catalyst ai .. normal or high??? for CS:S

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by vulkan, Feb 3, 2005.

  1. vulkan

    vulkan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for hl2 and the source engine .. css and these games..

    should i have my AI set to normal or high..

    or in general.. can someone give me a link with detail exp. or just fill me in on some details on ai..

    cat 5.1

    mobility radeon 9700 128mb 446/250
     
  2. Spyre

    Spyre New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well as I understood what makes a big differance is the power of your system... A powerfull system can do high and get a boost. But an adverage or slower system will get less FPS from high then low becouse of the more agressive optumizations use more system resources.

    Considering you useing a laptop, wich all well known to be far less powerfull then thier desktop counter parts and a 9700 mobile wich is a 9600 core ... but that doesnt matter whats important for the optumizations to work is the over all power of you system wich laptops normally severly lack...thier manufacturedand configured to use less power, put out less heat, wich aslo means not configured for best performance...

    You can try high but if you get fps loss or no FPS boost then thats why.
    Personally I'd reccomend it should be left at default for a laptop...
    But it doesnt hurt anything to try...

    Well thats my two bits ....
     
  4. Wedge_maniac

    Wedge_maniac New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At the Beyond3D forum I discussed the humus tweak, AI high, and AI low.

    You might want to read from this post to the end (don't worry, it's only 1 page or so).

    Beyond3d - discussion of use of AI
     
  5. Arraso

    Arraso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here in my system, Catalyst AI clear load more the system. I run CS:S Stress Test demo and with Catalyst AI in High, I have more "min fps", in various sections of the bench the frame rate downs much than AI in normal mode. But the results give me the same results for the two options.

    I remember that I read "Catalyst AI in High option consume more CPU", or something like that.
     
  6. Wedge_maniac

    Wedge_maniac New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that is the way it was explained to me at Beyond3D forums.

    It would be interesting to see some benches of High vs Low, but to do it thoroughly, you would need both a "moderately" fast processor (2.4-2.8GHz maybe?) and compare it with something like an AMD 64 4000+.
     
  7. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im sure if u set ai to high your games gonna jump alot.
     

Share This Page

visited