CATALYST 4.3 available

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by CATALYST maker, Mar 10, 2004.

  1. SUPR3M3

    SUPR3M3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No it was not deleted.. If you are a Staff member you should know right?? :D

    I Just moved my post to this topic and changed the other one!
     
  2. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Re: HELP w/ my Radeon 9600 Pro

    HI,

    Try this:

    Uninstall COD.
    Uninstall Cats.
    reboot to safe mode.
    run driver cleaner.
    reboot
    reinstall your AGP Driver.
    Reboot
    Reinstall the Cat 4.3's
    Reboot
    Reinstall COD.
    Install the 1.1 patch for COD
    Reboot...
    Try again.

    I've had COD running on a 9600p and XT on these drivers and it was fine, no crashes so it must be some sort of conflict which is unique to your system. The above steps will hopefully resolve it.
     
  3. massimo

    massimo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Adobe Gamma utitlity

    Tese frivers are wonderfull, the only problem that i have (starting from cat 4.2) is that i can't use tha adobe gamma utility.
    I need to calibrate my monitor for my job.

    massimo
     
  4. griswoold

    griswoold mr. vögi

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the selfmade smartshaders don't work anymore with cat4.3. Can anybody confirm this. They supposed to work in opengl apps. right?
     
  5. DiaperJe|\|i3

    DiaperJe|\|i3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Drivers feel slightly less smooth in UT2K4. Blade of Darkness movies work now and menus are much more responsive. Unfortunately the game itself now runs horribly. Back to Omega's 4.2's. Thx anyway CM. Probably works welll for alot of folks. Anyone else here play BOD and can verify my findings?

    oh yeah,
    ATI Radeon 9500 Pro:sigh:
     
  6. Junk

    Junk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    try this..

    uninstall the drivers and control panel from add/remove, but don't restart. navigate to 'c:\windows\inf' and scroll down to the oem*.inf files. open up a few of them looking for the following text or something similar:

    ;-----------------------------------------------
    ; ATI Display Information file : ATIIXPAG.INF
    ; Installation INF for the ATI display driver.
    ; Copyright(C) 1998-2003 ATI Technologies Inc.
    ; Windows XP
    ; Base INF Last Updated 2003/12/16

    take note of the *.inf file where you found this text, then delete it. also delete the corresponding oem*.pnf file. example - i find the above text in oem21.inf, so i delete that AND oem21.pnf.

    empty your recycle bin, disable nic (if you feel it's necessary) and reboot. if that doesn't work, just try driver cleaner.
     
  7. Donald24

    Donald24 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it so, that gamma-sliders are still unusable in OpenGL-games? I cannot play any GL-games without bumping up the gamma, and who wants to manually adjust gamma, before starting a game, and set it back for desktop use afterwards?

    Or is it just because of old driver-parts? I am still stuck with 3.10 until this is fixed.

    Using a R300.

    Don
     
  8. CyberZiggy

    CyberZiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'm right with you on this one. I still use 3.10 on my 9800 Pro for the same reason. Hopefully, the Catalyst team will give OpenGL some much needed attention in the next release.

    Zig
     
  9. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    looks like I'll be giving this set a try after all

    Enemy Territory wont work for me under the 4.2s.

    I get an error in the openGL file.

    Wonder what was broken.

    Hopefully 4.3 fixes it or Im gonna spam the beta tester thing till they let me in.

    *sighs* I even have a ATI chipset based motherboard that I could have beta-tested surroundview on.


    edit- tested and it seems that the 4.3s do fix my Enemy Territory issue. :)

    Back to rock solid gaming
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2004
  10. junka

    junka Zex Machine

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was a long hard road for ATI getting drivers that where exceptable to the graphic card buying public 37, 3.9 and 3.10.
    I think ATI have lost the plot somewhere along the line with these 4.x drivers they just seem to be going backwards.
    Maybe it would be a good idea for someone to mention this to ATI before they release a driver set that only work if you put your card in up-side-down.
    ;)

    PS: whats the format to get these sig: img to work?
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2004
  11. wolfran

    wolfran New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I notice in the release notes that this driver increase the pixel shader performance and it did (tested with 3dmark2001se). The weird thing is that the advanced pixel shader test in 3dmark2001se actually drops.
    Overall this driver is as good as 4.2 but a little bit slower in general.
     
  12. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    anyone else finding this set slower than 4.2?
     
  13. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Not me Zardon :) with SP2 it's very fast hehe try fast right off Zardon.
     
  14. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am.

    Now that I have RTCW:Enemy Territory working I decided to install NFS:Underground.

    Previously I could turn off the light trails and motion blur and keep it running at pretty nice solid 30FPS or higher with 4xAA and 8xAF (Performance).

    Now it jumps around on me as the frames dip from 30 or so on down to 20 :(

    Seems something is broken.
     
  15. magikmole

    magikmole New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup they don't work for me either, was gonna try the contest winner(s) shaders but no luck :(
     
  16. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I just run 8x AF and Smoothvision at 4x it runs great on NFS UG I get about 15-20FPS :) not bad for my card :) hehe I think you guys should wait to SP2 final comes out you notice big jump in gaming proformce it's a plus so far..
     
  17. Toasty_Rimjob

    Toasty_Rimjob New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone noticed if forcing AA is still not working?


    And Junka- look for this in your profile options to display that pic.

     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2004
  18. junka

    junka Zex Machine

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, they are all turned on, is it the same as most sigs: where you have "[​IMG]" at the end?
     
  19. Roadee

    Roadee Never forgotten

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes
     
  20. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    trust me I am running the newest SP2 build right now ;)

    Anyone here who knows me knows I have an in with Microsoft for betas and stuff that even some partners do not receive ;)

    So its not that at all :(

    For me if the FPS were slightly lower like yours but a steady amount within a couple frames I wouldnt mind. But in my case its not steady they jump and that heavily affects driving conditions.

    BTW what res are you running in though? Im in 1024x768
     

Share This Page

visited