Cant set permissions on my mount points

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Zulan, May 30, 2004.

  1. Zulan

    Zulan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i made a mountpoint in the /mnt directory, and i linked it to my /dev/hdb7 partition on my second disk.

    funny thing is when it is mounted i can't set permissions , even when using the root account, so i unmount it.
    when it's not mounted i can set my permissions, and when i mount again my permissions are gone again, :(

    so now i can only read my mounts when using my root account and not my normal account.

    so anyone what's the deal?
     
  2. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, a cheesy solution would be to either add yourself to the group that can access the mount point or change the owner of the folder using chown.

    It seems odd that it would do that though. What exactly do you mean by linking to /dev/hdb7? You're just refering to mounting that device to a certain directory, not a soft link, correct?
     
  3. Zulan

    Zulan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    /dev/hdb7 is my second harddrive's 4th partition, but i'll try your solutions, thanx.
     
  4. Zulan

    Zulan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope your solutions didn't work, so i asked my friend who's kind of a "linux Guru" , it's working now with this line in /etc/fstab

    /dev/hdb7 /win-g vfat umask=0000,iocharset=iso8859-1,codepage=850,noexec,nosuid 0 0
     
  5. DocterDee

    DocterDee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    set umask=0 in your fstab
     
  6. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now that just looks nasty. Didn't know you were mounting via fstab. I only mount my other drives when I need them, so I never really touch the fstab file.
     
  7. Gh0st3d

    Gh0st3d New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would get rid of that mess and just put ... /dev/hdb7/ /mnt/harddrive4(or whatever) ext3 (or whatever the file system is.. vfat whatever) default(or noauto) 0 0

    you don't need the umask (diagnostic purposes only for chmod) or iocharset unless you need to to see non english names.
    or if this is DOS type partition then I would use these in place of defaults: rw,nosuid,dev,exec,noauto,user,async
     

Share This Page

visited