Basic RadLinker Guide

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by TwistedMetal, Feb 16, 2004.

  1. crlorentzen

    crlorentzen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    has anyone else noticed that the version number on the about page has not been bumped? Just wondering if it is only me.
     
  2. ChrisW

    ChrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Arraso

    Arraso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RadLinker don't works with Cat 5.5?

    Here in my rig I installed Radlinker but nothing happens. No menu, no program...
     
  4. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Works with Cat 5.5 here on a R9800pro. Try rebooting, uninstalling RadLinker and installing again. Or if you used some modified driver package before installing Catalyst 5.5 then perhaps running DriverCleaner could take care of an eventual conflict.
     
  5. Arraso

    Arraso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I already do that and even so RadLinker is not installed with success here.

    When finishing the installation, seemingly it is everything OK. The program appears in the menu Add/Remove Programs. But it is not integrated into the shell, in Windows. Therefore, I cannot access it.

    omfg :(

    ATI Tray Tools sux...
     
  6. ChrisW

    ChrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it worked before uninstalling the drivers, it should work after uninstalling it too. Try uninstalling RadLinker, reboot, then reinstall it. Are you installing a different version? What graphics card do you have installed?
     
  7. oj213

    oj213 L.A Pimpin!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What should Z Buffer Depth be set to under DirectX? :confused:
     
  8. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Chris,

    Sorry you aren't going to be updating RadLinker anymore (Read on Omegadrive's site). I like it a lot better than ATI TrayTools.
     
  9. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    same here
    i didnt like it at first, but once i found out how useful it is. well im sorry to see it go :(
    hehe i might not like radclocker, but radlinker is a thing of beauty.
     
  10. ChrisW

    ChrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may or may not update RadLinker in the future. I'm pretty burned out right now and it seems nobody is interested in a tweaker that does not run in the background and eat up resources anymore. I spent a lot of time writing a new 64 bit version and only got one response, so I think now is probably a good time to stop. No point in writing software just for myself.
     
  11. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i had a moment of silence and smoked a pipe to memories of radlinker, it was a good one and hopefully will be in the future.
     
  12. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope you do. Tray Tools might have more settings, but I have no clue what half of the do, and I HATE things that run in the background. Your little tweaker is HANDS DOWN the easiest way to make different profiles for each game. Your software was half the reason I liked Oega's drivers so much. I guarantee I will be using your last version until it just won't work any more.
    BTW:
    I've noticed that if I have the control panel set to application preference for AA, and then set 4x AA in the radlinked game shortcut, the game does not use any AA unless I change the game resolution to something other than the desktop resolution. If I set 4x AA in the control panel, and set 4xAA in the game exe, it works in the desktop resolution. However, if I set app pref in the game exe (with radlinker), it still uses 4x AA. So it seems like the control panel over-rides Radlinker if you play the game in the same res as the desktop. This only seems to have happened in the last few driver sets (maybe since the 5.xx drivers).

    Thanks for the great utility Chris, hope it continues. Maybe there wasn't much response for the 64 bit version because a lot of people haven't switched over yet.
     
  13. swatX

    swatX ba|\|\|ed

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey chrisW maybe you can make a program thats like simillar to nHancer? you know a seprate profiling system for ATI which can include some of the settings that directX tweaker has?
     
  14. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Check the "Mode Change" box in the 3D tab of the game profile.

    Exactly. I would have jumped on testing any version of it if only I could. On top of that some who do have WinXP x64 might keep gaming on regular WinXP for a while.
     
  15. Flatline

    Flatline New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Radlinker's the best and easiest tweaker out there, and I hate having 10 billion things loading into the system tray. It's a shame that you wont be developing it any longer... but as for the weak response re: Xp x64 well, you are looking at a tiny subset of people who actually use that OS, and then a subset of THEM who are using ATI cards, a subset of them who use Xp64 for gaming, and then a subset of THEM who actually read this forum... I'm not surprised you got few responses.

    Anyway, I hope Radlinker continues to work for new driver versions. If not, any chance of going open source to let someone else continue to work on it?
     
  16. ixfazed

    ixfazed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Chris,

    If your still looking for beta testers for x64 RadLinker hit me up, I'm very eager. The current one works pretty well, with the exception for the Battlefield 2 executable. Explorer would crash repeatedly, although I did find a ghetto workaround.

    I've decided to make Windows x64 my only OS. It has been running for nearly 2 months almost flawlessly. And I used RadLinker for every game. Tried ATI Tray Tools one day, and it was chuck full of features that I would not use and did not want to dedicate a spot of my systray to it. It was uninstalled less than an hour.

    If your still interested in your project (of which I loved so much in x86), I can give you webhosting too (www.r-x2.net) so you can get off that Brinkster garbage. If your interested at all, hit me up on aim (ixfazed) or email (ixfazed@gmail.com) or here.

    Mike
     
  17. oj213

    oj213 L.A Pimpin!

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wanted to post that I appreciate all the hard work u have put into Radlinker. It's by far the easiest tweaker I have used on my ATI card and makes gaming so much easier with custom profiles (Something ATI themselves cant get right). I hope u realize alot of people love and enjoy your work so much and u continue updating Radlinker. [​IMG]:):eek:
     
  18. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    if you want to try radlinker x64 scroll up the download link is in post 202
     
  19. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why doesn't Radlinker (changing AA settings) work with Battlefield 2?
     

Share This Page

visited