CATALYST 3.0 Update

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by CATALYST maker, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. Paladin06

    Paladin06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, first game out of the box was Mafia. It looks like CRAP!!! There are these stange lines which extend across the screen. The shadows are flashing along with the player. All in all they are terrible.

    Enough of this ATI stuff for me. It's back to Nvidia Tomorrow. Best Buy here I come!!

    :mad:
     
  2. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Tried it..didn't help much. I honestly don't know if I would call my problem stuttering. The reason is because it's more of a nano second pause every once in awhile. Other than that the game runs smooth.
     
  3. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Welp, I installed this newer set. I still get the overlay/graphic corruption problem in Big Slale Racing, but it's not quite as severe as it was with the older 3.0's. It never causes a crash, so it's tolerable. This problem doesn't exist in the 2.5's.

    In 3DMark, I only lost about 40 points, could just be that fluctuation in scores thing, I only ran the test once.

    The drivers installed just fine for me, no problems or quirks with that.

    IQ does seem to be cleaner and sharper.

    I haven't checked too many games as I need to go to sleep soon, but they seem fine so far.

    I'll report any other problems later, if I find any.
     
  4. umpire

    umpire New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update

    the new drivers did not help my studdering problem any at all, nascar 2002 season seems most.
     
  5. shuki

    shuki New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so can I have your r9700 because I'm really lovin ATI about now :D In fact, I'd trade ya my Gainward Ti4200 and some cash for it!

    I had the omegadrivers on. Uninstalled those reboot. cleaned windows and regedit. Installed drivers. On reboot realized I had no CP. So got that and installed it. Upon reboot it told me it could not initialize CP because no ATI drivers were found.. wtf??? So go back to add/remove and remove all. Reboot clean windows and regedit again. reboot. install drivers then Cp and then reboot. and absolute BEAUTY! Now I don't play Mafia but Spearhead and MOHAA is simply amazing. Good job ATI!

    For those of you with CP problems or other general driver problems (I mean not game specific ie Mafia) try cleaning out everything first. INF, windows, c: and registry from all previous ATI stuff then lay on new drivers and CP in that order...

    Good luck everyone!
     
  6. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would like to see one feature: under Display Properties/Advanced/(ATI)Options/Details - detection of versions of Direct3D and OpenGL components.

    One more thing - Direct3D quality is not so good as Omega's 2.3.55 set... but OpenGL is better than previos 3.0s...
     
  7. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    terry will be checking these postings, so for those of you having problems with this set, please post as much detail as possible.
     
  8. jkayca2

    jkayca2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Capture problem resolved?

    Anyone?
     
  9. tragic

    tragic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So far so good:)

    All games i have tried work very well. Have tried UT2003, Mohaa, spearhead, Battlefield 1942 .

    No problems........Thanks ATI:D
     
  10. Zarathustra

    Zarathustra Elite Bastard

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These drivers work fine for me as well. No stuttering at all unlike the horrible problems I had with the original 3.0s. These drivers seem to have alpha blending enabled just like Omega's latest :)
     
  11. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've played around with these a bit more and...

    ....I got to admit that these ain't bad, ain't bad at all. They haven't had any of the usual little glitches for me in 98se on me 8500. The refresh rates seem to work without forcing, the control panel controls things, and everything just feels/acts all around solid for me. I haven't had any problems yet with gaming, but I just finished up a wipe/install on Bubbles to give the 8500 a clean start. (I've been mixing bits too much again, it was time. :) ) These impress me, they impress me mightily.
     
  12. Feral

    Feral New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, just for giggles, I dropped an old Radeon Classic into my machine and let Windows install its default drivers. Then I fired up Serious Sam to see this:

    [​IMG]

    Needless to say, I installed the new Catalyst drivers. They installed pretty smoothly (Windows took its sweet time to re-detect my monitor, though). Serious Sam runs very well. At 1024x768, it is skippy, but still playable. I feel that these drivers gave a me at least a minor boost in performance. As far as image quality goes, I was pretty surprised! Serious Sam on my old Radeon 7200 looks better than it used to on my GeForce3!

    Anyway, good job with the Catalysts. They run very well, and I had no trouble installing them (every once in a while, a Catalyst release does give me trouble).
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2003
  13. Talicni_Tom

    Talicni_Tom New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3d mark is about the same

    rallisport is finally playable without 3d analyze,bf1942,gta3 runs fine

    i`m must admit that i never have a problem besides stuttering with ati drivers

    nice driver set
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2003
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ditto, but is it just me or are they really getting better about 'em as opposed to the last time when it was just a PR improvement?

    (I really don't mean to sound so damned fanboyish on ATI lately, I'm just actually enjoying the hell out of me 8500 for the first time! :D )
     
  15. ThA_Gr81

    ThA_Gr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm... i c no big problems on this new driver so far i guess im going to download it now :)
     
  16. David

    David Banned

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have throughly tested the new drivers. I installed about every game I own at this time. From what I can tell All OpenGL games shuttering have been fixed. A few things I noticed that vsync plays a big role in the shuddering in Quake3 engine games shuddering. I also wanted to with D3D games and test the stabilty and smoothness in this current set. All in all the stabily has risin and all my games were smooth as butter even with fsaa and aniso on.

    Now the current bugs I am still seeing.
    Maddin 2k3 - very well documented and ATi know of this bug already. Weater Bug

    Mafia still some flashy textures in the shodows under the cars.
    But dont happen near as often as it did in older drivers.

    3DMark 2002 score stayed the same no differences.

    Games tested:

    Maddin 2k3 - Weather bug
    Mafia - Flash textrues in shaddows under cars
    Mohaa - no issues great! (vsync helps alot)
    UT2K3 - no issues great!
    Battlefield 1942 - no issues great!(vsync helps alot)
    RTCW - no issues great!(vsync helps alot)
    Max Payne no issues great!
    Jedi Knight - no issues great!(vsync helps alot)
    Hitman 2 - no issues great!
    SS2 - no issues great!
    GTA3 - no issues great!
    Marrowind - no issues great!
    Need For Speed :HP2 no issues great!
    NBA Live 2k3 - no issues great!
    NOLF 2 - no issues great!
    Hotwheels - no issues great!
    SplinterCell demo - no issues great!
    Porn Star 3d ;):eek: :evil: um works rather well fsaa helps alot needs truform support though lol

    System:
    AXP 2400+ @2133mhz
    MSI kt3 ultra 2 raid
    512 meg corsair pc 3500
    audigy 2
    Ati r9700 pro
    2x wd 80 gig jb hdd`s
    netgear nic
     
  17. mike83wvu

    mike83wvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Excellent improvement for me . Serious Sam 2 , Mafia , Madden 2003 , HighHeat all look great.

    For what its worth a 3dMark of 14,120 running at 1.67 { 9x185 }. Very nice!

    Not sure I need to update my cpu just yet

    :)


    A7N8X Deluxe
    XP1500@ 1.67 {9X185}
    Corsair 512mb 3200
    Maxtor 40gb x2
    Sapphire 9700 Pro Cat 3.0A
    Antec 480 True
    Alpha 8045 w/Tornado 31c/38c
    Windtunnell IV Case
    Aopen 16x dvd
    Sonly 40x Writer
     
  18. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DroneZ!

    :eek: Man, I gained like 8fps in me average compared to the 2.5 and it look good! Have they been playing with the openGL a lot?
     
  19. Xp2000

    Xp2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my new system setup last night. So the only game Ive installed is UT2K3.
    It has improved this game. THe frame loss has been reduced.
    It still stutters. It still has the frameloss. Not as bad so they are going in the right direction for sure.
    I still get pausing and stutter and really slow movements however sO I thought Id let joo all know so that maybe you can have ati work alittle more on this game.
    Frames seem to be up in this game for me with this set however.
    Nice work
    Keep em rolling out.
     
  20. Kemal

    Kemal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Set works good on UT2k3, AC2, AO, Diablo 2 LOD...BUT...Ruined Dungeon Siege. Random hard locks intermitten while playing....Sucks big time..
     

Share This Page

visited