DH TuneXP 1.5 FINAL

Discussion in 'Mobility Modder Discussion' started by d-force, May 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Exterminas

    Exterminas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uhm

    oky I had to boot from the earlier running version so I should've waited longer for the bootfiles to be defragged.. but I waited half an hour and nothing happened...

    any ideas ?
     
  2. Swifty2003

    Swifty2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder why my antivirus program keeps telling me that this has a virus.

    It keeps telling me that the file irsetup.exe has the Trojan Horse TR/VB.AA

    I use Antivir btw with latest patterns. :confused:
     
  3. mr_allroy

    mr_allroy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, but is there not a version newer than found here?
    http://www.davidhanefelt.dk/TuneXP_15.exe

    I've downloaded that one before and I still don't see the "disable cd burning" option. And the links given either time out, have ver1.0 or a version 1.5 that isn't the latest apparently.
     
  4. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Wow that's weird- I usually disable Firewalls and Anti Virus programs before I install programs though..
     
  5. Swifty2003

    Swifty2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah most programs recommend that you disable antivirus before installation but it's never a problem and this is first time I've had a virus detection during the installation of a program.

    I installed it anyways, just hope it's not really infected. :(
     
  6. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Mine wasn't.
     
  7. war59312

    war59312 God Bless The U.S.A

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,

    Yeap your right dont get that error now after I set them and restarted. :)

    What about the help though?

    cya,
    Will
     
  8. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hi,

    I just downloaded and installed the app (both mirrors) on the DH site. I scanned after each install with Norton 2003 - latest updates and neither file had a virus.

    What antivirus program are you using? What OS? and have you scanned since the install to see if anything is detected and removed? My initial suggestion would be that you already had a virus on your PC and that something tuneXP is doing to the system is causing the trojan to launch and your antivirus is then detecting it.

    Let us know the answers to the above.

    Stu
     
  9. FluffyChicken

    FluffyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AntiVir has been detecting some false alarms recently. I would recommend posting at the AntiVir site and ask them to check.

    But once installed the visrus scanners should pick it up anyway.
    I would say it was just a false alarm.

    D-Force, not until v2 is fine by me ;)

    Although an interface change where the 'help information' part showed up when your selecting the twaeks... err basically just integrate the information into the interface so you don't have to go looking for it, you have a large blue area doing nothing, you could make that the help window.
     
  10. rtm1tb

    rtm1tb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks D-force. I disabled by CA antivirus and reinstalled TuneXp1.5 - program appears to run properly.
     
  11. Swifty2003

    Swifty2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, to remove doubt from myself I re-downloaded it from primary mirror. I'm still getting the IRSETUP.EXE file detected as a Trojan Horse named TR/VB.AA

    I re-scanned my entire system even scanning every single extension and scanning within compressed files. I did this twice in a row and i have not one virus or trojan on my system.

    I'm using AntiVir Version 6 which can be downloaded for free for personal use at this site: http://www.hbedv.com/

    I run WinXP Professional.

    At this point the only thing that I can think of is that the antivirus is detecting a false-positive which is known to happen in the world of antivirus programs. Hopefully it's just that. I used the program itself and got no warnings.
     
  12. TheBloody

    TheBloody New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just interesting...

    Launsching an antivir soft can be so quit usefull :

    [​IMG]

    No fake - do it yourself, dl AntiVir with latest updates, configure to proof file acces (read and write) and try run the setup.
     
  13. crlorentzen

    crlorentzen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cannot find information on this virus, can someone post a link to information about it...from symantec/mcafee.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2004
  14. HENNESSY

    HENNESSY New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm running AntiVir too and also got the backdoor alert
     
  15. d-force

    d-force Tune... what?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys. I know what the issue is.

    The issue is:

    TuneXP uses Setup Factory from INDIGO ROSE. A program that is a trojan horse tends to use the name IRSETUP.exe for it's infection file. Setup Factory uses it because IR = Indigo Rose.

    AntiVir uses heurestical (sp?) and file-name based virus checking. Because the file names of the two things (Trojan and Setup), stuff like that happens.
     
  16. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah Norton 2004 pro doesn't detect a virus or anything when scanning it. Must be the named based thing.
     
  17. crlorentzen

    crlorentzen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    name based detection is the dumbest thing I have heard of...wouldn't it at least look at the compiled code and compare it to the reference code as well. let's say I rename solitare to IRSETUP.EXE then it should be detected as a trojan? Someone running AntiVir want to try this?

    btw: Windows Solitare in C:\Windows\System32\sol.exe or %SystemRoot%\System32\sol.exe :D
    (note: not that you need this...but I was being absurd)
     
  18. d-force

    d-force Tune... what?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AdAware only looks at file names aswell. But considering it's both named IRSETUP.exe and it installs files, it might be looked upon as dangerous by AntiVir :rolleyes:
     
  19. crlorentzen

    crlorentzen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah... but that is slightly different for the cookie detection at least, we all know cookie format is
    Code:
    something@site.xxx
    but virus' usually don't follow this. Okay i consead that name based detection is not stupid...but Virus scanning should actually be "scanning" looking at the byte stream that is the file, not the name.
     
  20. d-force

    d-force Tune... what?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sadly, some viruses are able to alter their own executable code, so you have to do a certain amount of guesswork when you're writing an AV software.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited