Can see available networks but cannot connect to them.

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by M0nk3m4n, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. M0nk3m4n

    M0nk3m4n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Alright, so I'm not sure this is the right area of the forum for this...but I'm working on a project PC, circa '99-2000 with Windows 2000. Voodoo 3...the works.

    Okay so here's the deal. I have a 2002 3Com 3CRDW696 11MBPs wireless ethernet adapter. Installed the driver no problem. The device is working properly, no conflicts, etc... the utility can see both my modem and router, but it will not connect to them at all. I try to connect and it acts like it's trying to apply the action, as the connect button grays out for a moment & returns to normal. No connection. This card is doing this in multiple computers, on 98/2000/XP SP3 where other cards connect to both the modem and router just fine.

    It doesn't seem possible that the card could be dead if it's showing up as working properly and is able to see the access points as it is. Any ideas, folks?

    Also...this used to be my own main card, and always worked just fine. I just upgraded to Windows 7 and had a newer card lying around by that time.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2014
  2. Takaharu

    Takaharu Unus offa, unus iuguolo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,386
    Likes Received:
    401
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Have you tried removing the password on the wireless network? I had an issue with an XP laptop not too long ago trying to connect to a modern wireless router and it didn't like the password.
     
  3. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I experienced something similar when I tried to make an older wireless adapter work for my sis. Only way I could make it connect was to turn wireless security off and have no password set at all. Some hardware solutions just won't work well together even if they should according to specs.


    Having a completely open wireless is not a good idea so if you can't get it to work with encryption and password it's most likely a lost cause.
     
  4. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    could be that the encryption spec is updated for newer ones in the WLAN. That card only supports only WEP 64/128-bit. You might have much better WPA in use.
     
  5. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I would say look for updated drivers, firmware but in you case the adapters way to old and support is long gone...

    If you got a new router or changed you encryption settings is probably why
    you can get a much newer/better adapter on the cheap online.

    I think you hit the nail on the head the encryption is likely the problem
    ( You wont see me using anything less then WPA2 personal / AES) Using
    anything on WEP is a joke might as well take the password off :D Couse
    anybody can get right in if they want to.
     
  6. M0nk3m4n

    M0nk3m4n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks for the info, fellas! I'll see what I can do and report back. Sounds like it will be the encryption and age of the card, but it seems odd that they wouldn't let customers in on that possibility from either end of it. Back then or now, I mean...that the card would just become unusable with the new modem/router out of the box despite the card itself still working. Probably makes for a lot of items being recalled that didn't have to be. Hopefully an oldass router can be connected to despite the modem it's hooked to having a password & modern encryption. I'll find out anyway. :b
     
  7. Resistor

    Resistor Get it Going..

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Like the guys said, most likely due to the encryption. Your card must have the capability with the WEP and not WPA.

    I had similar issue before.
     
  8. M0nk3m4n

    M0nk3m4n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yep! Fixed that problem. Just used an old router and bam, the mofo is online. Thanks, fellas! This really rounds out my turn of the century rig here. Museum's growing. :b
     
  9. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Just be aware if someone really wants on your network they can get in.
    Sadly a google search a little time some who knows nothing about
    computers can hack a wep network long as they can read and fallow
    directions.

    Risk is High, If you live in a Urban environment
    Risk is moderate / low If you live in a suburban environment
    Risk is low If you live in a out in the county environment

    Risks If you get hacked:

    1) They can hack into you PC (use software a firewall to reduce the risk)
    Can and do often leave Trojans/ viruses / Steal your data if this happens.

    2)They can change you router settings to direct all you connections
    threw a PC they control so they can effectively see all you do online
    and capture any passwords used etc... So make sure you change the
    default router password to a series of number, letters, symbols longer the
    better (write on a label and stick it to your router so you don't forget it)

    3) They use your internet, (not much you can do here without updated
    security protocols a new router/adaptor would provide) Can use up you
    bandwidth you pay for slowing your web acess. Can run you over caps
    costing you $$$, They can do illegal stuff guess who can and will
    be held responsible and get their house raided? (you)

    Am I paranoid? Why yes I am :D But better safe then sorry I say.
     
  10. M0nk3m4n

    M0nk3m4n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm in a very rural environment and I wouldn't say my family's network is exactly an interesting one. lol. I'll only be using that old router when I run something with that wireless card in it. In a pinch and temporarily will be its main use.
     

Share This Page

visited