Catalyst 4.8 Beta Download here.

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by zqy, Jul 27, 2004.

  1. krazy1

    krazy1 Live from the Dungeon

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    .....sometimes I think drivers are drugs for some people.... :hmm: :hmm:
     
  2. nuG

    nuG is having a sexy party

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe people that are addicted to drugs can go to driver clinics to get them off drugs and addicted to drivers instead! :lol: :rofl:
     
  3. Genius

    Genius ID10T

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IT'S A GEEK THING

    If you can't understand this then you're not l337
     
  4. mr yellow

    mr yellow Driverheaven Trooper

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where could one find a clinic like this:confused: :lol:
     
  5. Perfect Reason

    Perfect Reason New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Less gibberish chat, More benchies ;)
     
  6. krazy1

    krazy1 Live from the Dungeon

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    47 69 76 65 20 75 70 20 6F 6E 20 74 68 65 20 6C 33 33 37 20 63 72 61 70 20 69 74 20 69 73 20 6F 75 74 64 61 74 65 64 :D :D
     
  7. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    That's what they do. They do listen to the end user- this forum is proof of that.
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    You guys do know internally ATI are at least 5 or 6 sets ahead of the newest "leaked" betas, right? so even if you report issues they certainly wont make it in the next official which will be released soon. Thats why there is a closely coordinated team of beta testers.
     
  9. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From what I see, they are labeled as 4.8 and dated 040717. It seems very likely that these + WHQL = 4.8, but you can never be sure.
     
  10. Virtualbs

    Virtualbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    116 157 054 040 151 164 047 163 040 156 157 164 041

    :D :D :D

    Cheers,
    Virtualbs
     
  11. Dimmuxx

    Dimmuxx Evil Henchman

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anybody who have tested if the tv-out + overscan = black bar issue is fixed in these drivers? :duh:
     
  12. BlueSteel

    BlueSteel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone tried to get geometry instancing to work in FarCry with a R3xx-card? I tried with "\r_GeomInstancing 1", but so far it didn't change anything in regards to performance...

    -BlueSteel
     
  13. chronicidal

    chronicidal Guest

    what is this number code you guys are using? Because it seems cool and I want to learn
     
  14. REGENERAT1ON

    REGENERAT1ON NGO Crew

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bah this link is hosted on 56k or something like that... slow ass to me
     
  15. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I have the drivers installed... and sm2b and geom instancing work on them :)
     
  16. BlueSteel

    BlueSteel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then there is some trick to getting instancing to work on R3xx-boards...or nobody actually tested it and the cards just support it *theoretically*...

    -BlueSteel
     
  17. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thr this as the properties to your FarCry.exe shortcut

    "C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Crytek\Far Cry\Bin32\FarCry.exe" -Devmode "r_GeomInstancing 1" "e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio 100"
     
  18. BlueSteel

    BlueSteel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that...also tried setting the r_GeomInstancing variable ingame, with no fps-change whatsoever.
    "e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio 100" ist just as slow as usual, regardless if I enable GeomInstancing or not. But since I could also set GeomInstancing to 1 with the old drivers (compared to SM2BPATH for example which resets itself to -1) nothing changed at all...

    -BlueSteel
     
  19. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    How did you know they work ?
    can yout tell me the extentions you used ? or does these drivers only require you to install and use farcry like normal ?

    and it enabled them automaticly ?

    and i thought sm2b had geom instancing intergrated into the path ? didnt know they where 2 diffrent things

    also useing 9.0c + 1.2 patch + E:\Far-Cry\Bin32\FarCry.exe -Devmode "r_sm2bpath 1"

    thought this enabled geom instancing + sm2b ?

    when useing all that i get yellow writeing saying im useing the beta sm2b path ? does that mean i had geom instanceing enabled aswell ? if not then k im going to give these drivers a try test as im playing nothing by farcry at the minute :p

    what should i look out for also like how did you know instancing was working ect ?


    sorry for all the questions but i need to know hehe :)

    PS : ZARDON you make some of the best avatar and signictures i have ever seen m8
    i may get you to make me one up at christmas time when i get my new system together FX53 and Gigabyte Ect :)
     
  20. BlueSteel

    BlueSteel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To check if instancing is working just go to an outside area with much vegetation and check your fps (fraps) while typing this in the console:

    "\e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio 1"

    and then

    "\e_vegetation_sprites_distance_ratio 100"

    The first command resets the sprite distance to normal (vegetation gets replaced by bitmaps a few meters in front of you) and the second command completely disables sprites for vegetation. If you notice no big jump in fps instancing should be enabled; normally disabling sprites can cost you 30-50% performance in outdoor areas.

    -BlueSteel
     

Share This Page

visited