer has a nasty clicking noise? That might be a turn off...
     
  18. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    @ Zorg: the CPU tests in 3Dmark03/05 go down to that resolution, but are not GPU dependent, they are entirley CPU dependent. Hence "CPU Test". The GPU is only there just to show you what's going on and is working pretty much at idle specs.

    the silencer does not click. I have owned my silencer for almost a year now, and it has not clicked on me at all.
     
  19. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well then, tomorrow, 20$ down the drain and I pick up the Silencer 4 and hopefully (I cross my fingers) I won't have probs...

    Oh and is true that artifacts appear from the memory and if the GPU gets too hot, it automatically shuts down?
     
  20. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    that depends. there's a wide range of possibilities that could happen if your video card overheats.
     

Share This Page

visited