Can someone put together a pc build for me for 4500usd?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by overclockmylife, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I mean checking different websites for different items to get the best deals.



    If that looks like too much hassle, you could go for a Noctua NH-D14 instead of the H100.

    Also, you could step up to a larger HDD if you wanted. No reason why not.

    What are you going to do about the encoding build?
     
  2. overclockmylife

    overclockmylife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What if I get a 3tb hard drive and the i7 2600k cpu and down grade my memory to 1600, because the website that you built this rig on says that you can overclock that more(even more than the one on the top of the list?) or would I need a better cooling system for that.

    I don't really know too much about computers so if the second build is suitable for my needs than Ill get it with the second cpu cooler.
     
  3. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    The 2600K will overclock to a higher frequency, but remain slower than the overclocked 3570K in games, because the 3570 is faster clock-for-clock. As in, at any given frequency, a 3570 is faster (in games) than a 2600. And it'll use less power, too. If you're now planning to do without a dedicated encoding rig, however, the 2600 or (better yet) 3770 might make sense. They're significantly faster for encoding, even though they're not faster in games.

    Depending on the cost of the 3TB HDD, you might be better served by multiple 1TB or 1.5TB drives.

    Downgrading the memory to 1600mhz shouldn't be a big issue, but feels inappropriate on such a full-on rig.
     
  4. overclockmylife

    overclockmylife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see so even though I'd have a 2600k 4.6ghz, it wouldn't be as fast for gaming as the 3570k so I don't need it. I don't know how that is but it sounds good. How much can I overclock my cpu than? Do I have to look that up myself?
     
  5. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Basically, the 3570K is based on a newer processor architecture that gets more done with every cycle. Generally speaking, frequency (GHZ) is a poor way of comparing processors.

    The 3570K has an unlocked multiplier. So:

    • Enter the system bios on boot (normally by spamming the delete key).
    • Disable turbo-core.
    • Increase the CPU multiplier by one increment. Boot into Windows, check for stability and temperature acceptability with a prolonged prime95 run (15 mins for quick check, or 2 hours to be sure).
      • If the system was stable, increase the multiplier by another increment.
      • If the system was not stable, but temperatures were acceptable, increase the Vcore by 0.005.
    • Repeat these steps until temperatures are at the limit of acceptability, then back down to the lowest Vcore that was stable at that multiplier increment.
    Increased Vcore can damage the CPU. I'm no expert on what the maximum safe voltage or temperature might be for this particular chip, but you should be able to look around a few reviews and discussion forums. Once you've decided on a maximum safe temperature and Vcore, do not exceed either.

    This is just the basics. In time, you'll want to play around with load-line calibration and fan speed settings and all sorts of other stuff. The only way you'll gain an understanding of such things is by reading about them.
     
  6. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    108
    how much exactly you can overclock the cpu, nobody can say. It will depend on the entire configuration of your harware, it will depend even more on the particular cpu you will get.
     
  7. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah, it's kind of a silicon lottery. Some 3570Ks will only be good for 3.8GHZ, others good for 4.8GHZ.
     
  8. overclockmylife

    overclockmylife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok then. This is the whole shebang guys :)

    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/mbRp

    I basically saved you picture, edited "2x" next to the cpu cooler, printed it, then attached it to this thread, blibbax.

    I appreciate you giving me these builds if it wasn't for you I would've probably ended with just the one computer thanks a lot.

    Now I'm just going to purchase all this stuff. Do you guys recommend paying a computer store guy to put all this together or can I handle it myself?
    Of course, I'll have to look up some youtube videos but I think it'll be fun.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  9. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    This looks good, although some of the stuff you've added is very poor value for money imo, especially the headset. I also feel like multiple 1TB drives in raid 0 or raid 5 would be a better solution than one 3TB drive, but that's subjective.

    [​IMG]

    This looks awful.

    I presume this is your encoding/VM build. Firstly, it actually costs more than the far more powerful (at least twice as fast) encoding/VM build I mocked up. Secondly, you've got two CPU coolers and one CPU. Thirdly, you have an enormously expensive and totally wasted gaming graphics card. This is just a second gaming build, but worse and more expensive than the first one - PC parts are specialised, meaning that great gaming rigs are not necessarily great at anything else, and great encoding/VM rigs are not necessarily great at gaming. Encoding and VM multitasking do have similar demands in that they are both highly parallelised and require little graphical horsepower.

    You should cancel the order on this one ASAP.

    Regarding assembly, normally I would say learn to do it yourself, but in this case it might make sense to pay someone to do it as long as the cost is reasonable - probably no more than $40 per PC.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  10. overclockmylife

    overclockmylife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I uploaded the wrong file.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012
  11. overclockmylife

    overclockmylife New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I uploaded the wrong file but I got it right this time, lol.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Takaharu

    Takaharu Unus offa, unus iuguolo

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,350
    Likes Received:
    346
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Why 1050W? I couldn't imagine that system pushing 400W.
    Green drives just seem wrong to me. In a system that powerful with that budget and that large an amount of disk reads & writes, surely it's got to be at least 7200 RPM, if not more.

    Also, video rendering. A 640 would be crippling if the software can run GPU accelerated. If you're not going FireGL or Quadro, high-end CUDA is what you need.
    For the software described, 256GB probably won't be enough. Go for a 750GB Momentus XT so that the applications can be separated from the storage. This is on the basis that more than one large application will be installed. Otherwise, 256GB will suffice.
     
  13. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Having talked with OP in PMs, it seems like many, many VMs is more the name of the game than video rendering. That considered, I feel like the best graphics card is the cheapest one possible (G210?), as the system would be best managed over LAN with HyperV.

    Regarding PSUs, it's difficult to get 400W ones with two 8-pin CPU connectors.

    In defense of the 640, I initially chose it because actually, though it's a steaming pile of dung in games, it punches above its weight in computational horsepower - certainly in excess of low-end Quadro, and more than double previous Nvidia sub-gaming cards like the 430. That said, you're of course right that there are better cards out there if CUDA is the priority.

    I'm not really aware of the I/O workload of running a tonne of VMs, my assumption was that most of them could be run from the 240GB SSD, and that the green drives would be in raid 0 for media files.
     

Share This Page

visited