Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD Sound Card @ HH

Discussion in 'Reviews & Articles Discussion' started by craig5320, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. purush

    purush New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I appologize for my harsh comments, but I was so frustrated trying to configure the card. In the console launcher there was just two options 2.2 and 5.1 no mention of 7.1 secondly, on the box it clearly says 5.1 which I did not read when I purchased it. On my way to return this card. Happy New Year to you all.
     
  2. Simon S

    Simon S New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi can anyone confirm if windows XP is supported by any of the drivers?
    I driver from the disc installs and shows in the device manager but under control panel/sound it says no audio device?
     
  3. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hi Simon, the requirements from Creative say "Microsoft® 7 32-bit or 64-bit, Windows Vista® 32-bit or 64-bit with Service Pack 1 or higher" so it looks like no XP support.
     
  4. Simon S

    Simon S New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Veridian3 I suppose I should have had a closer look at the spec before buying it:sigh:
    Looks like an upgrade to the OS then, but not vista!
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2011
  5. jere

    jere New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you say they will be adding support for analogue connectors for 7.1 audio do you mean an expansion card to the current card available now or they will be coming out with another card with the connectors.

     
  6. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    As far as I am aware they plan an expansion card/device.
     
  7. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    sorry to res the thread.... stu is this card noticeably better than my original X-Fi XtremeMusic PCI? and does the THX console work properly without patching and modded drivers? and this should work fine with my z-5500?
     
  8. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It will be noticably better, yes. As for compatibility with your z-5500 that I cant say for sure, in theory it should be fine and I have had no noticable driver/software issues for my use.
     
  9. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    It's basically the old green/black/oranage hook up which is analog 5.1. they should include some cables for it i think? I am considering, my x-fi is nice but been a while since ive done a sound card upgrade.
     
  10. gk8aq

    gk8aq Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    28
  11. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    gk8aq, is correct. If your speakers dont have a digital in then you are going to be stuck at the moment with this card. It's still waiting for a daughter board with surround 3.5mm outs. Try something from Auzentech such as the Bravura or Forte.
     
  12. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    just thought id point out... the z-5500 speaker set includes both optical and coaxial digital inputs...

    though i do not like using it so much as the hardware in the little z-5500 console isnt all that great...

    hey Stuart, what kinds of digital output does the Titanium HD support? i see that the optical cable included looks a little funny compared to the one that i use on my Z-5500 for my Xbox...

    if it can use coaxial, i can probably just buy the card and use the digital out and switch to analog if/when the expansion card comes out.
     
  13. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    As far as I am aware its optical out only, no coaxial. Its a standard optical cable at the end though from what I understand... certainly I was able to hook it up to the Tritton AX Pro headset without any problems so don't see there being an issue for you.
     
  14. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ahh i see it now...

    i am using toslink cables, the cable that comes with the card is a mini-toslink cable...

    all i would need is an adapter and im all set!
     
  15. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    wait a minute... so if I hooked up z-5500 to this requires an optical connection? a regular analog connection work? that means the card is useless
     
  16. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    yup... thats it in a nutshell...

    alone, the titanium HD only supports 2 channels of analog out, a incredibly high quality analog output... but still only 2 channels.

    thats why the expansion card is a necessity for surround.
     
  17. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
  18. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ill probably buy it, live off of optical for a while, then get the expansion board the moment its out...

    i just hope the expansion board even comes out...
     
  19. davidm71

    davidm71 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just bought this card and I don't see a PowerDvd install link anywhere. Seems like they did a take back?
     
  20. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Its possible, their site still lists it though so maybe drop the support people a message and ask about it.
     

Share This Page

visited