Connect3D`s Radeon X1800XT 256MB question

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by ThomasF, Apr 20, 2006.

  1. ThomasF

    ThomasF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone.
    New to this forum and already full of questions.
    I dont have much knowlege surrounding video cards and overclocking so i just have to ask you folks for a bit of advice.

    I just got this Connect3D Radeon X1800XT 256MB.
    Engine speed is 625Mhz and Mem speed is 750Mhz according to manufaturer, But i only get 600Mhx/700Mhz. Any ideas why that is the case ?. And,,,

    When running a benchmark using 3dMark05 i get 9058, is that about right for this type of card ?.

    Is there anything i need to download to get the performance or am i just asking a bit too much from my system ?

    My system is as follows:
    DFI RDX200 CF-DR
    AMD 64 4000+
    4 X 512 OCZ DDR400 2.5-4-4-4
    Connect3D Radeon X1800XT 256MB
    SATA 180GB
    PSU Antec SP-500PGB
    All drivers for mobo and cpu are updated and im using the latest Omega driver for the vid card.

    ThomasF
     
  2. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your 3d mark 05 score is really good , i dont know why u`re complaining,are u geting low fps while gaming , i have a sapphire radeon x1800xt and im more than happy with it .
     
  3. ThomasF

    ThomasF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you got me all wrong there.

    I am not complaining at all, I didnt even know if my score was good or not until you said it was really good.

    All i am interested in is to know if my system is running as it should with this new card or if there is anything i need to do.
    I am not an overclocker so i have little knowlege about to maximize system performance hence my question regarding the core and mem speeds.

    ThomasF
     
  4. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The clocks on your card are for 2d. When you play 3d games it bumps up the voltage and clocks it to 625/750. I had to search for that answer when I first tried an X1800XT too.
     
  5. ThomasF

    ThomasF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I see, nothing to worry about then.
    That answers it, thanks for that AirJarhead

    ThomasF
     
  6. Soilwork

    Soilwork A virus with shoes

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    google the X1800XT PE BIOS and try flash your card if you looking for more performance. I did it with my GeCube X1800XT and now run 700core 800memory in 3d apps :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2006
  7. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NOOOOO!
    It won't work with his 256MB X1800XT!
    It does work on the 512MB XT though.
     
  8. AirJarhead

    AirJarhead New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait....What? You flashed a X800XT to a X1800XTPE?
     
  9. ThomasF

    ThomasF New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dont really want to mess around with bios, mainly since im not sure how to do it and i dont want to ruin my card case i mess things up.

    Quite happy with my performance, i really just want to know if there was any changes i needed to do to make my system run at its best.
    It all came from those a bit lower speeds then stated by manufac and some low fps in Oblivion when running it at the settings the game suggested when i installed it.

    ThomasF
     
  10. Soilwork

    Soilwork A virus with shoes

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, it was an X1800XT. Sorry bout the typo. I have seen a X1800XT PE 256MB bios on techpowerup.com
     
  11. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't understand flashing a BRAND NEW XT card... I really don't... why would you do that, the XT's are essentially the TOP of the line, why bother flashing you've already got a card that beats the snot out of 90% of the rest of the world's graphics cards
     
  12. Soilwork

    Soilwork A virus with shoes

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    um, let me think. Free performance??
     
  13. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88
    TANSTAAFL :D

    There are a few things that can go wrong. Bad D/L giving a corrupted bios resulting in a 'dead' card. Tough to RMA a card with a 'bad flash'.

    The particular GPU/memory that you have is 'just good enough' to run at posted specs, and OC results in bad graphics, and you have to go back to the original, giving a net gain of 0.

    Possibility that the OC will 'toast' memory that is just barely in spec.

    Why take the chance on a brand new card, that even IF you can get it RMA'd means that you have to do without it for an uncertain length of time?

    Now, if it's an OLD card and you are trying to squeeze a bit of performance out of it until you can upgrade, then go for it :D :D :D
     
  14. SSXeon

    SSXeon ATi Freak!!

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to the forums. You have a nice card no dought, Dont run any bios just use the ATi ocing tool for votage and ATi tool to oc. I wouldnt go over 700/1700Mhz tho, but you should be able to hit 1.8GHz with mild voltage on the mem. The core should have no problems hitting 700 @ 1.3v, but u might need another .0225v just in case. Im really hoping when i get this X1900XT i can get over 700core and 1700mem. Im defently adding AC5, and make it nice and snug. :) 16x12 oblivion here i come. :eek:
     
  15. Soilwork

    Soilwork A virus with shoes

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TANSTAAFL - WTF does that stand for?
     
  16. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I totally agree :wtf:
     
  17. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88
    There

    Ain't

    No

    Such

    Thing

    As

    A

    Free

    Lunch

    You guys need to read some of R. A. Heinlein's later works :D :D
     

Share This Page

visited