Can anyone explain. . .

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Malus, Jun 28, 2002.

  1. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  2. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Malus,

    I did some table <TD valign="top"> and moved your image map code down to line 41,42 and it seem to clean up the mis-alignment. Hope it helps here is a link to the revised code for your page so you can see the difference.

    CODE.ZIP


    CYA
     
  3. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That won't work. I did it anyway, but it still doesn't work. Valign deosn't really even seem to work anymore, and I don't see a valid reason to more the image map or insert a tbody tag.
     
  4. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try putting the image directly in a table cell using the <img> tags specifying border="0"

    Whilst I'm at it, it's a good idea to start coding towards xHTML 1.0 compliance - which means all tag names in lower case and every attribute value encapsulated in quotes
     
  5. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was programmed that way, ed's source code destroyed it (or maybe it was the server).

    I think I fixed it. Try it now.
     
  6. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damnit, doesn't work in Mozilla. Back to the drawing board.
     
  7. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Renders perfectly now, aside from a large gap underneath the menu - unless thats on purpose
     
  8. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait, try it now. Absolute positioning rocks.

    [edit]Still doesn't work in Mozilla. . . sigh.[/edit]
     
  9. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Might be because Mozilla is running in quirks mode.
    If you're using IE6 then try moving your XHTML from Transitional to Strict

    This forces both browsers to position correctly to W3C specs - although IE still wont do it perfectly
     
  10. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I finally fixed it.
     
  11. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Perfik m8, perfik :)
     
  12. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Sorry It didnt work but it previewed fine in ie 6.0
     
  13. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's ok, I've had some tell me it worked and others that told me it didn't.
     

Share This Page

visited