Common WinXP Tweaks

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by JavaFox, Jul 22, 2002.

  1. Jitter

    Jitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tried the Desktop wall paper thing, and it worked. However the text in all my shortcuts looks like its highlighted and I cant get rid of it. I think I know why, but I dunno how to fix it. I set my actual wall paper to none, and whatever background color I select is "highlighting" the text. I seem to have to select some color to use I think what i need is like a transparent background color or something?
     
  2. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    open up the System Properties, Start ->Run... and type sysdm.cpl and hit enter key,
    click on Advanced tab -> Performance, Visual effects, click Settings,
    check "Use drop shadows for icon lables on the desktop", and see if this helps.
     
  3. Jitter

    Jitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thats the first thing i checked was the drop shadows and they were on. Thats what it looks like though when you use regular wallpaper w/o drop shadows.
     
  4. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's Desktop wall paper thing ?
     
  5. rjpogi

    rjpogi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think he's referring to disabling the wallpaper
     
  6. Jitter

    Jitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the desktop wall paper this is the tweak mentioned in this forum

    "1. Right click on your desktop and select "properties", then select the "desktop" tab.
    2. Click on "Customize Desktop".
    3. Select the "Web" tab and click on "New..."
    4. Browse for your favorite image and click OK when you are done.
    5. Make sure "Lock desktop items" is uncheck.
    6. Click OK, and OK again.
    7. Now your image is like another window. Drag it to where you want and then right clik over it.
    8. Select "arrange icons by" and the check "Lock Web Items on Desktop".
    9. That's it. Now you have a "low memory usage wallpaper".
     
  7. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Jitter

    Jitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hmm well thats the exact problem I am having, but the resolution listed there doesnt work. The icon text looks the same w/ or w/o drop shadows on.
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't think there's a way to make the drop shadow effect icon on a page or image that you use it as desktop wallpaper. i disabled the active desktop, but will enable it later and check it out.
     
  10. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i saw what you've tried to do, you display a desktop content (which's an image) on your desktop. and therefore that desktop content turns on the active desktop feature. i don't know how to make the desktop icons to look the way you wanted. nwih i'll be able to figure this out myself. so pls share whatever you'll find out after.
     
  11. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    i haven't searched the whole thread, hope there's not dupes.
    these are mostly changes to the UI

    always remember to backup first!

    stop file open with for asking to search the web
    stop save dialog from starting in my documents (usually)
    disable MSI installer rollback (some installers refuse to install when it's disabled)
    disable mouse acceleration (some like the first some like the second)
    vbs script to change windows setup paths
    disable my documents
    be careful! its annoying to have lots of programs wondering where my documents is, plus some games store savegames there

    disable recent docs
    disable default administrative shares
    disable broken link tracking
    disable low disk space notify
    disable stupid search dog
    disable tour icon in system tray
    disable unread mail at logon screen
    disable windows showing zips as folders
    stop windows from creating my pictures, my music, and my videos folders in my documents
    put this into a .bat file and run from anywhere

    then reboot and delete %windir%\system32\mydocs.dll (system file protection might restore it)

    speed up ntfs drives by disabling some win31 / 16bit support
    speed up windows explorer
    remove WMP context menu options
    remove extra entries from new context menu
    add program to app path (change PROGRAM)
    add the time to dos prompts (its just before C:\)
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2005
  12. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    and my services config (network connections is disabled, see bottom to enable, its called netman)
    if errorcontrol is 1 it gives an error somewhere
    errorcontrol 2 (or 3) means windows refuses to start so i put them all to 0

    these last two values tells windows not to reboot when they get stopped

    if you have DSL (or a modem i guess) then change
    "Start"=dword:0000000?
    to
    "Start"=dword:00000002
    for these
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\RasAuto]
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\RasMan]
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\TapiSrv]
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Netman]
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2005
  13. Widkidone

    Widkidone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some of these tweak are ok but just do not over do them. If you go to www.tweakhound.com some of these can hurt your system performance or have no evidence of any improvement. But so not mess with your registry unless if you know what what you are doing. I would recommend that you do some research at www.tweakhound.com and check out www.tweakxp.com
     
  14. Vyrticl

    Vyrticl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently released a Windows XP tweaking guide that I feel everyone here should be informed about. All the tweaks on the guide have been tested to be sure they are valid and help out your computer. Check it out.

    Whistling Cricket Windows XP Tweaking v2.0
     
  15. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    thanks Vyrticl looks pretty good.
     
  16. m|Ke

    m|Ke New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    unload dll tweak for xp does nothing, its useless.
     
  17. Aligokalppeker

    Aligokalppeker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it does but not in all cicumstances,,Unloading dll directly after program exit releases memory area releated with DLL.This keeps memory clean and defragmented.But if you run a program frequently than this causes a slowdown because DLL needs to be loaded every start of program
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2005
  18. AnakinBR

    AnakinBR New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    since from JavaScript is a Windows Registry? look at the content of your tweak:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 3.2 Final//EN">
    <html dir=ltr>
    
    <head>
    <style>
    a:link			{font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:FF0000}
    a:visited		{font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:#4e4e4e}
    </style>
    
    <META NAME="ROBOTS" CONTENT="NOINDEX">
    
    <title>The page cannot be found</title>
    
    <META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" Content="text-html; charset=Windows-1252">
    </head>
    
    <script> 
    function Homepage(){
    <!--
    // in real bits, urls get returned to our script like this:
    // res://shdocvw.dll/http_404.htm#http://www.DocURL.com/bar.htm 
    
    	//For testing use DocURL = "res://shdocvw.dll/http_404.htm#https://www.microsoft.com/bar.htm"
    	DocURL = document.URL;
    		
    	//this is where the http or https will be, as found by searching for :// but skipping the res://
    	protocolIndex=DocURL.indexOf("://",4);
    	
    	//this finds the ending slash for the domain server 
    	serverIndex=DocURL.indexOf("/",protocolIndex + 3);
    
    		//for the href, we need a valid URL to the domain. We search for the # symbol to find the begining 
    	//of the true URL, and add 1 to skip it - this is the BeginURL value. We use serverIndex as the end marker.
    	//urlresult=DocURL.substring(protocolIndex - 4,serverIndex);
    	BeginURL=DocURL.indexOf("#",1) + 1;
    	
    	urlresult=DocURL.substring(BeginURL,serverIndex);
    				
    	//for display, we need to skip after http://, and go to the next slash
    	displayresult=DocURL.substring(protocolIndex + 3 ,serverIndex);
    
    	InsertElementAnchor(urlresult, displayresult);
    }
    
    function HtmlEncode(text)
    {
    	return text.replace(/&/g, '&amp').replace(/'/g, '&quot;').replace(/</g, '&lt;').replace(/>/g, '&gt;');
    }
    
    function TagAttrib(name, value)
    {
    	return ' '+name+'="'+HtmlEncode(value)+'"';
    }
    
    function PrintTag(tagName, needCloseTag, attrib, inner){
    	document.write( '<' + tagName + attrib + '>' + HtmlEncode(inner) );
    	if (needCloseTag) document.write( '</' + tagName +'>' );
    }
    
    function URI(href)
    {
    	IEVer = window.navigator.appVersion;
    	IEVer = IEVer.substr( IEVer.indexOf('MSIE') + 5, 3 );
    
    	return (IEVer.charAt(1)=='.' && IEVer >= '5.5') ?
    		encodeURI(href) :
    		escape(href).replace(/%3A/g, ':').replace(/%3B/g, ';');
    }
    
    function InsertElementAnchor(href, text)
    {
    	PrintTag('A', true, TagAttrib('HREF', URI(href)), text);
    }
    
    //-->
    </script>
    
    <body bgcolor="FFFFFF">
    
    <table width="410" cellpadding="3" cellspacing="5">
    
      <tr>	
    	<td align="left" valign="middle" width="360">
    	<h1 style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 13pt/15pt verdana"><!--Problem-->The page cannot be found</h1>
    	</td>
      </tr>
      
      <tr>
    	<td width="400" colspan="2">
    	<font style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 8pt/11pt verdana">The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable.</font></td>
      </tr>
      
      <tr>
    	<td width="400" colspan="2">
    	<font style="COLOR:000000; FONT: 8pt/11pt verdana">
    
    	<hr color="#C0C0C0" noshade>
    	
    	<p>Please try the following:</p>
    
    	<ul>
    	  <li>If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.<br>
    	  </li>
    	  
    	  <li>Open the 
    	  
    	  <script>
    	  <!--
    	  if (!((window.navigator.userAgent.indexOf("MSIE") > 0) && (window.navigator.appVersion.charAt(0) == "2")))
    	  { 
    		  Homepage();
    	  }
    	  //-->
    	   </script>
    
    	   home page, and then look for links to the information you want.</li>
    	   
    	  <li>Click the <a href="javascript:history.back(1)">Back</a> button to try another link.</li>
    	</ul>
    	
    	<h2 style="font:8pt/11pt verdana; color:000000">HTTP 404 - File not found<br>
    	Internet Information Services<BR></h2>
    	 
    	<hr color="#C0C0C0" noshade>
    	
    	<p>Technical Information (for support personnel)</p>
    	
    <ul>
    <li>More information:<br>
    <a href="http://www.microsoft.com/ContentRedirect.asp?prd=iis&sbp=&pver=5.0&pid=&ID=404&cat=web&os=&over=&hrd=&Opt1=&Opt2=&Opt3=" target="_blank">Microsoft Support</a>
    </li>
    </ul> 
    
    	</font></td>
      </tr>
      
    </table>
    </body>
    </html>
    
     
  19. neebl

    neebl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so can i use all of these or some?-running 128MB on XP. also if i use multiple, can i put them under a single Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00 heading or do i use seperate heading fer each?
     
  20. WxMan1

    WxMan1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Customize Windows Explorer startup view

    1. Click Start, point to Programs, then Accessories, then right–click Windows Explorer, and click Properties.

    2. Under Target field, which reads %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe,
    change to make the line read

    %SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /e, /select, C:\

    3. Click OK.

    How to display special Explorer Objects using command line
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009

Share This Page

visited