Audigy 2 and call of duty EAX

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by lewis_johnstone, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. lewis_johnstone

    lewis_johnstone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    I have been playing some Call of Duty : United Offensive and i have been getting some noticeable slowdown during intense battle scene's when enabling EAX or even worse with EAX 3.

    I play in 1280x1024,x4 AA + x8 AF

    According to this guy on guru3d.com i shouldnt be gettin noticeable slowdown with an Audigy 2 sound card?

    Something about IRQ conflicts?

    I thought that would just cos sound pop's/crackels, not peformance reductions

    [It does seem a bit pointless having an audigy 2 and not using high quality sound]
     
  2. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's normal to loose a few fps with eax enabled. Could you tell us some numbers please, how big is the difference of frames with eax enabled?
     
  3. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It should load the CPU a bit more, so try compensating by lowering the model detail level in the game. IRQ's can't be the problem. Driver and game patches could be a factor.
     
  4. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    EAX is supposed to be a hardware process so it shouldn't affect the CPU too much, but i don't know how CL have it worked out
     
  5. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I Think I can answer for the original poster. It's about 50%. At least....
     
  6. zamac_man

    zamac_man New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have problems with eax. Most games are not affected like this. I will try to post some numbers


    edit, I cant even get eax on, let me work with it:duh:

    with eax
    Frames Time (ms) Min Max Avg
    4338 90000 9 61 48.2
    without
    Frames Time (ms) Min Max Avg
    4897 90000 28 61 54.411













    This is a 2.4c, 512mb ram and radeon 9500 pro. I know this is not the best specs but this is not one of the newer games either. I have also heard of someone using a amd 64 3200 with the same problem. I will try turning down the settings

    low settings 800x600 with eax
    Frames Time (ms) Min Max Avg
    4561 90000 10 62 50.678
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005
  7. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @zamac_man: your results are normal, nothing to worry about - you can loose up to 10fps using eax
     
  8. talbot3

    talbot3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JohnMclaine look closer at his results. First it becomes obvious that his max FPS is limited to 61. Next look at the minimum frame rate in both instances. With EAX it drops as low as 9, this is unplayable. Without EAX, the low is a healthy 28, very playable depending on individual standards. So this is not just a 10 frame drop, although the average between the two can be deceiving. EAX drops the minimum frame rate(arguably the most important) by 68 percent. This is a major problem.
     
  9. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. zamac_man

    zamac_man New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. lewis_johnstone

    lewis_johnstone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also,

    On the volcano level in Far Cry, it runs fine (very demanding level, couldnt take any more fps drops)

    I turn on EAX and it goes into a slideshow almost...

    Whats the point in all this EAX if the sound card aint doing all the work for u?
     
  12. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EAX works when done right...some games just implement it poorly.
     
  13. lewis_johnstone

    lewis_johnstone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So which games are those then?
     

Share This Page

visited