DH zer0point 6697 Final

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by pr0digal jenius, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    quality is designed for geforce 6x00 cards, and maybe the FX series, balanced is mroe for older cards, and performance is for the framerate freaks regardless of chardware
     
  2. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    balanced is for older cards? like what ? i thought perf would give a better edge to cards older than fx. they need it with newer games. in fact the iq on my wifes g4 sees no diff between quality & perf, but does see a perf increase with perf set. iq is great either way BTY:)
     
  3. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys im using the quality set and it works great!i hope one day u guys will need more 6 series ownners to be beta tester i really would like to make part of this.
     
  4. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can i get pure video enabled on these?
     
  5. Shaga

    Shaga Intelligent Life Form

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had some problems with it, but I don't know was it about settings or driver. You know you need NVIDIA DVD decoder in order to enable pure video(program won't install as a trial without credit card), and you need to use sucky wmv.
     
  6. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im having some increase
    of temp on my gpu with these drivers,my idle temps changed from 58,59 to 63 ,64. and when i play games for more than a hour it goes up to 71 ,maximun 74 , is my video card frying already?
     
  7. PoopyTheJ

    PoopyTheJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no frying, the Q set will probably put some more stress on the vid card than the standard Nvidia drivers, temps seem fine for game play..... Purevideo/VMR can be enabled in the drivers the option is there, however to use "purevideo" you'll need the nvidia DVD player thing, not worth it really just enable VMR and use windows media player or powerdvd, especially with the 6800....
     
  8. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok im less worried now , im now using the balanced set and my temps went down straight away.i really would like to use the iq set but i don't have the balls.
     
  9. Shaga

    Shaga Intelligent Life Form

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hehe, I'm having 75 temps with this set(zero secret set) after long torture.. Not a problem for me, but I'm kind of gambler by my nature.. :)
     
  10. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    zero secret set!! i want it!!
     
  11. Shaga

    Shaga Intelligent Life Form

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My secret set would need some updating, but what can you do? Just keep rocking with it :)

    Plus, you might get this someday as well :w00t:
     
  12. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    those temps are well within tolerance. so you do not have to worry about it. if you really want to see what your temp is going to do run rthdribl for 20- 30 mins(while monitoring the temp) as long as it does not go over 85c you are okay. people will tell you these cards will do fine at 100c+ but i never oc anything to its limit. long term high temps are circuitry killers.
    getting an nv5 will also help:lol: . also might want to make sure your heatsink is seated properly. several makers have had issues with this.
     
  13. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    heh...hooray for secret sets ;)
     
  14. starfury6

    starfury6 Dark Jedi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have these up and running in SLI mode in my new machine. No problems so far (except for wanting to get the cfg's out for later installs of the games (but you put up the link for them separately, thanks) Have yet to benchmark and have no games installed yet, HL2 and Doom 3 will be the first. Will let you know how things go and I'll give you a shout about maybe beta testing ZP drivers for SLI as you mentioned earlier PJ.

    Edit: Setup
    Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe
    Dual XFX 6800 Ultra
    AMD64 FX55 2.6GHz
    Corsair TWINX2048-3200C2
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2005
  15. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im very confused bout the pci latency tool. since hl2 is jumping alot on mys system i decided to have a go at it , but i dont know what to to my latencies by default for my video card r 248,148 for my bus controller and 128 for my device ide, should i set them all down to 64?
     
  16. PoopyTheJ

    PoopyTheJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you take a screenshot of what it's showing you jason? The card just set for 128 try first and what sound card are you using? If it's an audigy bump it up to 64 and give that a whirl, leave your IDE and bus controls alone for now, if that doesn't help then try dropping the other settings, sound card and video card are big hogs for HL2....
     
  17. PoopyTheJ

    PoopyTheJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Starfury let us know if you'd like to Beta test we only ask for a few hours a week, or how much you feel like contributing... We'd love to have you.... :D
     
  18. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jason - yes drop video and sound latencies down to 64
     
  19. FR4GGL3

    FR4GGL3 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can even try the following:

    pci bridge: 64
    vga compatible controller: 32

    i have set it to that cuz my sys has been a really hitching one.

    simply play around a bit. if you have found your sweetspot you will know it cuz it just feels better :)
     
  20. starfury6

    starfury6 Dark Jedi

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited