Catalyst 4.1

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by CATALYST maker, Jan 19, 2004.

  1. Optimummind

    Optimummind Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Smartgart for me works fine.

    I've never had any Smartgart or other installation problems with ATI drivers as I always restore my hard drive from a clean image (using TrueImage) that doesn't contain any videocard drivers.

    I can't, however, say the same thing for Omega drivers. 3 dif Omega drivers have wreak havoc on my system in the past. :annoyed:
     
  2. MajestacaL

    MajestacaL New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With my ATI AIW 7500 Radeon I have the Smartgart tab but my AGP is set to OFF when I take it to 4x it asks me to restart and I do then when I check it, its still showing off and not 4x also I dont see the overdrive option. Thanks for any help by the way I just did a fresh install of WinXP Pro then installed the drivers!
     
  3. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you installed your motherboards chipset drivers?
     
  4. MajestacaL

    MajestacaL New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Just installed them and the problem is fixed now thanks hehe forgot about my VIA drivers :duh: now where is the overdrive option supposed to be located at? THanks!
     
  5. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    only appears/works if you have an XT board.
     
  6. Ev!L-aLphA

    Ev!L-aLphA | n f e c t e D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did same thing but didint reboot in safe mode and i dont see smartgart any way i can enable 8x agp from bios :)
     
  7. Veky

    Veky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Hi, I have just one pretty n00bish question.

    What exactly are the services ATI Smart and ATI Hotkey Poller? I have them disabled anyhow without problems but was wondering what they were.

    My guess is that ATI Smart is SMARTGART which only runs once after the driver installation anyway and Hotkey Poller are obviously some hotkeys. I have no idea what kind of hotkeys though.
     
  8. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not a problem :)

    always glad to help
     
  9. mike83wvu

    mike83wvu New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best improvement I have seen yet. Need for Speed Underground is silky smooth now. Madden 2004 looks very nice. Had little hiccups with the 3.10's.

    Thanks for the efforts CatMaker!


    A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2.0 1006
    Barton 2500 @ 2.31 { 11.5x200 }
    Mushkin Black 3200 512mb + 256mbx2
    WD 74GB Raptor / Maxtor 120gb
    Asus 9800XT
    Samsung 16x
    Plextor 708A
    Alpha Pal 8045 38c/45c
    Thermaltake 2000A
    XP Pro
     
  10. toddsmack2k

    toddsmack2k It Never.....

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hotkeys can be assigned thru the taskbar application in the ATI drivers. You can assign certain keys on your keybaord to control actions in games and apps. Like Hydravision or the ATI DVD player as well.
     
  11. Hellbent

    Hellbent New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4.1 drivers seem to work well on my 9800Pro. SmartGart appears ok too. I don't see the overdrive tab, though. Is it not supported on the 9800Pro?

    Thank in advance for any suggestions
     
  12. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As mentioned by CM and Z .. good point CM :D

    I see no probs here with SmartGART or any other features ..
    In fact I have seen a performance gain which rivals the last Beta set I love .. called X.xxx here LOL :drool:

    This system I have now I hope to make my dedicated server .....
    When I build my new RIG this spring ..

    1.5 Celeron
    256k ram ..
    Intel 845 chipset.
    Radeon 9800 128 np
    core: 415 mem: 315
    (Rad linker)

    3Dmark3D score : 5004
    Aquamark3d score : 20,574

    Not too shabby ;) :D

    Note: I see a single artifact I stop the test .. IQ is the most important thing for me ;)
     
  13. ZoDiaX

    ZoDiaX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are these optimized/good for a Radeon 9700 Pro? Or am I better off keeping older drivers?
     
  14. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I managed to work the kinks out that I was having with my overclocking

    Now that those are worked out I dont have much issue really recommending these drivers :)
     
  15. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Wow- these did come out of nowhere-

    I think I like being surprised better than knowing they are coming out "next week sometime"
    - that week seems to last a month when I know....

    So is using driver cleaner 2.7 after the uninstall of the 3.10's cool, or will it mess things up when installing this set? Any word on that yet?
     
  16. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,190
    Likes Received:
    2,074
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The only cards you'll see the Overdrive tab on are the XT cards.
     
  17. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,190
    Likes Received:
    2,074
    Trophy Points:
    153
    So far, people seem to have better luck if they just install over the top.
     
  18. Bicka

    Bicka Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Any news on how cs fairs with the updated opengl? I'm to tired to install these tonight so I'll probably answer myself tommorow :/
     
  19. Davidgt

    Davidgt Car Audio Guy

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well to be totally honest I ve never really had issues till this set...... It seems that vpu recover is poping up ever 3 mins ( Ati I hope you enjoy all my vpu recover emails lol .Should have 15 from me now) My card isnt o/ced I havent figured out what the issue is. I am reverting back to 3.10`s . Terry I respect your work and know that you guys cant test on every config Its just for me these drivers arnt doing that well. Guys please dont recommend I do a clean install I have done everything short of reformating. Great job on another fine release Cat Team I know you guys work hard as hell to provide the industry best drivers. Maybe I`ll have better luck on the next set.

    If I can help reproduce what ever is going on let me know Ill be more than happy to.

    Rig :

    axp 2500+( barton)
    A7n8x Deluxe
    corsair XMS PC3500 C2 (2-3-3-7)
    Power Color Radeon 9700 Pro
    Audigy 2
    Plextor dvdr 8x drive
    Lite-on 52-32-52 burner
    400 watt sparkle PSU
    Windows XP sp1 w/ all updates

    Issues:

    1) VPU recover going nuts whenever doing anything from playing a movie in wmp ,powerdvd, or just surfing the web

    2) 3d preformance droped accross the board. opengl and D3D

    Anything I can do to help Ill be happy to.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2004
  20. Jazzyjazz2004

    Jazzyjazz2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I uninstalled Omega 3.10, ran DRIVER CLEANER in safe mode, installed these new drivers, and rebooted to a VPU recover error that continued over and over until I pushed RESET button (locked my computer up) and uninstalled these drivers and reverted back to Omega 3.10...Thumbs Down ATI!
     

Share This Page

visited