Blocky Shadows Issue

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Sanafabich, Jan 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. daedal

    daedal Uber Coffee Drinker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man that thread was full of crap advice. Anyhow, I'm still experiencing the glitch/bug/restriction. I'm still hoping to see this fixed soon. I find it especially annoying in Battlefield 2 and NFS:MW. Really takes away some of the 'umph' factor.
     
  2. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    apparently ATi nor EA are interest in fixing this.
     
  3. Ib Al-Musaheb

    Ib Al-Musaheb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not interested in getting fixed this blocky shadow issue any more.

    I've finally turned off the Dynamic Shadows in Battlefield 2 option menu and apparently got out some more fps but logically don't have any shadows any more ... well, better than staring at ugly graphic effects. :bleh:


    Thanx anyway, EA and Nvidia! :annoyed:
     
  4. Sanafabich

    Sanafabich BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another game with the problem. It was actually in this game the first time I saw this problem.
    Prince of Persia: Warrior Within. Problem appears only during cut scenes
    [​IMG]
     
  5. tech.Me

    tech.Me New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is a "problem" because (I said this before. Since I'm nice, I'm gonna say it again) the developers decided current-gen computers cannot calculate enough samples for the shadows quick enough to offer a smooth, enjoyable gameplay.

    As for games like NFS:MW, where is "appears" to be soft in some cases, it's because the shadows are blurred. Accuracy of the rendered shadow will be significantly lowered when the shadows are blurred.

    [edit]
    If you don't know what samples are, just think of it like resolution. The more samples there is to render a shadow, the smoother it will be. Not all the time will it be more accurate though.
     
  6. Spyre

    Spyre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm closing this thread since its not a display driver issue.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited