DH Article: Farcry Patch 1.2 Performance And IQ investigation

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Stuart_Davidson, Jul 5, 2004.

  1. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    "In a few hours Ubisoft/Crytek will be releasing the much anticipated patch for Farcry which upgrades the game to version 1.2. As per most game updates there are various performance tweaks and bug fixes however in FarCry 1.2 we have the addition of Shader Model 3.0 features for Geforce 6800 series cards.

    <img src="http://www.driverheaven.net/articles/farcrypatch/6800U/6800_For_Comparesmall.jpg" width="300" height="225" border="1">

    Today we are going to take a short look at what performance increases you can expect from the patch, and how IQ is impacted …if you’re a Radeon user the IQ section especially makes for interesting reading."

    Full Article

    UPDATE 05/07/04

    We have been in discussions with ATI/Crytek today over the issues we discovered with Radeon X800 rendering as detailed in the above article. Crytek have confirmed that the FarCry 1.2 build released today will no longer have these issues and that X800 IQ will be just as good in Patch 1.2 as it was in 1.1.
     
  2. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow nice artical veridian3, the way you had the page laid out with all the comparison graphs all together was a treat way better than having to scroll through several pages to see all the comparisons.
    Now though I wonder if the issues which I assume your saying hurt the radeon cards,are caused by shader3.0 and the because the radeons will only due 2.0 there in lays the problem.
    I'm thinking Ati needs to ad support for shader 3.0 or they are gonna loose some customer base,
    I mean FarCry came out of know where and blew a lot of us away with it's great graphics and in my oppinion is the game of the year, but if other upcoming games are gonna beable to or use shader3.0 then the radeon cards are gonna be left in the dust.Is support for this shader hardware derived or can it be implimented through a driver update for radeon cards??? Are HL2/Doom3 goning to support shader3.0??? or are they goning to be released with shader2.0 but possibly have shader 3.0 activated
    at a later date through a patch like farcry, if so I'm thinking it's time for a new card a 6800 ultra.
     
  3. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Good Work

    I don't own an X800 PRO, so what does this mean for me? All good? If this patch delivers texture issues across all Radeon boards, it's developer bias at an all time high.

    As for SM 3.0. It's great to see a game start to use it. Problem is, at the present moment SP2 is not out and DX9.0c is not officially out. And how many people own a 6800? I think this "performance" increase is targetted towards the enthusiast crowd. (Small percentage of the market) The general user will find more gratification with the bug fixes and gameplay tuning. Will ATI lose customers due to lack of SM3.0? Simply, no. So far this is the only game where SM 3.0 shows moderate improvements in certain situations and quite frankly Far Cry isn't the only game I play :)

    P.S - I like the image in the background of the graphs. Nice affect. I also agree with the graphs in one page thing. If it were a little bigger, it would be easier on the eyes.
     
  4. TyrionX

    TyrionX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This smells like foul play. Crytek said that the reason they were delaying the patch so long was so that there would be absolutely no bugs in it; if there is indeed texture problems on X800 with the 1.2 patch, then they definitely screwed up and lied to us.
     
  5. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice article Stu, and thanks for the ATi related issue feedback. It pisses me off that they would release a patch that benifits the nvidiots and cripple ATi cards, that is just pond scum, sand sucking, bribery i say
     
  6. dpagan

    dpagan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it is disapointing but in my opinion ati should take a more active roll with developers and i mean newcomers and small development houses not just the big dogs i have to give nvidia credit they support all, who knew cry tek would come out with something this big nvidia took a gamble and it paid off, i also read that they are many new releases coming out that will support ps3.0, many will be pissed at nvidia but those who purchase there hardware won't due to fact that nvidia is taking an active roll in making sure there hardware runs great in any game they support can we blame them for doing that, hell no, it's not only good for there comsumers it's also good for business which in my eyes makes sense.

    *update*
    just in case i don't agree with the patch messing up ati's IQ, maybe it has something to do with the patch running in ps3.0 since the x800's support long shader codes it might be trying to run the x800's in ps3.0 also and thats where the corruption is coming from, hell who knows
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2004
  7. TyrionX

    TyrionX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But Dpagan, the guys at Crytek said that the reason why the patch was taking so long was due to them making sure there was no problems..there's no reason why there should be such a huge problem as that, it's too huge for them to just have ignored...
     
  8. dpagan

    dpagan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i agree they should had made sure IQ was up par with all hardware regardless of brand, this would be a low blow that can stain there PR and hurt them in the long run, but who knows maybe they'll get feedback from those who had the patch for review and hold on release till this issue is resolved, but then again i haven't seen too many patches released for review before they go official maybe they where waiting on feedback, i guess we'll find out soon enough
     
  9. Omegadrive

    Omegadrive Drivers? What Drivers???

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well said, developers are getting TOO EASY to buy ($$$$) these days. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Helios_D

    Helios_D Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think too many people are making quick judgments on Ubisoft/CryTek even before they have the necessary information on why the texture corruption is occurring. And the author doesn't help this situation by using phrases like "complete disgrace."

    Who knows? Maybe the problem is just confined to the X800 series of cards. Or, maybe ATI needs to fix something with their Catalyst drivers. The Catalyst drivers are known to fix some and break some--what's the surprise here? I had to revert back to the v4.4 just to play Thief 3. I'm not bitching about it. That's just ATi for you.

    Wait till there is more info.
     
  11. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kick booty article, V, and nice design, Z.
     
  12. Danhill

    Danhill New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice article V, I will stay away from 1,2.
     
  13. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ati screwed up by not adding any NEW tech to their new gen of cards. they ARE going to pay the price. i also believe they will have an awnser this fall. this little war between them is GREAT. you fanboys need to get a life.
     
  14. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    of course the flip side to the awful iq for ati is maybe they disabled some sort of ati cheat so both cards would be on an 'equal' footing?
    just playing devils advocate.:evil:
     
  15. snake

    snake Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    43
    At least :duh:
     
  16. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Farcry 1.1 with a X800 and cat 4.6 or a beta version = perfect IQ. Change the patch to 1.2 and both drivers show this concern. Thats not a driver bug, thats the patch breaking things...Crytek are responsible for releasing a patch which works, especially so when previous versions of the same game worked fine. They have chosen not to fix such an obvious and serious bug and i stand by my statement...its a complete disgrace, regardless of the reason.
     
  17. Helios_D

    Helios_D Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone know if the v1.2 patch will also mess up the IQ on the ATI 9800 Pro??

    I don't want to find out the hard way. :D
     
  18. Ev!L-aLphA

    Ev!L-aLphA | n f e c t e D

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,100
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Very Very nice article :) when i get back to america ill be d/ling the patch :p
    and i got a 9800 pro and i dont think it does to image curruption or any thing like that .. only on the x800
     
  19. Bart1987

    Bart1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in the artical it says
    . It's not specified as a x800 specific corruption. But an ati specific corruption. I'm not sure if it will work well on any ati based card.
     
  20. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88

    thats because we arent sure if it is a X800 specific corruption. ill try on a 9800XT later.
     

Share This Page

visited