Do you use RadLinker/RadClocker?

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by ChrisW, Jan 15, 2004.

?

Do you use RadLinker and/or RadClocker?

  1. Yes, I use RadClocker and/or RadLinker.

    133 vote(s)
    79.6%
  2. I use other software to overclock my card.

    22 vote(s)
    13.2%
  3. I think your software sucks big time and should be discontinued.

    1 vote(s)
    0.6%
  4. I just flash my card or don't overclock my card at all.

    11 vote(s)
    6.6%
  1. choppy9er

    choppy9er New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RadClocker

    The absolute best,I hang on to it even with Omegas new drivers.Its a wonderful program and I have never had any trouble with it.Thanks Chris
     
  2. damiandimitri

    damiandimitri New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use it since i got my first ati

    ty for making it possible
     
  3. Reuter

    Reuter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been using it since I first heard of it to do a mild overclocking of my card.
    Tried other tweaking programs but only Radclocker gave me satisfaction.

    Please keep up the good work:D
     
  4. Nazar

    Nazar New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use it.
    It's easy to use... and it works.

    Thats all i want.. simply working software.. a dream come true ;)
     
  5. Deathwish2000

    Deathwish2000 R9800PRO

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RadClocker is the best ATi Clock tool, wouldn't use anything else!
     
  6. Max Powerz

    Max Powerz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea, I love Radclocker cause it's not full of crap like everything else these days. Radlinker is awesome too, but right now I'm just using Radclocker.
     
  7. heffeque

    heffeque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Two thigns are abvious: you haven't installed the latest (fulla crap) Radlinker, and you haven't tried the ATiTool yet :D
     
  8. Max Powerz

    Max Powerz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I don't really trust ATITOOL it's brand new, supoosed to have a ton of bugs and stuff.
     
  9. HsuGotaQ

    HsuGotaQ Hydrogenated Dumbass

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dude... could you please restrain from spamming your "full of crap" and state your point correctly one time only. Thank you. :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2004
  10. WaltC

    WaltC New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll be honest here because I'm assuming that's what you're asking for...:) I did try RadClocker at one time, and I liked the interface, and it replaced RivaTuner, which I had been using for overclocking. I actually preferred the Radclocker GUI to that provided by RT, as RC integrated into a driver properties tab which I just found more convenient. However, shortly after installing it I began to have problems with my 9800P and my monitor sync, such that every once in awhile I'd get visible flickers on screen, and the problem grew and got so severe that often the CRT monitor guns would actually lose focus right in front of me, such that the whole screen would simply blur to a degree that made the text unreadable. (A very strange thing to witness--the first time I saw it I thought it was my *eyes* that lost focus, until I looked around the room and saw my peepers were still focusing properly! Heh...:)) The only way to remedy the situation was to turn the monitor on and off manually--sometimes I had to do it several times--before the image would come back up properly focused and remain that way for the rest of the session. I could also actually hear intermittent "popping and clicking" from inside the monitor when this would happen.

    Naturally, my first thought was "Uh--oh, this darn 21" Sony Trinitron FT (E540) is going out on me already, and I've only had it for a year--a bummer, because even though it comes with a 3-year warranty I'm still going to have to pack it up and ship it off," which really kind of teed me off (as you can probably understand.) So I pulled out my backup 19" Trinitron FT and prepared to start using it in the interim.

    However, it was at about this time that I read reports of other people having problems with the Cats in relation to their monitors going out. This raised a flag for me and got me thinking about the possibility that it might be some software installed, either the Cats--or something else--that was responsible for what I was seeing (although I really didn't think so.) So the first thing I did was to uninstall the Catalysts and Rad Clocker, and then revert to an earlier version of the Cats which I had used prior to experiencing this focus-loss/sync-flicker problem. Even with those software changes the same problem remained, however, which of course underscored my thinking that the monitor was going.

    But the next step in my software investigation, which is a routine part of what I do when debugging hardware under XP, is to boot XP into safe mode and check out the device manager to look for duplicate device configuration entries or anything else which might show up in the device manager under safe mode but is invisible when the device manager is observed after a normal boot, and which shouldn't be there. I was surprised to see that RadClocker had installed some kind of low-level software device relative to the graphics card which was not removed when I uninstalled the program, but was still installed. So, from safe mode, I uninstalled the Rad-clocker software device from the device manager, and rebooted wondering if maybe I had found something relative to the situation--but still doubtful, of course (the version of the Rad Clocker executable I had installed, then uninstalled from Add-Remove, was "RadClocker1800.msi".)

    I didn't know what this software device was doing there, but my guess was that it was somehow related to RadClocker's low-level interface with my 9800P, which it used to set the clocks at low level to those other than the 9800P default. (You could answer that better than me, of course.)

    At any rate, once the software device was uninstalled manually from safe mode and I rebooted, I noticed that while the problem had not completely disappeared, its *frequency* of occurence was greatly diminished over what it had been before removal of the RC low-level software device, and this was true regardless of what Catalyst version I used. Over time, with the installation of newer Cats, and since having returned to RivaTuner for overclocking, after the complete removal of RadClocker, including the software device I mention here (RT uses a different method for low-level interface to set the clocks), the net result today is that the monitor never loses focus or intermittent sync, and I no longer hear any unusual noises from the E540 at all, and this is true on a daily basis, regardless of the length of the session (8-12 hours or more on some days.)

    This is a head scratcher for me...:) I'm not sure whether this problem was caused by a Catalyst driver version, or the RadClocker low-level software device I found, or the interaction *between* a particular Catalyst driver and the RadClocker low-level software device which presumably the RC program uses to set the clocks at low level relative to my hardware. About the only thing I feel sure of is that my monitor didn't "heal itself" somehow in a manner completely unfamiliar to me...:) Even though I had to think a minute to recall the specifics of how severe the problem became for me a couple of months ago, I note that my 19" monitor is still on my desktop and "ready to go" should I actually need it--so I still can't eliminate my monitor 100%--but also I have to say that the problems I had no longer occur--at all, at present.

    It's because I can't really specifiy a certain cause as to the problem I had that I haven't talked about it anywhere until now. But, by the same token I can't eliminate RadClocker completely, either, so I thought that since you asked about the program now would be a good time time to mention this. The thing that occurred to me at a point when I realized it had been several weeks since I'd seen even a random flicker from the E540, much less a complete loss of gun focus (which occured multiple times daily when I was having these problems), was that I feel sure that I wasn't the only Catalyst user also using that version of RadClocker when I started reading reports of the Cat problems with monitors. As is so often true, the only thing people think about when having trouble graphically is the graphics-card drivers, and I found long ago that being open to multiple avenues for troubleshooting is the best way to solve problems, and that often in computer systems what appears obvious is anything but...:) I only hope that I was correct in eventually defining my problem as relative to software, and that my monitor is indeed actually OK as it appears to be at the moment ('cause I really don't want to have send the thing out.) I hope you find this info of interest. This was the strangest problem I think I've ever had.
     
  11. heffeque

    heffeque New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I mean:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The very LAST menu is the only menu that should apear, the first three just cofuse people, make things more complicated, and duplicate some of the settings already present in the original Cats, so probably a new source of bugs and stuff.

    Oh and about the ATiTool being buggy... probably. But it's not sifficult to make it run like it's supposed to. The "Find max core clock" and "Find max memory clock" is a very useful feature that RadLinker doesn't have and that I think is a "must have".
     
  12. HsuGotaQ

    HsuGotaQ Hydrogenated Dumbass

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah... thats a bit more like it. You have brought a good comment about the "layout" of Radlinker. Maybe the next release of Radlinker will incoporate what you have just pointed out. :)
     
  13. boby

    boby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree with heffeque.only last menu should apeer,everything else is too confusing.
     
  14. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well, I don't do the overclock thing, nor do I flash my video card BIOS....but I think the program should continue for those that do overclock and push their rigs to the limits.
     
  15. TaZeR

    TaZeR 420

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use it and love it and think you should continue improving it, like fixing the radlinks working all seeing eye etc.. Deffinitly do not discontinue this great software!!!
     
  16. ineversleep

    ineversleep New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope you let omega include it in his drivers again.. My brother and I use it :)
     
  17. farkas

    farkas IT Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like Radlinker/Radclocker. The only OC tool I like & use for ATI cards.
     
  18. peroni

    peroni New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    don't even think about stopping support for these applications!
    I've been using them for a while and never an issue!

    Keep it up. :)
     
  19. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hey Chris,

    When i first got my ATI card I used it as I was a member of Rage3d, but since I have been introduced to the Omega drivers I guess I have had no need for it. I think the software is great though, and I can remember the days when i would read up on your software and play with the settings. It's a very worth while app, keep up the good work.
     
  20. ChrisW

    ChrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't see what is so confusing. If you don't want to change any of the DirectX and OpenGL settings, all you have to do is leave the "Use Current" checkbox in it's default state of checked and just ignore those tabs as they will be greyed out. Should you want to change the default anisotropic filtering or FSAA settings, you have that option on a per game basis.
     

Share This Page

visited