Audigy 1 Gamer Squeal Lockup

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Renegade, Dec 15, 2002.

  1. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hmm interesting...

    I've seen quite a few Dells systems with meager power supplies in them. Renegade you might want to check the wattage on your supply.
     
  2. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok thanks, heh... how would i go about doing this? i have no idea how to increase the power supply...
     
  3. ajm786

    ajm786 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You gotta buy a new one... :hmm:
     
  4. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Check around your PS for a label and see what the wattage is on it. A friend of mine only had a 200 Watt. in her's. I was quite appalled.
     
  5. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i will look and see what i can find...
     
  6. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok after talking with my uncle he explained some of the power things to me, based on how wall outlets work etc... i then checked the system specs in the manual dell sent with the system and it is indeed 200W :/

    so rather then dump money into another sound card, i will first buy a new power supply... do you have any recommendations on which one i should look for? or something specific feature wise that it needs to include?
     
  7. DallasStar

    DallasStar Junior

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recommend an Antec, Enermax, or Sparkle. Preferrably 400 watts. 350 should be the bare minimum.

    http://www.newegg.com/app/manufactory.asp?catalog=58&DEPA=1
     
  8. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, is this something i am going to have to order or is it something i can find at best buy or ciruct city?
     
  9. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    You may not be able to just go out and purchase just any power supply. Dell sometimes uses specially keyed atx connectors so you have to use a power supply that has the same pin layout. I would recommend you borrow a PS off a friend and try it first. If that works than you can pick up whatever you want. However, if it does not PC & Power Cooling does sell special supplies for Dell systems.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2002
  10. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    fd

    If you stick an ATX power supply in a Dell ATX connector, you WILL kill your motherboard. Replace your motherboard AND PSU, THAT is your best bet.
     
  11. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't have the money to get a new mother board... right now all i can afford is a power supply, so if that ATX one will kill my mother board, how do i know which one to get?

    i have also seen on that link posted most of them say for such and such processor... so are these power supplies processor specific? i keep seeing ones for p4 and i have a p3 :/
     
  12. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i need more help :/

    i talked with some computer techs and they got me the right power supply, i went home to hook it up, got it hooked up and when i flipped it on and plugged it in, it makes a high pictched noise and the computer won't start... put in the old power supply and it works just fine... but all the plugs match, except on the new power supply it has a 4 prong plug that is in a sqaure shape i noticed, and does not go to anything... i plan on taking it back to the store when it opens tomorow, but does anyone have any advice that could help me? thanks...
     
  13. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    The square plug is for a P4 motherboard.
     

Share This Page

visited