Conroe Support

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Necrosis, May 24, 2006.

  1. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hows it running for you Necrosis??? Give us an idea of how the setup went for you any major bugs/problems,or did all the hardware go together smoothly.
     
  2. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It's running great. Only problem I'm having is it doesn't like 1:2 divider so I can't run my memory at full speed. However, it's not offically supported so I guess that is way it goes. I haven't started to OC yet. I like to let a system run at stock for a couple weeks so I can get used to it's personality.

    It's so sick seeing DVD Shrink process at over 1K FPS!
     
  3. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,402
    Likes Received:
    1,006
    Trophy Points:
    123
    What did you end up doing about the bios problem? Did you take it back to where you bought it, and got them to update it, or did it work to a degree that you could update the firmware on your own?
     
  4. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I had a new chip sent from Asus, so just popped that in before I booted up.
     
  5. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,402
    Likes Received:
    1,006
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Ah. I remember you mentioning that, but didn't know if you went that route.
     
  6. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    My CPU came yesterday, my system is up and running, not bios update required
     
  7. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well Neon what do you think of it?
     
  8. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73

    seems to be a lag with my 4200+ X2 that isn't there with the E6400other then that my systems where resetup the same stuff loaded. Not done much testing yet...
     
  9. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    BTW, my load temp /w the CPU at stock is 34c!!!
     
  10. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    only thing i had to do was fight with the MOBO for a short while to get DDR working @ 800mhz
    as timeing by SPD 1st showed as 533mhz then I updated the bios, then 667, I went in a manually
    set it to DDR800 and that fixed it.

    yea the temps are cool , but intel has a history of reporting them lower then actuall.
    what suprises me is the low core voltage...

    only consern I have right now is the heat pipe cooling seems "for show" as the surface
    on top of the chipset is pretty hot, and at the end of the heatpipe the heatsink doesn't
    even seem warm... butthen again it chaces air off the CPu fan but still should be
    warminer me thinks
     
  11. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also, depending on the sensor chip on the motherboard, the software that is used on the temps reading. some might have bug. no?

    Necrosis, What you mean by "load temp", Do you use the Asus own utility tools for the temps reading, and Have you tried checking the CPU temps while it's running in a full load?
     
  12. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I mean running both cores @ 100% for an extended period of time.

    I'm using Speedfan to monitor my temps. My bios, and Speedfan matches up.
     
  13. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I don't think that can be correct. That is a higfher temperatures than a 90nm prescott and I know Core 2 Duo's area much cooler running chip. The TDP is 65W i believe. No way they should be putting out those kind of temps with the best HSF on the market.
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well, i believe that can be...
    here is an attemp (the author mentioned it's more like a try) on the below motherboard that i've read earlier during the day...

    DFI INFINITY 975X/G
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800
    MainBoard: DFI INFINITY 975X/G
    RAM: GeIL DDR2 Ultra Low Latency PC 8500
    VGA: XFX 7600GT XXX EDiTiON@Vmod 745/895MHz
    HDD: Raptor 34GB.
    PSU: Zippy/Emacs 460Watt.
    HeatSink: Hyper 6+

    below is what the author have said (i'm doing this translation exactly)

    " 356x10MHz CPU:Ram 1:1
    despite the fact that the motherboard, RAM and the CPU can go further, but this is where the CPU HSF can handle.
    the CPU temp is 63C Idle (in a room that without air conditioning unit). "

    i can imagine that the room temp are around 35C up.
     
  16. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Using the Core Temp program Asmoday told me about @ idle my both cores are 42c.
     
  17. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just read from a message board that ASRock is now has something completely different... on the conroe supporting boards.

    ConRoe865PE
    Chipset - Northbridge: Intel 865PE / 865G - Southbridge: Intel ICH5
    CPU - LGA 775 for Intel Core 2 Duo/ Pentium XE / Pentium D / Pentium 4 / Celeron D, supporting Conroe processors
    - FSB 1066/800/533 MHz
    - Supports Hyper-Threading Technology
    - Supports Untied Overclocking Technology
    - Supports EM64T CPU
     
  18. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have a look at this same system as my post #215 - the CPU temps was not at a full load either, i think.

    "400x9MHz CPU:Ram 4:5, due to lack of a better CPU and system coolers i don't want to go above this"
    [​IMG]

    seems to me that both the conroe and conroe xe runs cool at default clock speed, but once they're overclocked they would run quite hot?
     
  19. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Asrock i865PE boards were some of the very first boards announced to support Conroe.
     
  20. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've missed this one then, i did see the ones that use i945 based chipsets at asrock sites before but not this.

    btw, Tipstaff, here is pic of stock Intel CPU cooler for the E6300, not yet found any pics that shows the back of it.
    [​IMG]

    and AFAIK, your choice of motherboard Necrosis, is also the top choice for many conroe based computer builder here where i live i heard it's a very a good selling boards, some of stores restocks it many times already. i need a lot of free time myself, then i'll go to see all the hardwares stuff, it needs a lot of time due to ther are so many stores that i like to visit... alot of hardwares that i like to see too...
    [​IMG]

    -----------------------

    abit AW9D-MAX / AW9D
    Intel 975X Chipset motherboards built for Core 2 Duo and beyond
    http://www.abit.com.tw/page/en/moth...9D-MAX&fMTYPE=LGA775&pPRODINFO=Specifications
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2006

Share This Page

visited