Custom Fxbus Prolog Epilog for Musicians

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, Oct 10, 2003.

  1. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - Src v1.3c update -

    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/src_v13c.zip

    *Fixed:
    On 'non 5.1' 10k1 based cards like CT4832, some
    dropdown labels were blank.

    *note:
    Compiled for 3536a, but should work fine on 3535.

    Bug reports, if any, here plz.

    /LeMury

    ****************** READ THIS **********************
    The presented plugins are NOT meant as replacements for the
    original Fxbus, Prolog and Epilog. They remain experimental
    untill official notice and are meant as 'supplemental' plugins.
    By using these plugins you will loose most *Generic* functions!!
    In simple words;
    If you are a Gamer/DvD-er/Consumer, a very Low-Tech musician,
    or otherwise 'kX technicaly' impaired, use the originals!
    **************************************************
     
  2. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Allthough easy, I'm not going to add level controls. It would use up extra resources, and for
    most (serious) music applications it's even undesirable to have left/right out of balance.

    Use the original Epilog, or use this plugin as an add on;
    - Stereo Gangable Level/Balance Control with Phase switch -:
    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/balance.zip

    /LeMury
     
  3. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the KX default plugins there's also a Pan plugin that you might be able to use.
     
  4. HunterZ

    HunterZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Daniel: I don't see how the Pan effect is supposed to work, as it has one input and two outputs.

    LeMury: I tried clicking on the balance plugin URL and it says the server isn't responding.

    Both: Thanks for the ideas! I would think it's better to adjust the volume as late as possible in the DSP though, in the (likely) case that the volume inbalance is external to my sound card. I would think that adjusting the balance in Epilog would avoid recording problems.
     
  5. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HunterZ, I thought you were connecting a mono signal to the line in. That way you could use the Pan effect. Suppose you were inputing only at right channel. You'd connect it there and place it in the stereo field with Pan effect. To download the balance effect, right click in the link and choose "save target as...". It works for me.
     
  6. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>LeMury: I tried clicking on the balance plugin URL and it says the server isn't responding.

    Yep, server seems to be temporarly down. Maintanance I guess (damn ISP)
    But it's there, (I double checked when I uploaded it), so try later, this is the plug you need.

    >>I would think that adjusting the balance in Epilog would avoid recording problems.

    :confused: ..this totaly depens on how you route/setup your dsp.
    Stick to the original Epilog and default kX setup if you don't (yet) understand the above.


    /LeMury
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2003
  7. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. HunterZ

    HunterZ New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I'm using a 2.1 speaker setup (analog front left & right, plus an analog subwoofer) and my front left speaker is louder than my front right for some reason (probably my cheap amp or ghetto wiring job). I don't have a balance knob or slider on my amp, so I have to balance the sound output within the sound card to compensate.

    I'm guessing the Pan effect splits a mono source into a stereo source with different levels on each of the two outputs (unless you set it to 50%). What I need is to be able to make the front left output of Surrounder be adjusted by about -3 or -4 dB, so using Pan would be a little overcomplicated. gain, gainHQ, or even Stereo Mix + Gain would probably be able to do it easier.

    I'm using a setup that's close to default, except I did stuff like unloaded some useless plugins like p16v and prolog (not planning to do any recording from external sources in the near future) and replaced the reverb effect with the UFX Reverb R.

    I'd *really* like to see some screenshots of advanced DSP setups (preferably with descriptions) that people have made because I think it would really help me understand some of the cool things I can do with kX.

    BTW, your link worked - thanks. I haven't tried the plugin yet though.
     
  9. admk

    admk New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Just verifying all working fine on CT4832 (3536) and that there are no blank spaces in src.......How stupid am i, i though the space was intented to separate FXBus inputs from Physical inputs!:D ......Duh!

    thanx LeMury, from one very happy user!

    admk
     
  10. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    admk,

    >>Just verifying all working fine on CT4832 (3536) and that there are
    >>no blank spaces in src.......

    Good.

    >>How stupid am i, i though the space was intented to
    >>separate FXBus inputs from Physical inputs! ......Duh!

    Hehe,..nice one..:) (I'm sure you were not the only one)
    Nahh,..my fault.

    Thanks for reporting back.

    /LeMury
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - k1lt v1.0 plugin - (For CL 10k1 cards)

    For 10k1 users who need "full" 10k1 output availabilty, but want to save dsp resources;

    http://members.lycos.nl/lemury/kxproject/plugins/k1lt.jpg

    k1lt
    A 'k1 Lite' version making *all* 10k1 outputs available except ASIO.
    Use this in conjunction with the 'Asio' plugin to have full
    'musicians' output access but using less than half the resources
    of the original Epilog. Hence; 'k1 lite'.

    So these plugs should accomodate 'Output and ASIO hungry' kX users
    with the least possable dsp resource usage.

    All 7x2 outputs are 'on the fly' Selectable to avoid re-routing and 'dsp spageti'.
    Hence; You can make your own setups on how the outputs are ordered.
    Selecting/changing an output slot will automaticly swap the output slot that
    was firts occupied. (Sounds complicated in words, just try it..)

    *notes:
    - Meant for all Creative 10k1 based boards. (APS not supported)
    - Correct phase inversion on 'Analog Rear Out'
    - DOO ('Digital Output Only') switch added
    - All 'output/rec Levels' should be Ok. (plz check)
    - Compiled on 3536 SDK, but should work fine with 3535.

    *Certain 5.1 cards have the known 'ASIO re-mapping issue'.
    This is not related to my Asio plugin. (See kX website for details)

    Select "Save Target As" to download;
    http://members.lycos.nl/lemury/kxproject/plugins/k1lt_v10_Asio.zip

    Bug reports here.

    /LeMury

    ****************** READ THIS *********************
    The presented plugins are NOT meant as replacements for the
    original Fxbus, Prolog and Epilog. They remain experimental
    untill official notice and are meant as 'supplemental' plugins.
    By using these plugins you will loose most *Generic* functions!!
    In simple words;
    If you are a Gamer/DvD-er/Consumer, a very Low-Tech musician,
    or otherwise 'kX technicaly' impaired, use the originals!
    *************************************************
     
  12. Nappylady

    Nappylady New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have read this thread and I didn't see anything about my problem being adressed, but if I just missed it, I apologize.

    I'm using Soundblaster SB0102, SB0222, and SB0222 (all in the same computer! *HUFF* that was hard!) and I can't get the eplg plugin to send sound out the analog center/lfe ports. Everything else I've tried works, but even going straight from a wave generator into those outputs, I can't get any sound out.

    Did I miss something important?
     
  13. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the general KX mixer window try enabling/disabling the "send center/subwoofer to headphones" option and see what you get.
     
  14. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>and I can't get the eplg plugin to send sound out the analog center/lfe ports.
    >> Everything else I've tried works, but even going straight from a wave generator
    >> into those outputs, I can't get any sound out.

    That is quite possable.
    I have never tested those outputs myself (I never use them), and no one else reported this.

    Anyway, the reason for this may be some conflict issue between ASIO and center/lfe on
    certain 5.1 cards. Hmm....(I thought that was in Digital mode only)..I have to look that up.
    I will check those ports myself and get back to you.

    Meanwhile, plz try 'k1lt' but without using the 'Asio' plugin to see if you
    can get sound from those outputs.

    /LeMury
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2003
  15. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Confirmed.
    I just checked with 'k1lt'.
    Without the Asio plugin you'll have sound.
    So, it is indeed the ASIO conflict issue I mentioned.

    I will fix the 'Asio' plugin for 5.1 cards.
    I was in the procces of re-writing Eplg anyway or dismissing it all together
    (this depends on user response).

    Thanks for reporting this.

    /LeMury
     
  16. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Noooo, don't dismiss it!!!!! Here is some user response for you... ;-)
     
  17. Nappylady

    Nappylady New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Addendum: the k1lt plugin DOES handle the analog outputs correctly, but I don't know if it breaks when the ASIO thinger is installed. I don't have time for a full diagnostic and I don't know how to use those ASIO ports anyway. (Anyone care to tell/show me? Plz? :D )

    I don't have time to do a full diagnostic, but everything I need is working now, so I'm happy.

    Thanks all. :D
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good.
    -Yes, if you use the current 'Asio' plugin on a 5.1 type card, it will "break" the Analog C/LFE output.
    Like I said; I will fix this.

    -No need for further 'diagnostics'. Bringing this issue to my attention is enough.

    Thanks for the feedback.

    /LeMury
     
  19. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 'Eplg' is nice for very dedicated setups launching only 1 Eplg using only 1 or 2 ASIO inputs.
    Launching a second instance of Eplg however, will render ASIO inputs useless by design.
    I have not (yet) found a solution for this other then (it's slightly bigger brother) 'k1lt'.

    To avoid more 'How to' posts, it may be wise not to make Eplg "Official".

    Anyway;
    I'm still trying to evaluate the usefullness of the diff. plugs I've released or proposed
    in this thread. Without enough user feedback I can only estimate.
    As a rule, users only tend to reply when they have a problem (with the exception of a few).
    So I guess "..No news is Good news.." applies here.

    /LeMury

    P.S.
    Don't worry, there is always e-mail..::cool:
     
  20. Nappylady

    Nappylady New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this idea for the documentation of the kX project, which seems to be gathering dust...

    There are a lot of questions that keep getting asked and either reanswered, RTFM'd, or not answered... the FAQ is a good start, but I suspect that there should be more detailed, more useful sections in the helpfile for lots of different subjects--multiple soundcards, ASIO, Cubase, Logic, Acid, Protools, Gigasampler, EAX, Directsound, etc., answering all these questions.

    This is, however, wildly off-topic, so maybe I should just go spend some time writing docs for the project :D instead of complaining about what needs to be done.
     

Share This Page

visited