CATALYST 4.2 available now

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by CATALYST maker, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. )-(aVoC

    )-(aVoC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    plz help

    Everytime I try to install this driver I get an error "Setup was unable to complete the installation. Try to setup your display adapter with a standard VGA driver before running the setup." I have no clue what that means or what I should do. I have a 9000 pro and my os is ME.
     
  2. CATALYST maker

    CATALYST maker ATI driver guru

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: plz help

    can you show me the link to where you are downloading the driver from so I can try it
     
  3. snake

    snake Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    43
    It's amazing how fast ATI was to release this new set :duh:
    But to be honest, i'm asking to myself if it's not beacause of, well the kind of tests like Neon Cowboy has done and shown the 4.1 wasn't the leader after all :D
    Anyway, it's a really good job and always a pleasure to test ATI's sets :p
     
  4. CATALYST maker

    CATALYST maker ATI driver guru

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol

    No trust me, it had nothing to do with Neon Cowboys tests.
    We release a new driver every month. Thats our public commitment. So expect a new driver every second week of a given month or so.
     
  5. Exxtreme

    Exxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi CM,

    your readme says:

    "Direct3D Setting Enhancement

    Previous versions of the ATI display driver required the monitor going blank for up to 8 seconds when applying Direct3D settings. The latest ATI software driver for the RADEONâ„¢ 9500 and higher class of products now allows for the Direct3D setting to be applied without the monitor's display going blank. "

    But the black screen is still there.

    I have installed the "wxp-w2k-catalyst-7-981-040127m-013420c" package (driver + control panel). I'm using Windows 2000 + SP4.

    Best regards.
     
  6. )-(aVoC

    )-(aVoC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: plz help

    I got it off www.ati.com
     
  7. CATALYST maker

    CATALYST maker ATI driver guru

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what card have you got?
     
  8. CATALYST maker

    CATALYST maker ATI driver guru

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: Re: plz help

    exact link please. I need to know exactly where you get them from. www.ati.com is our homepage, not the driver download page
     
  9. Exxtreme

    Exxtreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9700 Pro.
     
  10. )-(aVoC

    )-(aVoC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,950
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i'll have to try these out fairly soon... see if my milkdrop issue could have been fixed.... possibly....*me crosses fingers*
     
  12. boby

    boby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AA is working with these new drivers
     
  13. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
  14. Bicka

    Bicka Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Installed them just before, havent tried any benchmarks for speed, but I did test out the color profile settings to see if they're working:

    Dropping back to desktop from a 3d-game does seem to keep the right profile selected.
    =====
    Problem of going back in to the game and it reseting to default is still there however. Doing this also causes the color profiler to forget what is set when a game is then started up again. Thus also rendering the hotkeys useless (hotkeys are working again in these drivers).
    =====
    ^^^^ May just be a steam/cs1.6 problem. Farcry demo didnt appear to do this.
    The 'Generic Profile' bug is also lingering around as well:

    open color tab, (making sure desktop is selected)
    untick 'all colors',
    click apply,
    finally click 'save' profile,

    This causes 'Generic Profile' to appear as a desktop profile the same way it is always selectable in fullscreen.

    The color tab is my little nitpick at the moment, just like to see it have some better support behind it. I can't play games if I can't see them ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2004
  15. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Wow I was shock I guss today is my lucky day :) Let's see I got my XP SP2 cd and huge new score of 9815 on over clock at 285mhz. Now I can't wait to see what I can get at with 4.2 dirvers :) download from main site at 4.5kb a sec at 49,2kbps hehe :)
     
  16. Ev!L-aLphA

    Ev!L-aLphA | n f e c t e D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very GOOD job on these driver terry and the team these are awsome and great new backround for the install screen really cool:)

    Great job

    evil!
     
  17. Quarter

    Quarter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great job ATI :D
     
  18. Danyael

    Danyael New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after installing catalyst 4.2, im losing texture in UT2K4. first on the intro nvidia logo (which i couldnt care less since its nvidia :p ) then during gameplay, all weapon are losing textures. anyone with the same problems? I use catalyst 4.1 previously and it worked just fine.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2004
  19. Widkidone

    Widkidone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These drivers are great, i am very impressed. Now i am really looking forward to see what the Omega Drivers have to offer. I know that there will be a competition between Omega, DNA and Neurtal Drivers.
     
  20. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Danyael did you used driverheaven cleaner when you unstalled the old ati drivers?
     

Share This Page

visited