CPU cooler recommendation for i7-3930K

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Tril, Jul 24, 2013.

  1. Tril

    Tril Triple screen racing ftw

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hi, it's been a while since my last post. I'm upgrading my computer. I'll reuse my current case and power supply. Earlier this week, I ordered :
    • a 3930K CPU (LGA 2011 socket)
    • an ASRock FATAL1TY X79 Professional motherboard
    • 16 GB of RAM (2x8GB GSKILL F3-1600C7D-16GTX R)
    I'll receive everything in a few days. I thought the cpu would come with a stock cooler but I just read somewhere that it does not.

    I'm looking for recommendations for a CPU cooler. I'm not planning on overclocking, it's plenty fast as it is. I want air cooling and I want it as quiet as possible. I'm in Canada so I could order on newegg.ca or ncix.com.
     
  2. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    88
  3. Tril

    Tril Triple screen racing ftw

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hi Craig. I ended up ordering a Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 before I saw your post. It was among the most quiet, lowest temp and highest base height in a round up review I found of about a dozen cpu coolers. It will fit if I remove the top fin on the ram.
     
  4. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Great choice none the less :)
     
  5. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,673
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    Trophy Points:
    138
    yeah running the same heatsink..... both fans sit at around 300-500rpm idle and under load it only goes higher when I overclocked the 3930k to 4.3ghz, stock it just remained at the 300-500 rpm range lol.
     
  6. Tril

    Tril Triple screen racing ftw

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I did not pay attention to the RAM QVL when ordering and X79 is not on the list. Since it's a dual-channel kit of DDR3, 1600MHz, 1.5V RAM, I'm assuming that it will work even if it's not on the QVL list.
     
  7. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,673
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I don't think I've ever bought QVL ram for any boards I've used over the last 15 years.
     
  8. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,576
    Likes Received:
    2,539
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The place to check memory support is at the AsRock website....

    http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty X79 Professional/?cat=Memory
     

Share This Page

visited