Custom Fxbus Prolog Epilog for Musicians

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, Oct 10, 2003.

  1. HunterZ

    HunterZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could try editing your post and surrounding your table with [ code ] and [ /code ] vB code tags - that should make it display with a non-proportional font and preserve whitespace formatting. Not sure if it will actually work or not though.

    Attaching the table as a text file would also work, but then people would have to download it to read it (may or may not be a bad thing)
     
  2. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. drshader

    drshader New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi!

    On my Audigy SB0092 (w/o LiveDrive) plugins works fine
    with kX drivers 3535 from site (non-rc3).
     
  4. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok,.. Thanks for reporting that.

    /LeMury
     
  5. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd like to report that I have tested the FXbusses (changing them, sending individual midi channels to different effects etc) and they are working fine with the SRC plugin. That's great!!
     
  6. surealsurrender

    surealsurrender New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    working here!

    Just wanted to confirm that these plugins are working great for me here running 3535 beta (not RC3) on my Audigy 1 with livedrive. I just spent the last half hour setting up my dsp window and doing very quiet tests, and I'm so looking forward to tomorrow when I dont have to worry about waking the neighbors! The timing is kinda funny tho, the dsp window was just made bigger and thats great, but using these teeny tiny plugs its lookin kind of empty! Guess I'll just have to find use for more fx since resources are no longer the problem they were. lol Altho my setup now is far more complicated I really like the versatility I have. I setup an MX6 (another fantastic plug... thx, LeMury) dedicated only to monitoring and another MX6 to discreetly mix TubeSound to each signal via seprate sends with seprate tubesound plugs and send them to ASIO ins making sure of course to not accidently mix channels in a bus... anyway I could go on, but then I would not be experimenting with these plugs, so you can see the bind I'm in!

    GREAT job LeMury! The Kx Drivers are the best thing to happen to musicians trying to use kx based cards and its seems everytime I turn around there has been another great leap made. You contributions are truly in the spirt of expanding the potential expontially, thanks for your hard work!

    Sur
     
  7. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sur,

    Thanks for reporting back.
    Nice to hear you find the plugins usefull.
    (yep, the dsp window looks quite "huge" now..:) )

    New additional versions are coming.
    Change/select 6 sources 'on the fly'..like this;
    Src6

    Since in practise one will often load more than 1 Scr instance,
    one window to tweak them might come in handy.
    This version also "Auto corrects" in case user selects multiple AC97 sources.
    Well,...the more tools we have to choose from the better..right?:)

    /LeMury
     
  8. drshader

    drshader New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, LeMury.

    Every time I use 'Src' - I use 3-4 instances of it.
    Usually everytime I need FXBus 0/1 for wave,
    FXBus 2/3 for MIDI, and AC97 input channel.
    What I think: maybe better combine Src in block
    of 3-4 elements (6 - is almost "complete" FXBus) as in Eplg?

    And for future implementation in MX6 (?), if you
    have 6 inputs - 4 of them assignable Scr (w/o pre/post
    switch) and 2 for returned FX (with switches).
    It must use not so much resources...

    And one more: by "date modified" kx.sys from site 3535
    distribution package is later maden than rc3.
     
  9. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>What I think: maybe better combine Src in block off 3-4 elements

    yes, I already planned 4, 6, 8 versions, so every user can choose which to load.
    But I'm not in any hurry unless users respond.
    (I have enough other unfinished projects to work on)

    >> (6 - is almost "complete" FXBus) as in Eplg?

    Well, not exactly.
    First; The original FXbus and Prolog are not *that* big.
    Epilog, on the other hand, is quite big.

    Second;
    The main purpose of my plugins is;
    - balance in User needs vs Resources
    - more easier (quicker) way of routing

    For users who make huge setups (e.g. users owning 10k2),
    it would be un-practical to have 8 or more instances of Src loaded.
    One 8-stereo channel Src version is better in *that* case.
    It is not All about saving resources, but ease of use also.
    Like I said; It's about finding personal balance!!!


    >>And for future implementation in MX6 (?)
    Noted. I recieve many user requests to expand MX6, but everyone has his own
    different (personal) wishes. I'll see what I come up with.

    >>And one more: by "date modified" kx.sys from site 3535
    >>distribution package is later maden than rc3.

    Ah..Ok. good to know thanx.
    I don't keep track of such things (no time). I just wait till Eugene makes
    an official announcement on the forum or kX website regarding updates/releases.

    /LeMury
     
  10. Polliwog

    Polliwog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear LeMury,

    Your plugins are working fine here too on 3535rc3. No glitches to report yet.
    I have a ct4832 and using w98se.

    Lots more resources for fx.

    As always, thanks.

    Paul
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your welcome..
    Thank you for reporting back.

    (btw; off topic, but I see you stil use 'good ol' NT4 ?
    Still a great OS running blazing fast on current mainstream PCs.
    Too bad it hasn't all the (important) advantages of XP)

    /LeMury
     
  12. Polliwog

    Polliwog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi LeMury,
    I still use NT4 for my design work (CAD). Rock solid.
    Never jumped for 2000, was discontinued even before I did that move.
    Xp is unavoidable. Need USB and more stable platform for music.
    I dual boot w98se for music. Hairy to say the least.
    Just have to save often and wait for occasional reboots ;-)

    Your programming is great. It's really appreciated.

    Kind regards,
    Paul.
     
  13. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>Xp is unavoidable. Need USB and more stable platform for music.
    Yep..

    >>I dual boot w98se for music. Hairy to say the least.
    >>Just have to save often and wait for occasional reboots ;-)

    I always use multibooting. (couldn't live without it)
    That is; 3 total separate bootable partitions with their respective Os-es installed,
    and some huge Extended (shared) Logical partitions for data storage.
    Works like a charm. Good for testing stuff without messing up my work OS.

    (Still off topic, but what the heck...:) )

    /LeMury

    P.S.
    Btw; WDM drivers perform much better on XP then on W98se,
    so you are in for a treat with kX drivers when you do the 'jump'.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2003
  14. surealsurrender

    surealsurrender New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Src with multiple outs

    LeMury

    I checked the screenshot for your updated Src plan and I can certainly see having use for it rather then having 3 or 4 single Src plugs loaded... On the other hand having all your sources coming from indivdual plugs gives you the luxury of re-naming each instance of Src in the DSP window to match the signal coming out of it. I'm currently using 4 Src's in my setup and each one has its own name in the DSP window ie- Guitar, Mic, Wave & Synth. This makes it much easier when you want to make changes to a specific signal path. I think once I had my setup basically finalized to a point where I was not making regular changes, I would replace the multiple instances of Src with one of your new versions just for the sake of tidiness in the DSP window. So I guess I would have to say multiple out Src certainly is not a crucial element for me, but when you get the time to get it done I'm sure I would end up using it. Thanks again for all the great work!

    Cheers!

    Sur
     
  15. TravelRec.

    TravelRec. Alternative Audioproductions

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi LeMury!

    Plugs are working on Audigy SB0090 and with 3535 very well! I´ve no problems with SRC and more instances. It´s easier for me to wire more little plugs then one big-one. But with Eplg I´ve no luck, ´cause I need all ASIOs and most of the outputs at the same time and more instances of Eplg dosn´t work - one will mute ASIOs of the other. So I work with the original Epilog and a lot of SRCs around...

    Thanx and regards!

    TravelRec. :)
     
  16. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi TravelRec,

    Yep, very good point. Launching multiple instances of 'Eplg'
    mutes un-used ASIO channels by design to be sure previously
    opened asio channels buffers get zeroed.
    In a 4x2 channel config like 'Eplg' I have no solution for that.
    (other than leaving them open. not nice:) )

    That is why I also have this..:);
    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/epl8.jpg
    All ASIO channels can be used and Resource usage remains low.

    Well, there are so many options.
    One of the purposes of the released test versions is to trigger users
    to contribute ideas, testing stuff and report back.

    Thanks for this feedback.

    /LeMury

    P.S.
    I'm thinking about writing one "simple" single 'All ASIO' plug without select boxes,
    and another plug to select the remaining output destinations.
    Maybe this would be a more practical addition.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2003
  17. drshader

    drshader New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanx for your work LeMury
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2003
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Asio and Eplt plugins

    In reply to TravelRec's correct observation regarding ASIO 'muting';

    For full ASIO support try these plugins together:
    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/asio_eplt.zip


    Asio
    Single 16 ch. ASIO Recording plugin (makes routing a little easier)

    Eplt
    4 ch. output selector.
    Selects all outputs except ASIO.
    (also handy if you don't use ASIO)
    Fixed:
    - Selecting an already selected output "Auto" sets the former to -none-.

    I had no time to test them extensivly, but it should work fine.
    Let me know.

    /LeMury

    ****************** READ THIS *********************
    The presented plugins are NOT meant as replacements for the
    original Fxbus, Prolog and Epilog. They remain experimental
    untill official notice and are meant as 'supplemental' plugins.
    By using these plugins you will loose most *Generic* functions!!
    In simple words;
    If you are a Gamer/DvD-er/Consumer, a very Low-Tech musician,
    or otherwise 'kX technicaly' impaired, use the originals!
    *************************************************
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2003
  19. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man, the options keep getting better and better... Good job! Will test them as soon as I'm home.
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>Will test them as soon as I'm home.

    Yes, GO HOME,..it must be to hot in Brazil to work anyway..:)

    Later,

    /LeMury
     

Share This Page

visited