Broke 13k on first run

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by dipstick, Sep 8, 2002.

  1. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the first run of the card(R9700) and already I'm over 13k in 3dMark. But I have noticed that this card is not really meant to run at defaults. You have to turn on FSAA and anisto to see what this thing can really do. Will run some benches at higher rez and see what happens :)

    http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4411269
     
  2. Sourcer_2002

    Sourcer_2002 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sweet man go for it maybe you'll beat Zardons score. Keep us posted.
     
  3. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you don't mind me asking, what did Zardon get? Is there a compare link that he has posted somewhere? Thanks :)
    Just wanna know what people get ;)
     
  4. Sourcer_2002

    Sourcer_2002 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    umm just find a post he started and i think its in his sig,
     
  5. Sourcer_2002

    Sourcer_2002 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mystic Rig 3dmark2001 12,695 (29.80s) Click HERE to see The Mystic Rig ... thats from Zardons Sig but im pretty sure a little while ago he oc'ed and while the whole 3dmark mess with forged benches i dont the searchs have been disabled but im sure if u asked he would tell ya
     
  6. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool, thanks. Don't wanna bother him for something like this. Just wanted to get an idea of where I stand :D
     
  7. Sourcer_2002

    Sourcer_2002 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no prob i dont know if u can search at Madonion but u might wanna try that
     
  8. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's a good idea. Thanks :)
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Yeah, thats with Zardon's GF4 Ti4600 though...wait until he gets his 9700 :eek:
     
  10. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:


    I know that but it still feels good being on the top of the mountain even if it is for only afew days. I've seen 19k so I know my score is nothing, but I'm also not going to OC this thing just to get there. Absolutely no need at the moment :p ;)
    I do wanna see what he gets though :)
     
  11. peroni

    peroni New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Congratulations! You're the fastest DH'ers :cool:

    Now let's see if there somebody out there able to outscore you.
    Surely not me with my 7200 marks :tears:
     
  12. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    thats a mighty fine score you got, 13k is sweet.


    I broke 13k recently with my 4600, 13,210 to be exact at 330 core and 770mhz ram with the 2100+ XP athlon at 1.95ghz, 1.9 core, but I certainly wouldnt like to keep pushing the GPU at that speed on a continual basis, as I was seeing the odd graphical glitch. so for normal use I run it at 310 core and 740mhz ram. Most games I have run at 1280x1024 8 aniso really smooth. benching is just for fun, I certainly am not a hard core overclocker who likes to fry hardware, just to get another 2 fps.

    I recently ordered a 9700 ATI board and I should get it mid week, unfortunate thing is I see the 9700 doesnt like to be paired with my mobo, the ABIT KR7A raid (which is unfortunate as I really love this motherboard for performance and stability). Perhaps my massive 550w power supply might help. ill find out soon enough :uhoh:

    Problem details here.
    http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33634436
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?threadid=208935

    So just in case The abit KR7A raid doesnt work I just ordered a msi kt3 333 ultra 2 raid board (I need raid as I have 4 IDE drives, 2 cd writers and a DVD drive). ive been thinking of building another system soon anyway for my kid brother, so it wont be wasted if the abit KR7a raid works with the 9700.
     
  13. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, that's a crazy score for a Ti4600. Too bad you couldn't use your mobo with your new R9700. I seen that thread at Rage3d and felt so bad for everyone since they haven't found a solution. The only problem I had was with my PSU. I tried 4 of them and none could cut it. I had to fork out another $130 for an Antec 550w, which was the only one that worked with the blood sucker. If anyone wants to know I used a Sparkle 300w, TurboLink 420w(stay away from these) and an Enermax 431w and all would random reboot while playing games. Oh well, enough of my misery, I hope you're enjoying your new card Zardon and I can't wait to see your top score :D
     
  14. DarkFoss

    DarkFoss New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. T2k

    T2k Guest

    Hmmm... mine was over 12k... check my sig... :cool:

    BTW, I have another 9700 in the office, first run was a little bit less than 15k... (P4 2.26@2.8, Abit SR7-8x)
     
  16. KraXed112

    KraXed112 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does ur score from fresh install to after all ur programs and settings and stuff... end up decreasing or raised?

    i'm gonna be doing a reformat in a lil bit just for benchmarking purposes... then put in omega's drivers ( do they even work with 3dmark? ) and dx9 rc2

    considering u ran ur bench a while ago.. i can't really compare =P
     
  17. Dane Sabbath

    Dane Sabbath ***** Viking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No OCs? Topped at 13k? Strange...

    Click my sig for ~15k WITHOUT overclocking.

    Read my sig for why.
     
  18. megatron

    megatron New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5315387

    My System
    Compared System


    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP
    Microsoft Windows XP

    DirectX Version
    8.1
    9.0



    Mobo Manufacturer MSI MS-6585

    Mobo Model nVidia-nForce

    AGP Rates
    (Current/Available)
    8x / 4x 8x
    8x / 4x 8x



    CPU AMD Athlon(tm) XP/MP/4 1804 MHz
    Intel Pentium 4 2546 MHz

    FSB
    164 MHz
    133 MHz

    Memory
    512 MB
    256 MB

    Graphics Chipset
    ATI RADEON 9700/PRO
    ATI RADEON 9700/PRO

    Driver Name
    RADEON 9700/9500 SERIES
    RADEON 9700/9500 SERIES

    Driver Version
    6.13.10.6218
    6.13.10.6228

    Video Memory
    128 MB
    128 MB

    I get 13750 3dmarks. I find having a higher FSB mostly improves score. It must all be down to a faster processor that you get nearly 2k more than me. I bought my chip as a replacement budget overclocker.
     
  19. Dane Sabbath

    Dane Sabbath ***** Viking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dunno why but DX9 RC2 + 6228s REALLY bumps my Game 4 (Nature) scores up. It's not an ALWAYS thing either. Strangely, I can watch Game 1 (High Detail) and watch for the truck to make the first turn and skid into the camera. If at this point the FPS in Game 1 (HD)bottoms out at 48 I will get ~108-112 FPS in NATURE (Game 4), if the FPS in Game 1 (HD) bottoms out at 50+ I will achieve ~112-116 FPS in NATURE (Game 4).

    Just an observation. Saves me some time occasionally.

    PS I have unpublished tests that reach up to 16,648 @ 142(.95) FSB, for your personal comparison. (Publishing them tips my hand to my friends. I like to surprise them FAST when they brag.)
     
  20. megatron

    megatron New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a non overclocked xp2400+.
     

Share This Page

visited