Audio CD rip software?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by Trusteft, Oct 23, 2019.

  1. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,536
    Likes Received:
    2,592
    Trophy Points:
    153
    For those of you who still use CDs, ripping them etc. What software do you suggest to rip them in FLAC?

    I am planning on re ripping everything I have in FLAC as many of my rips go back decades.

    Preferably free.
    For Windows or at least macOS.
     
  2. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10,835
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Foobar. I find it not very intuitive so I use it very rarely, but it has the right feature set: it's has ripping and FLAC transcoding capabilities and it's got decent metadata manipulation capabilities.
     
  3. QB71

    QB71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Exact Audio Copy (EAC)... Once setup it will produce flawless rips

    QB
     
  4. niceguyrichy

    niceguyrichy c c c COFFEE

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,548
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I use Ashampoo Music Studio
    does everything pretty well
     
  5. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,980
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Trophy Points:
    138
    just fire up Windows media player and configure it for whatever format you wish, mp3... set it to the desired bitrate.... let it go.
     
    Dyre Straits likes this.
  6. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,426
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Trophy Points:
    123
    That's assuming he has Windows Media Play 12 though. And you still need to get the Media Player FLAC codec.
     
  7. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,230
    Likes Received:
    2,112
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I have been using Media Player myself. But, I also had to adjust a setting to stop getting clicks at the end of each track. I mentioned that elsewhere. Since then, I've done quite a few more. I edit them, if needed, in the free Audacity app.
     
  8. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,980
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Trophy Points:
    138
    what pc doesn't have windows media player 12 these days.... if you've got windows 10... it's right there, which included flac codec for encoding on a clean install of windows 10.
     
  9. QB71

    QB71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    53
    My PC doesn't have media player 12... or any version for that matter in the past 15ish years :)

    QB
     
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,980
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Single language or N version?
     
  11. QB71

    QB71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    53
    Windows 10 Pro... it's easy enough to remove. And if I remember correctly (I cannot remember if or when I did a fresh install) it's never been part of my Windows 10, since I did an upgrade from 8.1 and I had removed it there... but I could also be wrong and that I did remove it at some point in the distant past :p

    QB
     
  12. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,980
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I just completed a windows 10 pro install and it was certainly there... as part of my setup process for a customer is loading WMP and configuring it prior to installing VLC.
     
  13. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,536
    Likes Received:
    2,592
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I don't have Windows 10.

    I have WMP 12, though I never thought about it being able to export/transcode into flac.
    Thank you all for your suggestions.
    It looks like my external blueray drive has issues, or my last remaining proper laptop has issues with providing enough power to it. Either way the drive whenever I put a disc in it other than a DVD, keeps losing connection with the laptop.
    I should have an external DVDRW drive somewhere, if I can find it I will try it too.
    I downloaded and installed foobar2000 as I remember using foobar before (like 15 years ago or something).
     
    Dyre Straits likes this.
  14. Calliers

    Calliers Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    52,211
    Likes Received:
    3,599
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I use iTunes, though if you don't use iTunes the service at all I wouldn't recommend it. It locks certain discs depending on the disc and they are not even available through iTunes on your player, the only way around this is to actually copy the music to your player and have it available on it locally. Which kind of defeats the purpose of the cloud and having your ripped music uploaded and then just streaming your music.
     
  15. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Hey. Hey! Hey!!

    CDsDontBurn!

    :D:D:D
     
    Calliers, IvanV and Trusteft like this.
  16. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,536
    Likes Received:
    2,592
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Apparently there was an issue with the cable. I bought a new one and remembered to throw the damaged one away.
    I used foobar2000. The GUI could use some changes, but it works fine.
    Thank you all.
     
    Calliers likes this.

Share This Page

visited