Blocky Shadows Issue

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Sanafabich, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Game-developer related problem. Not driver sided. I don't know why you guys keeps on drilling ATI about this. I already explained why this is happening in the NFSMW thread.
     
  2. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your explanation really makes no sense, considering some people get well-defined shadows
     
  3. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well.... so much for the shadow fix... cats 6.2 completely ignored it
     
  4. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is BS! This afternoon I installed the full game, and the first time I played, shadows looked great. I just played for the second time, and now shadows look all crappy!!!! WTF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! same thing than RS:lockdown
     
  5. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :rolleyes:
    Your ignorance will get you nowhere.
    I told you guys. Spyre is 99.99999999% right.
    It's not a driver issue. The engine(s) don't support softshadows (BF2) and do not apply them to all computers (NFSMW).
     
  6. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well if it help my shadows looked poor just like yours before I turned
    up my ingame settings wich defaulted by the game to a rather low setting.

    Also the problem you speak of in other games like for example BF2 is a
    prppriatary "nvidia only" way of doing shadows. Turn off dynmic shadows
    and you shadows a 100% perfict. They where even screwed up on nvidia
    card but they realesed a specail beta with the game and fixed the issue later.
    After all it a ment to be played optumized for nvidia cards game. So is far cry
    and "need for speed" in genaral though I don't see the logo on that paticular
    games site the devloper is in bed wih NV anyways.... So on those titles people
    have made refernce I'd take with a grain of salt...
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2006
  7. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :( you're probably right about that. But it really gets on my nerves, I don't understand why always the first time I play one of these games, they look fine, but then the second time and on, they develop this problem.
    errrrr, if this game doesn't support soft shadows, then what is it that's not applying??????????????? Please explain to me how is it possible that sometimes it works, and then it gets screwed up.

    and what's with the reflection? is it supposed to look this bad?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2006
  8. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is not applying is exactly "soft shadows." It is more or less shadows with more samples (as I posted before, with examples) during the rendering.
    I uninstalled NFSMW (because RBR owns it), so I cannot cross-check this in my copy. However, I do believe it should not look like that.

    The reflections have a low amount of samples (again), so it does not looks "pixelized." Is it an ATI problem?
    Probably not.
     
  9. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RBR??? is it any good?
     
  10. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can try the demo. It's all rally racing, and if you don't have an analog device (eg. Joystick, Gamepad with those damn tiny pots, Wheel), don't attempt to play it. You'll just get frustrated on why can't you take this corner at flat out speed... or why does one hit to the tree gets your car busted. If you do want to play it, and don't have a wheel, get a force feedback one. The suspension geometry is computed real-time and gets fed into the force feedback, so every bump can be felt!
     
  11. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love RBR though must say, feels "floaty"... My car weighs nothing :(
     
  12. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What device you use?
    And the default setups have flaws in them.

    There was a thread last year on RSC about RBR being floaty. There was a hell of a lot of rattle about RBR's physics engine and it's accuracy. The conclusion was RBR's correct.

    If you drive on Tarmac stages, your car is not a bit floaty.

    *very short bit of me driving on Bisanne. Same video as the one on the artifacts thread I made, so there are these wierd polygonal shaped crap. Ignore them.
     
  13. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll try that game. Anyways, I'm still pretty pissed about this issue. Shadows should look fine!
     
  14. Spyre

    Spyre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Stop bumping a thread about something thats NOT a driver issue.
     
  15. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so what's the reason, according to you?
     
  16. Spyre

    Spyre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nvidias shadows are just as blocky in the games except they are slightly rounded due to the shadow buffer thats propritary tech of Nvidia that these games make use of.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2006
  17. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    then explain this to me. How come the first time I played NFSMW and R6LD shadows looked just fine, but from then on every time I executed the game, shadows looked blocky...
     
  18. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and again... Dynasty Warriors 4 Hyper... the game has a "live" intro using the same engine used during gameplay. In this intro, dynamic shadows look great... but if you start a new game... shadows look blocky... WTF!
     
  19. Rasta Monsta

    Rasta Monsta Just an Average Joe...

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now, now, let's behave. We can disagree without using such unpleasant tones, yes?

    rasta

    P.S. Sanafabich. . .did you contact ATi about this? Fill out a support ticket?
     
  20. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sure did... same "copy/paste" answer we get every time we send a ticket.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited