customizing gui controls

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by stylus02, Jan 9, 2012.

1. stylus02

stylus02 New Member

Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  2. Tyrsonswood

Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

So, what are you looking for? Opinions?

If so, the one on the right

3. stylus02

stylus02 New Member

the right one is what i want to have. (it's a not working sketch) now i searched the web how to make the standard windows controls look like this. the kx "kcombo" gives only basic (design) functionality. there are some (extended) attributes to override controls: style, colors, images. maybe someone has experience with it.

4. Tyrsonswood

Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

Ahh.... Okay. I've no experience with such work. Looks great though, Good luck.

5. Russ

Russ Well-Known Member

The kX controls do not always offer/expose all of the functionality of the MFC controls. In such cases just use the MFC control itself. However, recoloring a combobox can get quite complicated. You will have to subclass the CComboBox control. Setting the text color and background color is not too bad, but then you are probably going to want to change the highlighting colors, etc, in which case you will have to do owner drawing. Additionally, if you want to change the arrow, you will have to handle WM_PAINT and draw the borders and arrow, etc yourself. It can get complicated (a pain in the you know what). If at all possible you might want to get rid of the comboboxes and use something else instead.

e.g.