Athlon64 Boards Found Lagging in Memory Support

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Asmoday, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    We put all of our previously-tested Athlon64 mobos, in addition to new boards from Abit and Soyo, to memory-performance tests to see how they accomodated different memory modules from Corsair, Infineon and TakeMS. The results were nothing to write home about.

    Source : Tom's Hardware Guide
     
  2. HawK

    HawK Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So.. and this proofs what?
    AMD64 not runnin memory any faster, then a 32 bit proc. on a 32bit OS?.
    Am i missing something here, other than a obvious Pro Intel article? please inform me here:confused:
     
  3. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HawK

    in what way is it pro intel article? no intel equipment is used or even mentioned as far as i can tell. imo tom generally bashes intel, & favors amd.
    nice sig bty.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2004
  4. XSwiftX

    XSwiftX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tom bash intel and favor amd?

    muuhahahahahaa

    I've heard it all now........

    :D
     
  5. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    However, adding or swapping modules from different vendors generated poor results.

    Duh NO SHIT!!! Who mixes ram like this anyway? Hmm single memory controller...hmmm :duh:
     
  6. tenndevil

    tenndevil Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well considering Intell hasn't even lept into this portion of the consumer market, because "we aren't ready", how could it not be their usual bash AMD pro Intell, this just screams that because of memory problems you are wasteing your money because of the way the AMD amd motherboards don't use the memory correctly, it is another attempt at them saying intell was right we aren't ready for a 64bit system. No where in the article did they say that in between memory switch overs did they clear the CMOS properly and start over. Another pro Intell anti AMD report from these people.
     

Share This Page

visited